Sandwiches with the Queen? Let me introduce myself

Hey Steemians,

Let me introduce myself. My name is Ben Colley, i’m 41 y/o and i live in the West Midlands, U.K.

I am as green as grass when it comes to Crypto so if there is a kindergarten for noobs you will find me there until i get upto Steem(sorry). I found Steemit by chance a couple of days ago. I was researching the applications and tech behind certain alt coins and hey presto i found this wondrous treasure trove of Crypto fans and uber cool content.

My life journey has been a pretty crazy one up to this point so let me give you an insight.

It all began when i joined the Grenadier Guards a couple of years after leaving college. Those are the soldiers that stand outside Buckingham Palace guarding the Queen of England with the red tunics and bearskin hats.

I spent 5 years in that regiment and it allowed me to see and do some pretty cool things such as Whale Watching in Alaska, Parachuting in Germany and having sandwiches and tea with the Queen herself in the gardens of Buckingham Palace. Of course being on the front of numerous Japanese and American Christmas cards was the highlight .

During this time in the Army i was educated as a team medic and a sniper. ( I know before you think it! Killing people and fixing people is a strange combination of assets. ) The prior ignited an interest in the workings of the human body.

I left the Military to pursue a career in the Ambulance Service as an EMT and that’s where i spent the next decade until my wife Kelly found an online business opportunity......

I didn’t need too much persuasion to embark on that journey with her as I was ready for a new challenge away from the 'traditional' employee world.

Over the next 4 years we created an amazing business that allowed us to travel to some beautiful destinations such as Singapore, South Africa, Mexico, United States, India and The Middle East. In 2016 alone we were blessed to of travelled to 17 countries and it will be a similar number in 2017.

Since I was 11 years old I had dreamed of being an entrepreneur, free from a ‘boss’ and the confines of a boxed life. That dream never left me and it is still quite surreal to look around and realise that is where I am today.

That dream led to a string of failed ventures in my younger years. This didn’t put me off though, if anything it strengthened my resolve. Each one of those temporary defeats contained a lesson needed for what was to come in the years ahead. Everything happens for a reason, right?

My interests are very diverse.

I love reading and learning about myself and the world around me. Mindfulness, Psychology, Motivation, Inspiration, Health and Nutrition are all passions of mine. I get really inspired by inspiring those around me to become better versions of themselves.

I decided to become a vegetarian in 2016 for purely ethical reasons. I love animals and felt that I was intelligent enough to find an alternative to animal flesh when snacking. (i have never felt fitter or stronger)
I am at home in the kitchen. Whether it’s a green smoothie recipe or something for dinner I love to trial new combinations of delicious food. I would say I eat around 70% raw vegan diet now.

Physical activity is part of my daily routine and I like to challenge myself regularly to see what I am capable of. I believe everything worth having is outside of our comfort zone and most importantly takes time and tenacity to achieve.

Social Media is important in my life to connect with friends but also to promote my business. I enjoy contributing to new platforms and building new networks. Steemit is very exciting as there are some amazing minds that have created exceptional content in this community. I look forward to adding to that and connecting with you!

I have a VW campervan and it gives me great pleasure to just pack up and go hiking in the mountains. There is a certain detoxification of the mind that happens for me when close to nature and that cannot be bought. I am very grateful to have a life that allows me to do that often.

I consider myself to be an educator in my field of Marketing, Mindset and Social Media and enjoy contributing value to my followers. My content will not be niche specific though. I love to learn and pass that onto those that also have an insatiable hunger for knowledge across a wide variety of topics like myself.

That kind of sums me up in a few hundred words.

I really appreciate your follows and upvotes

I look forward to sharing my thoughts, philosophies and photos with you in the future.

All the very best

Ben

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit Ben, I am new here too. Also around 70% Vegan, into mindfulness, green juices etc so got a fair amount in common. Don't give up on the entrepreneur dream mate. Let me know if you need a hand with anything.

Thanks @boomben, really appreciated. I would never give up. Life is an adventure and it's all part of the curve. Have a superb day

Hey, Ben! Welcome to the Steemit Community! I wish you a great time on the platform, hope you'll make many friends and I can't wait to see your content. I have followed your blog, you can check mine as well and if you like my content don't forget to drop a follow. Have a nice day & Steem on!

I have followed you back @razvan-stanciu. Thanks for the words of encouragement. Exciting times for sure

Great intro Ben. Your life to date has been so diverse and inspiring. I'm really looking forward to reading more and so I've just followed you. Keep it up!

Thanks @vinnyvagus! This is an amazing platform. I have followed you back.

Welcome to Steem @bencolley I have sent you a tip

Thanks very much. All help gratefully recieved

Welcome to Steemit @bencolley!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

Welcome to Steemit @bencolley :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

Welcome @benclley thats a great intro post mate thanks

Glad to see you!:)

thank you @kyleblake its good to be here

Hi! Welcome to steemit, you seem like a interesting person. It is a dream of mine to be able to be my own boss and travel the world as well, I am a vegan and I study psychology. So we have some interests and ways of living in common :) Good luck!

Thanks for connecting @mialinnea. I think that dream can very much become a reality in the era we live in. I teach myself most of the basics in how to create a location independant lifestyle and i am no rocket scientist. I look forward to reading your content. Have a great day

I hope so! Thank you, hope you have a great day as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62082.09
ETH 2434.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66