Hi, Mario here! I am co-founder of fintech startup, happy to join Steemit community!

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone! 

Just recently saw Steemit and though the idea is really cool. Decided I want to be part of this community and see where it brings us all!

Professional background

I've been studying computer science at Vilnius University, later international management. Unfortunately I graduated in summer of 2008 and was looking for job in finance. The worst timing ever, but anyway decided to move to UK, London. I was supporting myself with random jobs in retail and on the side applying to many positions in finance. 

I wanted to get into hedge fund industry so decided to get a relevant certificate. During these studies I started receiving interviews but could not get an offer. So I though, I should use interviews to learn as much as I can from industry insiders. Once I got new interview I've prepared a list of questions that I wanted to ask and learn about. When the time came, interviewer would ask me a questions and I would answer it and ask him a questions as well. It turned out very interesting exchange of information about each other and a position. Funny thing that the position I was applying was analyst role, which required asking questions and understanding how things work. This is how I got into the industry :)

I spent few years in London (which was really good) but decided to move back to my home country to be closer to my family and friends.

The return was quite difficult professionally because I've changed a lot over the years in London. I worked as an investment banking analyst, management consultant, but could not find myself in the right place. So I started my own company. I got three more persons on board and now we work on new idea. We try to make life easier for small medium enterprises by giving them a tool to negotiate early payment with its buyers. The result is - small companies can get money when needed and at a good rate. This is a picture of me in Rise Vilnius hackaton. Was presenting same business idea but with blockchain technology.

Things I enjoy to do

#1 Traveling

I hitchhiked across Europe which was really great experience to meet new people and have an adventure. 

I try to travel whenever I can..

#2 Sports

Also I love to be active. Was going to the gym for few years to keep me fit, but now changed to cross fit - totally love it. Some recent pictures from random activities:

Walked 50 km in the beach over a day as a challenge:

Recently went to wake with a board:

#3 Philosophy

My top three philosophers are David Hume, Seneca and Confucius. I can read over their work and find new things all the time.

Crypto

I am involved with crypto since 2013. At that time I traded Bitcoin, Litecoin, Namecoin..but as you know it all went down. Then I was lucky to invest in Ethereum crowdfund :) now looking into Steemit.

Good to meet you all! 

Mario

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit Mario, I like crypto trading and wake boarding myself. Cheers Mick

Hi! thanks for welcome message! do you know forum where people exchange ideas about trading crypto? without too much promoting their own coin holdings?

Welcome to Steemit. Such a forum (without the usual "promote/pump/dump/fud/scam-talk") would probably be well hidden.

maybe we should create one? i believe many steemers are crypto traders

Yeah, at the moment most steemers probably are crypto traders. Even if it's just on a small scale. If one would create one, it would be great. But how would one keep all the fuders/pumpers/dumpers/scamers/promotors out? They will always be the first to crash the party ;).

hi sharon! thanks! if this project goes well, it will become large part of our lives :)

Hi blockchainbug
Signing onto Steemit was a great first step in helping you achieve the things you want in life and I look forward to your posts!
Try to write about things you know.
Welcome to Steemit!

hi, thanks for advise! i am trying to learn about community - what it is interested in, then I can think how I can contribute. i know quite some things about economy, trading, market analysis, due diligence..but these are of little interest to most people :) i can use analytical skills to understand Steemit community and share it. will do that :)

Hello and welcome Mario! Could you tell me more about crossfit as a hobby? Is there crossfit gyms where you live or do train on your own with equipment you own? I've been going to gym for years but I'm starting to look for different ways to keep myself in shape and I've never looked into crossfit.

Hi! I switched to cross fit and not going back to gym :) I do train with other people 10-16. There is coach, he is certified cross fit trainer. All the time same people go, so now we are like a team, which is really fun. The place I go: http://getfit.lt/. Why I like it - fun people, trainer shows how to do things in a right way (i've learnt that at the gym messed up my shoulders and ankles, now they are fine due to training in cross fit), I became leaner and stronger also feel better compared to gym. give it a try, but with a trainer, to learn how to make it correctly! afterwards you'll decide if you like it. Re equipment - the place I go has it all. Also it is good when someone tells you to do 100 pull ups with limited time, then everyone tries their best and don't want to be the last one :)

Sounds like you guys have a good thing going right there, nothing beats team spirit! I'll look what my area has to offer in terms of crossfit , thanks!

Hey blockchainbug,

welcome here! I started yesterday and have to tell you that this place feels like home :)

hi timsaid! thanks for welcome! yep, the feeling is pretty good. people get incentive to do good things and this translates into people being nice to others :)

Indeed. Never seen before that people are so interested in your work. Gives motivation

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64083.97
ETH 3475.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54