Out of my Element

I'm not sure what I'm going to do with this Steemit, but I love the concept, a free market of ideas or so it seems. So, starting off, I'll say that I am not a particularly good writer and that spell checkers are a gift from God. I'm a 50-something physically disabled male currently residing in Florida, USA.

I strongly believe in the United States Constitution and have previously taken an oath to "preserve, protect and defend" it from "all enemies, foreign and domestic". But what exactly does that mean to me? To 'preserve' something means, "to keep safe from injury, harm, or destruction" and to 'protect' similarly means to "guard against injury" to. To 'defend' means I must do something whether actively or passively, overtly or covertly.

As for enemies, the obvious and incomplete answer is invaders or persons that would subvert or pervert the Constitution. But it can also mean ideas and entities (natural and supernatural) that attempt to silence free speech, restrict personal gun ownership, circumvent the electoral system or the consolidation of government power. However, just because my neighbor believes the 2nd Amendment is wrong, doesn't make them my enemy by default unless he/she breaks into my house to take my arms by force. It is likely they are a victim of mass-media 'brainwashing' which is the real enemy.

So, I am not an expert in anything nor do I pretend to be. I am struggling to break out of the 'matrix' like everyone else. I often wonder when I think I've broken out of Plato's cave, am I in another cave or am I really seeing the light?

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @defcon1776 :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

Hey! Welcome to the Steemit Community! I wish you a great time on the platform, hope you'll make many friends and I can't wait to see your content. I have followed your blog, you can check mine as well and if you like my content don't forget to drop a follow. Have a nice day & Steem on!

Welcome to Steem @defcon1776 I have sent you a tip

Welcome to Steemit

keep going you will get it. we all had to learn it ourself's

You can n do anything with steemit.. Welcome bro

Welcome to the world of Steemit!

Hello and welcome to steemit. Greeting from India. I am going to upvote and follow you. Hope you will do the same. Join my facebook group to stay connected: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1476509005704483/
Hope you will enjoy this platform.

Welcome to Steemit @defcon1776!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

Welcome to steemit hope you enjoy it vote & follow from me.
Greetings Dibaco from the Netherlands

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66338.04
ETH 3306.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69