My Introduction - Dethskulpt - But First... A Short Story Of A Cat Named Mort.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Dearest Steemit!

There's a lot to me, so instead of telling you too much information about me first... I'll share a story about a cat named Mort. I had the opportunity to sculpt and immortalize Mort as a gift from a client to his friend... (the owner of Mort).

Here's his story...

Mort Weinberg aka The Ginger Terror aka Big Red... is the cat who's outlived his 9 lives. He's an 8-year-old rescue ... a New Yorker, a survivor.

0627C513-A9E6-4050-9686-16137F6B41BD.jpg
Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 7.04.00 PM.jpeg

Throughout his life, he's battled many health problems. First, his heart gave him issues, and then his lungs caused to clog by feline AIDS... but he still lives on to see another day.

Being a badass cat comes with it's set of battle scars. He's been in many fights, and one caused him to lose a chunk of his ear. Mort always makes it out alive though. He's old, he's toothy and aggressive.

But, even though Mort is broken and beaten down, he's still got a soft spot for the ones he loves. His owner loves this cat.

Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 7.04.22 PM.jpeg

It's was a honor to immortalize you mort.

Progress shots:

So I decided to go with a cat that resembled the lucky cat statues from Japan. His tail was incorporated as the handle which ended up working well. I also only did half his body so no legs, as if he was maybe leaning on a ledge.

28136352_Unknown.JPG

The third eye is sort of something I do put in a lot of drawings and sculptures, but not always. Understanding how Mort lived his life though it suited him well.

28136400_Unknown.JPG

The chipped ear was also something I thought would work well with cracks. I made the front crack go down his face and just pass his heart because of his will to survive no matter what. I guess there's a little bit of symbolism but very subtle.

28136416_Unknown.JPG

I only decided to do the hair detail on his face to not really take too much attention from the cracks and the arms looked cute with no lines.

28136480_Unknown.JPG

Another thing I decided to add in the cracks was his name etched into it. M O R T on his back.

28136496_Unknown.JPG

Full turn around before being fired in the kiln.

IMG_5451.JPG

So, with the paint I really didn't intend on it looking this good but it worked out well. I just ended up using his actual color scheme. I did also not intend on having blackened eyes, but also another bit of symbolism... sometimes we can be blinded by struggle, but if we stay focused and keep our mind right our third eye will guide us to survive.

IMG_5468.JPG

Close up's, final glazed look. Glossy eyes really made it pop.

28137008_Unknown.JPG

<3

28137024_Unknown.JPG

Now... Who am I? Well, I'm Dethskulpt. I'm 28. I'm a complex person, but I like to keep things simple. I've been working as a artist for about 6 years now. I have an extensive resume full of work I've done for disney. I left disney to be with family and help them about 3 years ago. They used to live in Compton, CA, and schools just weren't good out there for my little brother. Fast track to me moving out to Temecula, CA with them. I started streaming on twitch by accident and I've been doing that ever since. Sometimes streaming to hundreds of people at a time. It's a great feeling, but sometimes I feel so alone. Having struggled a lot in my life, I tend to use pain as a main inspiration. I wanted a sense of direction though... I was all over the place with art...drawing, painting, sculpting... I almost gave up about 3 months ago. One day though I randomly sculpted a coffee mug with a face, and I realized I found my purpose. There's something about owning something valuable that's functional that makes me happy. The fact that I can make something usable and beautiful makes me feel like what I'm doing isn't a waste of time and money for me or the consumer.

IMG_5358 (1).JPG
(I'm in the middle.)

Anyways. This isn't the last post, so you'll find out more about me. Feel free to ask me any questions you'd like to know. Hope you enjoyed the little story. Keep on keepin' on.

-Deth

Sort:  

Definitely one of the most interesting introductions I have seen! Following

Thanks a lot!! Hope ya have a good day.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mrslauren from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Congrats on taking the first step and joining the community. I just joined yesterday and posted my first two stories today. I'm happy to follow you and hope you'll follow back. Take care!

Welcome to Steem @dethskulpt I have sent you a tip

Welcome to you and your cute cat. Here are some tips to help you get started at Steemit. It can be a bit overwhelming at first.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@positivesteem/newbie-nuggets-how-i-create-killer-content-for-my-posts

Hello @dethskulpt I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunfarang

Welcome to Steemit @dethskulpt!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

Hey! Thank you!

Congratulations @dethskulpt! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63820.95
ETH 2497.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69