Hi, Steemers! I'm Chris; Champion of Eccentric Tastes, Never Ending Knowledge Seeker, and First Time Explorer of the Blockchain. This is MY Introduction to the Crypto-World and YOUR Introduction to Mine.

in #introduceyourself8 years ago

Hello, Steemers!

My name is Chris, and I happen to be one of those exceedingly rare occurrences that we call a native Floridian.

I'm currently in the process of finishing up my degree in Computer Science at a University in south Florida, so much of my time is spent wandering the depths of the internet trying to find the one thing I want to finally focus my talents on and make a career out of it. Through sheer procrastination I came across a lone comment on Facebook saying "come on over to Steemit. we'll never ban you." I haven't been able to pull myself away from here ever since.

So here I am making my very first post on this incredibly unique platform to introduce myself and my interests in the hopes of connecting with any and all of you fellow interest sharing Steemers. In the spirit of an unconvential new platform, I'm going to roll through my hobbies and interests with an equally unconventional "I have no idea what order to put these in" format.

Meet my friends Dashie, Jack the Dsog, and Charlie

If there's one thing anyone that knows me will tell you it's going to be "I swear he loves animals more than anything in the world." They're right. I do, and I can NOT wait to start writing about some of my favorite ones and my experiences with them.

Don't forget to say hi to Ralph, Mick, and Len

No, but really... I love them all. These are some of my beautiful outside buddies. They're wild green iguanas that live in the trees overhanging the lake behind my house. I've been sharing my morning fruit with these guys for the past few years now, so I can spot them across the lake with ease. "Where on Earth did he come up with those names for giant lizards" you ask? I know you more than likely didn't ask yourself that, but stick with me here. It's going somewhere. All the regular iguanas that hang out on my porch are named after villains of...

THE FLASH

"My Name Is Wally West And I'm The Fastest Man Alive"

The Bat family has nothing on he Flash family. Jay Garrick is a great father figure, Barry Allen is a square, Bart Allen had an incredibly moving 13 issue run as The Flash, but none of them compare to this guy. Wally West is the one true Flash; conduit of the Speed Force.

Anyone else have this issue sometimes?

I'll keep the nerdout to a minimum for the sake of introduction. I've loved comics for a long time, and if you couldn't tell already I'm more than willing to amuse myself by writing about them. Maybe I can share some of my opinions about the world of comics today or perhaps some reading guides on some of my favorites. Wait... I was kidding. I have one more subject on the nerdy side to share with you guys.

There's no better place than Quakecon

I spent YEARS playing FPS games professionally, and well before I had ever conjured up my first helloWorld.cpp. I'm no longer part of the "scene" because, to be completely honest, there isn't one anymore. (unless you count Counterstrike. which I don't.) I've got a lot to say about the engines and framework many games played today are built on. Hint: IDTech3 is still unrivaled.

THE FLORIDA PANTHERS ARE THE NEW STANLEY CUP CHAMPIONS

They aren't. They will be within the next five years though. You heard it here first. I really meant it when I said I have eccentric tastes. There's so many different things I'm passionate about. I live and die by this sport and October can't come soon enough.

The Rainforests of Puerto Rico

I've got some pretty neat travel stories to share with the Steemit world as well. Especially the "do's" and "don'ts" when you're on surf trips in places you don't know, surrounded by seemingly angry people speaking a language you don't know.


On that note I really hope to be able to add blockchain / cryptocurrency knowledge to a future list like this, and look forward to sharing many more stories and articles with you fellow Steemers. Thank you so much if you take the time to check out my introduction to Steemit. I look forward to any and all feedback you guys may have!

- C

Img help found at:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@blueorgy/steemimg-com-first-dedicated-steem-image-hosting-website

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit! I look forward to reading your posts! I am sure you will pick up quickly on the crypto scene with your degree in CS.

Thanks! Slowly, but surely.

Glad to have you here on steemit man! You go to USF? I live in Tampa, not too far from there. Do you by chance donate plasma.. You look eerily familiar to this guy who donates plasma where I do and I noticed this guy had a bitcoin gambling program on his computer (bit nosy but when I see any crypto symbols on people's shit, it lets me know it's getting out there further!) so I wouldn't be surprised to find said person on here since steemit is the shit. Regardless, glad to have you here on the community and if you do in fact live nearby, maybe we could hang out sometime, I enjoy fps and other video games and I hide it for the most part, but I nerd out on a lot of shit I find cool. Best wishes to you on here and I hope you find much success!

Last time I was in Tampa it was for the Bolts vs Isles Game 2 :P
Thanks for the comment/input btw! I really wasn't sure what to expect, or if I should expect anything at all. I'm almost at the point of believing Steemit is real now haha

Drouin goal pic related

I see, well that's awesome! Maybe we'll bump into each other at some point! I'm still a bit in disbelief, but steem is becoming more real to me daily. Especially as I see REAL people give feedback and interact and post things about their lives/interests and get comments, even people I met outside of the platform. It's a living, breathing machine and it's much better than most of what I've seen. So much potential! I guess you have a clone then lol, but happy to have you here on steemit, hope you find great success as very many people are!

ps: using > != green text. whoops.

Friend, AWESOME pets you have. I once had a parrot similar to yours. Good to have your reply . And thanks for your last link :)

Hey Chris welcome to Steemit, I am also new to cryptocurrency but learning fast

Thanks for the welcome! I appreciate it a lot.

Welcome to steemit! Hope youll find your journey herebas good as others. :)

It's only been a day, but it's been very friendly thus far. Thanks!

Picture proof?

You holding a cute little steemit sign or something along those lines?

We are big "Buttcoin" minters in the Just-Dice.com area... so might not want to ask me of what :D!

I guess making an actual verified post would be way more sufficient lol

bayarea are you on Just-Dice?? and is that the "tampa bay" area? I live in TB lol. I think you look familiar. If you are, it's kainmarx (real name Evan)! Nice to see you on this platform. I think I might've even seen you on localbitcoins as well haha. :)

Edit: Should've read your replies to the comment first... It's you. LOL

Welcome to the community!

What do you do with a sick boat? -TAKE IT TO THE DOC!

Delighted to have you here with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84