[Travel,no tits ;)] Hi, I'm Jacob Gadikian, and I'm a geek. I believe in context PART I of II

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

The Question of the day is:

Who Is Jacob Gadikian?

@faddat is Jacob Gadikian, of course! Brief info:

Early Years

  • Born in Buffalo, NY
  • Normal-ish childhood.
    • Didn't like elementary school much:
      • I'm probably a tad autistic. People can be assholes.
      • Unregulated, underfunded, well intentioned but still fucking useless catholic elementary school (St. Mary Of the Lake in Hamburg, NY) had nothing useful to offer me-- they didn't even manage to beat into me that it was easier to conform to mediocrity.
      • Didn't take kindly to students choosing not to be religous, etc...
    • Boating
    • Swimming
    • Allegheny State Park
    • Lots of time at various relatives houses
    • Failing at a number of sports and such:
      • Ballet
      • Soccer
      • Baseball
    • Reading a ton
    • Wing Commander I, II, III, IV, Privateer

Fledgling Technopreneur

  • Started working at 12
    • Paper route
    • building & selling & repairing & networking computers a year later.
    • Had a micro-CRM-consultancy by the time I headed to college
  • focused on tech in High School, but they didn't teach that, so mostly I focused on business/work
  • Somehow did alright in High School anyway

"Higher" Education

  • Moved to Chicago to attend Loyola University Chicago (If there are any Jesuits reading this, I'm eternally grateful to your order for footing the bill for my schooling.)
    • History as a major was pretty flexible so I did like this:
      • Sophomore Year - Rome, Italy (LUC Rome Center)
      • Junior Year - Accra, Ghana (University of Ghana)
        While in Ghana, one day I was sitting on the porch in my dorm (the ISH, if you know the Legon campus at all-- the top-left room if you're facing the front of the building) and I think I'd recently read an economist article about the effects of mobile telephones on poverty. If you didn't know, they more or less eliminate extreme poverty within a few months. I started to ponder networks, in a serious way, and before I quite realized, I'd created a connectivity concept that I'm still chasing. This wasn't really "my vision" per se-- I'm aware of literally hundreds like me, working for universal, free (beer) Free (speech) networks. So, I guess you could say I started working on this in late 2004/early 2005.... but I took a few detours.
      • Summer 2005 - Planned to drop out of school and pursue a startup using 802.11b wireless to make a mesh network in Accra. It went very poorly, and I pretty much know why: The tech wasn't nearly ready. We're still working on it today, in fact. Anyway, Loyola, being the good sports that they were, let me finish school with my scholarship intact.
      • December 2005 - Graduated from College!

The United States

As you have probably figured out I don't live in the states. The most profound thought I have on my home country is in fact that if we'd spent just 75% of the money that we've spent blowing shit up on fixing stuff and developing new technology, I might not regard it as more or less hopeless.

In the next post (~24 Hours From Now), I'm going to go over my projects and current work. This was just sort of background, and maybe a template for others to use.

Web Profiles

technologyProfile URLHandle
reddithttps://reddit.com/u/faddatfaddat
twitterhttps://twitter.com/jacobgadikian@jacobgadikian
facebookhttps://facebook.com/jacob.gadikianN/A or "Jacob Gadikian"
ringhttps://ring.cxring:4c5472060fe449cbd9e09f516759c
githubhttps://github.com/faddat@faddat
linkedinhttps://linkedin.com/in/jacob.gadikianNA or "Jacob Gadikian"
blogspot/bloggerfaddat.blogspot.comJacob Gadikian / faddat
Skypehttps://skype.comfaddat
ringring.cxring:4c5472060fe449cbd9e09f516759c
quorahttps://quora.com/https://www.quora.com/profile/Jacob-Gadikian
Google+google.com/+jacobgadikian[email protected]
personal homepagejacobgadikian.comJake / faddat
medium.commedium.com/@faddatfaddat
opehub.comhttps://www.openhub.net/accounts/faddatfaddat
gitlab.comhttps://gitlab.com/u/faddatfaddat
Maidsafe Forumhttps://forum.safenetwork.io/users/faddat/activityfaddat

Other Info

keyvalue
Full NameJacob Anthony Gadikian
Age32
Birth Year1983
Current CityHanoi
Office AddressUp Coworking, Hanoi Creative City, 1 Loung Yen, Hai ba trung, Hanoi
PoliticsTechno-Utopian - give everyone a UBI so there's no poverty, and beyond that, let the market do its thing.

Places I've made it to

Screenshotfrom2016-07-2505352520b94.png
https://www.google.com/maps/d/embed?mid=1jJbstXZzjshOVzdlcDQUV68qc_A&hl=en

My location in real-time:

https://plus.google.com/+JacobGadikian/posts

(Hover over the part where it names a city...)

Teaser 1

1468448903802d2b02.jpg

What can I say, they did a pretty good job with the card and logo:

IMG_20160711_202914da8e5.jpg

Part Two can be found here

Sort:  

This was like a job interview it was so thorough. Well @faddat , I am happy to say you did it, you got the job. You're now a steemian.

What kind of crypto projects are you into?

Well, for the time being, STEEM is my #1 love. Tonight I am finishing off the biography, and tomorrow I will talk about a new project of mine, entirely STEEM-related. I've also got my eyes on SAFE net or MAIDSAFE-- not sure which they'll end up launching under. I've a great many ideas on ways to cross-breed the two projects, basically using SAFE as a content storage and delivery system and STEEM as a front-end.

  • I'm a huge OSS fanatic
  • I'm deeply against intellectual property: It is holding back our society:
    • Economically
    • Socially
    • Culturally
    • Politically
    • Intellectually

We should do everything we can to fight attempts to privatize knowledge. For the good of all, knowledge MUST be shared well.

Do you think Maidsafe can compete with Sia and Storj? Sia is first to market, Storj will be there before MAID, too. Tough hurdles.

I think they are fundamentally different software, and so not very tough hurdles at all. SAFE is anonymous, the other two are not.

Hey @faddat, good to see you here. Are you still working on your IoT meshnet hardware projects? Sorry I don't remember any of the specifics, just remember hearing about them on the Beyond Bitcoin mumble server.

Hell yes, friend-- that is what tomorrow's post is all about :)

Great, looking forward to seeing where you're at with it!

ballet like ballet?

You forgot to say that you are playing Star Citizen....

ballet, like ballet. Don't ask me how, because I'll never quite know....

but TBH, 16 year old me could have kicked 13 year old me for ever quitting: I'm straight and I did ballet-- if I'd actually kept at it and got good at it, I'd either have been transmuted into a gay man OR-- best ratios EVER, methinks...

Also, I'll not be playing star citizen-- too much shit going on in the real world :).

All good, I wasn't going to make any comments related to sexual orientation, I just asked because I mixed the Ballet with Wing Commandar plus the upcomming star citizien...

I wouldn't be offended if you had-- people like to bang the gender they like to bang, right?

...but I'm still kicking myself for quitting ballet.

I feel the same with guitar... could had gone places if I didn't stop playing... but it's live, decisions we take and we just have to deal with it and go along ;)

As you have probably figured out I don't live in the states. The most profound thought I have on my home country is in fact that if we'd spent just 75% of the money that we've spent blowing shit up on fixing stuff and developing new technology, I might not regard it as more or less hopeless.

Join us

welcome to steemit,
will try to learn things from you.
Greetings.

@mindfreak

Sorry, I thought that I replied long ago: What would you like to learn from me?

Happy to teach whatever :).

-Jake

how come there's no tits in here?

So you seez, in science, we must have a control group :).

Enjoy your stay!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59889.02
ETH 2673.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46