Just a Happy Dude in the Mountains Introducing Himself

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Good morning, Steemit World! I woke up at 4 a.m. excited to finally make a post. :) I've been bouncing around following, upvoting and commenting for a couple weeks now, but today is the day to take it to the next level.

So here I am introducing myself. ;)


The beautiful lady by my side is @carrieallen, my wonderful wife. We have no children, but we love and spoil our animals.

This is Eddie. He sucks at eating cream.

These are my doggies, Banquo and Oberon.

We live right smack up against the towering Sangre de Cristo mountain range in the San Luis Valley of Southern Colorado. It's the middle of nowhere. Seriously, it's an hour drive to get to the nearest Wal-Mart and 3 hours to get to the nearest city. Having weighed all the pros and cons of city living for years, I strongly suggest you move to the country.

You may wonder what I do for a living all the way out here. In all honesty, that's been the challenge of my life. Since moving to this little mountain town five years ago, I've done some strangely creative things for money. For example, my first "job" upon moving here was to create a little donut stand on the corner.

Carrie and I worked together to build a successful little food cottage business just down the street from our house.|


So for a couple years I was the donut man. I got up every morning at 4 to make the donuts, and I greeted my cutomers every day with a grin. Eventually, new opportunities presented themselves to us from the connections we had made at the donut stand. Carrie began transcribing the talks of a Buddhist Rimpoche who has his main practice in the area.

Some monks and a Rinpoche watching the eclipse

All that Buddhism got me thinking along the lines of philosophy and spirituality. The next few years would be a journey of spiritual discovery.

We began volunteering and practicing with a Native American Church family. The veil was lifted for me on many levels. We were lucky enough to participate in regular Lakota sweat lodges, as well as powerful prayer ceremonies with medicine. We were able to support many of our friends in their experiences of the traditional Lakota Vision Quest. The insights I gained from these ways are still the closest to my heart.

The family we were practicing with underwent some turbulent times, and over time the ceremonies stopped happening. Carrie was working full-time by then. She was given the (busy) job of coordinating our local music festival.
So there I was, with a new outlook on life and tons of time on my hands.

Crestone Music Festival

So I started making stuff. I love making stuff.


I made this...


And this...



And a couple of these.

I like to paint, draw, build, sew... I just like to make stuff.

And I especially like to write rhyming poetry. For me, it's so much more satisfying when it rhymes.

Would I dare write a verse devoid of rhyme?
I'd rather not; Do that in your own time.
With rhythmic bounce it's easier to see
The symbols in the words, at least to me.

I won't share any more poetry now, as this is my "introduce yourself" post, but follow me and stay tuned for some stuff that I'm pretty proud of.

For the last six months I've been working full-time myself. I manage a recreational cannabis dispensary near where I live. I never thought I would enjoy a "job" but this is a great fit for me. I am passionate about the benefits of the cannabis plant and proud to be a part of the legal and medicinal movement. I'll also be sharing stories of working in the dispensary. Funny stuff happens in the weed store.
 

In my spare time time this year, I've been studying up on cryptocurrencies. After several months of making a lot of mistakes and losing money here and there, I'm happy to say I have a diverse portfolio of coins that I believe in. STEEM  is leading the pack, of course.

I CAN'T WAIT to share my ideas and thoughts with all of you on a more regular basis.

I love you, and I love this world that we're creating together. I could go on for hours, but I'll wrap up here. Stay tuned for more musings, stories, pictures, etc.

Thanks! :) :) :)


Sort:  

Hello and Welcome to Steemit. I hope you will enjoy Steemit as much as I do. See you around! :-)
I wish you the best! and hope to see you soon.

Thanks! I'll be right here :D

Welcome here on Steemit. I hope you will enjoy your stay with us. Already nice pictures. Thank you!

CryptoPassion-Bannière.jpg

Appreciate it! I'm already really enjoying myself. The water's fine. :)

Hello @chrisroberts great introduceyourself post and photos !!!

I'm @andyluy and I've been here for almost 2 months, and I can tell you that steemit is the most amazing thing I've ever seen at the internet so far. I'm happy seeing it grows every day!

I had some hard time on the firsts week, so I spent some time searching information to improve my experience with it, latter I've decided to make posts about those and others helpful information in order to help the new ones to have a shortcut to get deeper knowledge of steemit and its potencial.

here is some of my posts, I hope It mitght be helpful to you:

SteemBnB(this post is not mine, it is fruit of an amazing Idea from @chicosonico, but I've made a traslate to portuguese, you can find it at the comments section)
steemit awesome tools #2
Steemit-Police First official Investigator
The Randowhale
Minnowssupport!

Here is a post from @hannahlicious That i think Is useful to have a look too (she is also a great source of information and high quality posts):
Randowhale is CHEAPER Now!!

I intend to keep posting useful info that I manage to gather, and in a near future some give away. Feel invited to follow me and if you have any question about steemit you can ask me in any of my last posts, I'll try my best to help.

Thank you so much! That is a bunch of really useful info. I love it here- everyone's so supportive. :D

Also, David was my favorite Doctor.

Welcome and congratulation on joining the community of Steemit @chrisrobert, here you can issue the creativity you guys about how to be a good writer, introducing the culture of each region, about nature, or about photography for you guys who love the field of photography. Hope you guys are excited and happy to be a member of steemit. I waiting for the prime of your post guys. ;)

Thanks! So happy to be here. I love what Steemit represents! The future of social networking is here, and I get to feel that I'm contributing to something beneficial, rather than just lining some corporate pocket.

Welcome to Steemit !
Greetings from Mallorca...
...

NIc ego meet you and welcome to Steemit, seems an incredibly beautiful area where ou live

Look forward to seeing more of your posts

It's pretty freaking beautiful, that's for sure. :) We'll keep sharing pics, thanks!

Great enjoy your time On here I am a relative newbie, coming up to 2 months on here but still learning

a1f4fcabc9e7692cf52023bade881ddc--sloth-memes-sloths.jpg

Welcome here Chrisroberts! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunpoom

Thanks for your support :) So glad to be here!

Hey! another Coloradan in the steem world...good to meet ya friend...let me know if your ever up in the fort...looking forward to following along your page - seem like an innovator and a dreamer...live big and dominate life today

Really great to meet you @chrisroberts. Two things--first those donuts look heavenly. I live one state over from you and there is only one good donut maker around here and it's pretty far from where I live. Second--that sugar skull is incredible. As in ridiculously amazing incredible.

Shucks, my ego is swelling. ;)

I was super proud of that rock, too. I did it all with one paint brush (with a really good tip) For some reason, rocks are really fun to paint on, and we have a plethora of them around here.

The donuts are SOOOO good. They're actually famous now, even a few years later. We could have probably opened a shop, but there are so many other fun things to do. :)

Good times, good times. But it's all good times really. Especially the future ;)

Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58248.35
ETH 3136.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36