Introduction - This is me, my Health Progression, and the Books I wrote [+Before After Pics]

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Early Days, Modest Changes

No, this is not me...

Actually, this is me, but it's me back in the days, when my lifestyle had nothing to do with the word 'health'. The picture was taken in 2008. I had been a smoker for about 7 years. And I was only 19 at that time. I was chubby, but I did not have any major health issues. Here's another depiction:

My health changes began in 2010 when I implemented a series of lifestyle alterations that gradually lead to me becoming leaner and healthier. Some of the changes that I made include:

- stopping smoking

- drastically reducing alcohol consumption

- started altering my diet (I was more careful about what I ate)

- started working out more often and more strategically.

My physiology improved. I felt better. This is me in the summer of 2013:

More Changes, Better Results

In early fall of 2013 I wanted to take things to an even higher level with respect to my lifestyle. I wanted sort of a master rework. So, I began:

- experimenting with nutrition protocols like the ketogenic diet

- practicing intermittent fasting

- weight lifting

- supplementation

- improving sleep quality.

That's when I also started an in-depth tracking of some of my health parameters. I started:

- doing frequent blood analyses

- doing body composition analyses

- rigorously logging my food intake, my workouts, and my supplements.

And my life improved further. Here are some pictures taken between 2013 and until recently:

I correlated these pictures my abdominal fat progression - by using the results that I got from my body composition analyses (DXA scans). Here they are:

Tabular Version

Trunk fat Mass

Fat Mass/Height Ratio

As I began seeing these results back in 2013, I thought to myself: 'Why not write about them in an organized form?' It may help me better understand what I do, and it may also help others in their own health strategies. That's how three of my books were born: Ketone Power, Periodic Fasting, and Persistent Fat Loss.

Me, Us and Steem

I heard about this platform about a month ago. Since I have a lot going on my plate right now, I thought of putting this on hold and check it out sometime later. But one of my virtual friends, Leah, who is also a contributor here, inspired me to make sensible changes in my priority lists... :)

I think and I see there is a lot of value in this community. More important, I think that we should all do our best to keep it as clean as possible (minimize spam, fraud, and other illegal practices).

In my posts here, I plan to write about topics including health, science, and entrepreneurship. While this may sound broad, abstract and unfocused, I will do my best to make each post very specific and practical. I'm happy to be here and I invite you to say hello and to tell me about your personal health-fitness-nutrition story. Maybe, I can help!

Sort:  

Great Introductory- I can predict that this post is going to gain a lot popularity and give you an awesome welcome to Steemit! Enjoy your time here, I'm sure other can agree you'll love it :)

hi Tommy. well, let's see how it goes. I'm currently trying to find a way to align text and images to the center so it may look better. cheers!

Your picture is not showing. Strange.

it should be okay now. I'm still trying to get familiar with the styling. :)

Coming back to this original post after looking through your gems. I think your content is my favorite on steemit right now. You have broad interests that really align with mine. I hope that we can interact more on this platform.

welcome! always nice to see a post from a new joiner!

You'v got a nice body there buddy , You definitely turned your life from bad to not good i'd say awesome , Well done mate. Welcome to Steemit & Have a great time here. cya around

hi! thank you! :)

That's a nice change of pace its good to seen what you wanted and you were determined enough to make a change.

well, when the stress of not changing is building up, you will eventually force yourself to do it. At least that's what happened in my case

Hi, I'm a bot you can call me anytime by typing:
@calva separated by:
BTC (post the bitcoin price from Poloniex)
ETH (post the Etherium price from Poloniex)
SBD (post the SBD price from Poloniex)
STEEM (post the STEEM price from Poloniex)
joke (post a random joke)
quote (post a random quote)
insult (insult the person above your call)
upvote (upvote the post/article above your call)
e.g @calva downvote (FYI this call does not work, I do not downvote people!)
https://steemit.com/steemit/@calva/my-bot-calva-give-you-the-price-of-eth-and-btc-if-you-call-him

Greetings! I think you'll like it here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60309.00
ETH 2342.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55