Introducing myself... Part 2 i suppose.

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

To give a bit more of a background as to why i became as (in my opinion) messed up as i am.
I grew up in a fairly large family. My parents had 6 children, we weren't by any means well off, my dad worked all hours, my mum stayed home to look after the kids and the house.

Trying to make friends when you have such a large family is hard enough, but add to that the fact that we moved around a lot (average once every 6 - 12 months) and you have a recipe for someone that is destined to never have any friends.
I don't hold it against my parents for moving around so much. We weren't in Council housing, it was always private rentals, and with 6 kids, there's bound to be some pissed off neighbours and a little bit of collateral damage to the house. so not many landlords would want to keep us as tenants.
But this did mean that from a very young age i had to learn how to fit in, and quickly. It was either that or spend the little time i was at the new school/village alone, and nobody wants to be alone.

So i spent a good deal of time watching people, learning how they acted, how they interacted, the difference in their behaviour when they were in a group and on their own, and the types of people that they were drawn to / repelled by. This involved a LOT of trial and error, a few bullying situations, and a lot of isolation, but we never stayed in one place long enough for it to become too big a problem for me. I left quite a few schools being "that weird kid".
By the time i hit college i was easily fluent in fitting in quickly. (or as some people see it, Making friends quickly.)
I was still very uncomfortable around people, but i managed to hide that well (its all about pretending. If you pretend you're comfortable and confident, people will believe that you are).
The skill has got me many a job/party invite/girlfriend but it does leave you somewhat hollow feeling after a while.

Anyway, I am no longer "that weird kid", although i do still watch peoples interactions (force of habit i suppose).
i am now happily married to my gorgeous wife, I have a beautiful daughter (that i pray to whoever listens does not grow up to be as fucked up as me), and i would class myself as being semi successful in life. (decent job, decent enough wage, every weekend off.)
I'll maybe pop back in later and fill in a few more blanks.

Kind of feels like i'm trying to convince the internet that i'm normal though, but hey... its only words on a page from Billy.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @billynomates!

Here is some interesting info that will help you create AMAZING content. (Will change as Steemit grows)

How to Create Successful Steemit Content:

Reading & understanding the above posts will give the reader a SIGNIFICANT advantage on steemit.

Everyone is rooting for you!

Good Luck!,
Weenis

Welcome @billynomates:-) Does that make sense?

Welcome to Steemit @billynomates!

Here is some interesting info that will help you create AMAZING content. (Will change as Steemit grows)

How to Create Successful Steemit Content:

Reading & understanding the above posts will give the reader a SIGNIFICANT advantage on steemit.

Everyone is rooting for you!

Good Luck!,
steemit.tips

Welcome @billynomates:-) Interesting gossip: .

What's council housing? And how could you ever be alone with 5 other siblings? I believe there may be another underlying issue. If you felt lonely I believe you left your best resource untapped. Good luck and Blessed Be

council housing is where the government gives you a house, you pay minimum to no rent. i don't know what its called in other countries, sorry. With regards to the 5 other siblings... They were really annoying. haha. No, there was a fair age gap between us so they weren't interested in the same things as me. They weren't even in the same school as me.

There is nothing like that in the Us with the rentals. There is a thing called HUD housing, it's a low income check pretty much that pays part of the rent to property owners. The amount of property owners who actually accept this is declining because the people tend to be assholes who trash the place. There is also not alot of this funding and much need. I know people who have been on the waiting list for 15 years with no help. That's why we have high homeless & suicide rates. As far as your siblings I do hear that my sister is 10 years younger than me. Try attaching yourself to some old people. Sometimes they can be cool as hell and tend to know alot about stuff. Some are not all stuffed shirts but open minded. More friends will come with that. Good Luck and blessed be!

Keep up the great work @billynomates!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59106.19
ETH 2538.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37