Hello, Steemians! Let's learn together!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hi there, Steemians!

steemitintrophoto.jpg
(just woke up - kinda sleepy)

My name is Kyle, and I am 26. I have a BA in philosophy, tutor math for work, and always want to learn something new (share anything interesting with me in the comments - I probably want to know about it!)

For instance, I just learned about Steemit a few days ago and it sounds awesome, so here I am! Bitcoin and blockchain technology I've known about since 2012 (bought a little then, woo!), and I think all this stuff is going to be really big soon so these are very exciting times! I want to learn about all this in depth eventually and maybe work with it, even.

openarmspic.jpg (Photo by Joshua Earle from Unsplash.com)

My learning is primarily what I want my Steemit blog to explore. I have recently decided to pursue a career in web/software development and will be cataloging my journey here as I currently don't know very much and think it would be good for me and for people interested. The two main sites I’ve been using so far for learning are Udemy (I specifically bought Colt Steele’s Web Developer Bootcamp course and it is AWESOME! If anyone wants me to do a review or give an overview of it here, I'll happily oblige, just let me know in the comments – and here is a link Colt Steele’s Web Dev Bootcamp) and also freecodecamp. (Anyone ever finished FCC? Or even a single module? I want to hear your story! I hope to finish the first within a few months.)

coding.jpg (Photo by Sai Kiran Anagani from Unsplash.com)

What’s next?

About a month ago, I heard about a web development coding bootcamp hosted by UCLA. I applied, and was accepted. I could learn a lot on my own and already have, but I figured this would only make everything faster and easier. It starts July 11th and I also have some pre-work they assigned me a couple weeks ago. Though the over-arching focus of my Steemit account will be about my learning in general, I figure talking all about my coding bootcamp experience these next few months ought to be a fantastic way to kick it off! My next post will go into more details about the program. Happy to be here and thanks for reading! Adios!

-Kyle



Check me out on social media! I'm real, baby!

LinkedIn - https://www.linkedin.com/in/kyle-serrecchia/ (I posted a link to my Steemit page on my Linkedin recently as even further verification!)

Facebook - It is not in my real name, but is Francesca Ford instead (originally for security reasons but now…sigh…whatever) - https://www.facebook.com/francescaford123 (friend me!)

Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/francescaford123/?hl=en (see a couple bits of my art and other random crap here)

Twitter – I’m not even sure I have one anymore (I don’t get twitter)

Github – Just posting this for transparency, but there’s nothing on it yet.
https://github.com/kyserrecchia

Google Plus – Never use it but here you go - https://plus.google.com/102987561019559854410

Sort:  

Welcome to the community!

Welcome to Steem.com

Welcome to Steemit @aology :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

Sweet! Thank you very much!

Hello and welcome :-)

Welcome! I'm new to Steemit as well. I've also recently gotten into coding - completed a few codecademy courses and am now working my way through a couple of Udemy courses (a Java masterclass and web dev one like you). Interested to hear more about your progress!

Tell me about the Java masterclass! I signed up for a Java course on Udemy too by Dheeru Mundluru, but haven't gotten around to using it at all yet (just so many other things I'm busy with). Instead I've been reading a bit of Introduction to Programming in Java by Robert Sedgewick. What a book! He gives so many coding exercises in each section, you can really get a LOT of practice and probably never finish them all, and he even has a streamlined version of the text online for free in an easy to use format. Check it out here: http://introcs.cs.princeton.edu/java/home/

It's pretty good, so far. I'm just trying to get my head around object oriented programming, getters and setters and encapsulation and all that, at the mo. My head is spinning. The course is called The Complete Java Masterclass. Hopefully this link works: https://www.udemy.com/java-the-complete-java-developer-course/learn/v4/overview. I also just got a copy of Head First Java which is super accessible although a wee bit old now. I'll def check out the Sedgewick book as well, thanks!

!!!THANK YOU!!! So cool! I WILL remember you when I'm rich!

Welcome to steemit @aology hope you have a blast!

Welcome to Steemit community! Enjoy it!

welcome! followed & upvoted. hope u will do the same..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50