Introducing Myself

I joined Steemit a couple of days ago, and am still trying to get a feel for things. The FAQs and other guides suggest that I start by introducing myself, so here goes:

I am a person of middle years, and I live with a cat. My cat is a demanding little creature who currently requires a lot of care. He's at the end of his natural life, and has had health issues ever since I first got him. So, in between stuffing pills down his throat, poking needles into him, and trying to convince him that grooming is not a form of torture, I've got my hands quite full. I absolutely love Persian cats, and their sometimes weird temperaments, so I honestly can't quite picture the day when I no longer have him. Sadly, that day is drawing neigh. In November, he will be seventeen years old.

Tilly.jpg

I also like plants and flowers. The image in my profile is a half-completed funeral spray that I never got to finish. My ambition is to complete that Louisiana-hoodoo monstrosity of a design when, and if, I am ever able to open my own flower shop. The image below is another little monstrosity that I made from odds and ends during a class on wedding bouquets. One of classmates like it so much, she took pictures of herself with it, and declared she'd want one like it if she got married.

1966715_828153380534857_1501052585_n.jpg

The third thing that is important to me is religion. No, not the right-wing religious zealotry that gives it a bad name, but investigating and analyzing what religious texts are actually trying to tell us. Let me put it this way, a woman (a devout Catholic) once asked me what the Jews had to do with Christianity. At the time, I was flabbergasted. Now, I understand, and agree, with her point. My fascination with religion is not limited to the one I nominally grew up in, either. All religion is fascinating to me.

Lastly, I was once a travel agent. So, I guess the fact that I am interested in other cultures is no brainer.

The one thing I hate is jingoism, and people who support it. Good people let other people live and let live. I really do hate people that thrive on hatred.

Oh, yeah. I love weird things. Bigfoot, UFOs, non-harmful conspiracy theories and the like provide me with endless entertainment. However, when things go too far, you can count on me to say, 'this is stupid; stop it!'.

Finally, I love stories, and sometimes writing them.

I guess that's it for now.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit, @ajdohmen. We're glad to have you, and I know you will love it here.

I love your introduction, and I've upvoted you, follow back for more upvotes

Welcome to Steemit @ajdohmen :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

welcome, we share a lot of interests except i have a dog, but religion exploration weird things etc however i am curious about what is a harmful and non harmful conspiracy theory lol :) followed :)

Harmful is when it turns a person weird and paranoid. Non-harmful is when it just leaves a person staring at a pile of poop for hours on end, trying to determine if Sasquatch did it :)

Welcome :) @ajdohmen
I'll cheer you!
I'm following you now
Simply introduce myself, I introduce Korean cooking and culture. If you interested in this topic, Come to blog!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62622.67
ETH 2944.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61