My DIY World: how I battled my depression with creativity and created a small business with it

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

  This past winter I found myself depressed, unemployed and quite frankly bored. I had had seasons in my life like this before, so I knew I needed a project to occupy my time and mind. One afternoon my sister and I decided to craft. We created wooden canvases from old tobacco slats and painted on them.     

I have always been a creative person but had never experimented with any other mediums or crafts, other than acrylic on canvas. My creative brain quickly began to think of new ideas and possibilities. I started spending all my time in the shop crafting and creating. I really had no space to display or keep all the projects I had been creating so I decided to post some photos to Facebook to see if friends and family would be interested in purchasing them. I had an overwhelming response and that’s how Adriana Crafts was launched. I started teaching myself how to use tools, new techniques and began to better myself in my new trade. Today I am busy creating furniture, home décor and custom design pieces. 

Through a dark time in my life this new business of mine was created. For now this is just a side business to bring in some extra cash and fuel my creative brain. I absolutely love making a vision in my head come alive! Most evenings and weekends you can find me in my shop, working away on all my projects. I love restoring old things and making them come alive! I hope to one day take this venture fulltime and offer furniture and home decor design and production with how to workshops. Follow along for DIY inspiration, how tos and all the creative goodness!

Adriana

Sort:  

So happy for you. Working with your hand is one of the best ways to fight depression. There is a whole field called ergotherapy which is built around it.

https://en.m.wiktionary.org/wiki/ergotherapy

Posing on Steemit might help you too! Have fun, be creative, learn, earn and enjoy!

The links in your post are broken!

Welcome to steemit Adriana!

I''d like to introduce some of the amazing youtube Makers that have inspired me...

https://www.youtube.com/user/urbanTrash This is Frank Howarth, a master craftsman and simply amazing film maker!.

https://www.youtube.com/user/AprilWilkersonDIY This is April, She has a real passion for what she does and it shows in every video.

https://www.youtube.com/user/darbinorvar/about Linn from the Darbin Ovar Channel is a wonderful lady that really puts her heart and sole into what she loves doing.

https://www.youtube.com/user/jimmydiresta Jimmy Diresta is simply a genuis Maker, many years of experience and a love for making things makes him an inspiration to alot of youtube makers.

https://www.youtube.com/user/DavidWaelder David Waelder is very much like Jimmy Diresta in that he can turn others trash into beautiful things.

This is just the tip of the iceberg as far as inspirational woodworkers that have taught me so much over the last few years.

Keep it up, and more importantly keep doing what you love!

Even though I don't have depression I do get bored, & even though your way is great too, I do the same thing only with only my writing. I try with writing, to change the world to make a better place. Even though my efforts haven't succeeded yet. I at least can feel that if people do listen to me the Universe/World would come to a MUCH Better Place! Please read my blogs & commit . Or maybe even add to the Program of "Making the Universe/World a better place! And also do you know how I could offer/link to your work for mutual gain.

That is absolutely wonderful to hear! Sometimes it first takes a fall for life to give rise to a more complete and fulfilling experience! How would we be able to realize that we need to grow if it is not brought to our attention first?

Good for you Adriana, love how you picked yourself up, found something you love to do and are WINNING. Keep up the great work!

when I bored, going for a walk to familiar/new places to see things differently and take pictures of things is quite therapeautic.

Welcome to Steemit
I'm a bot you can call me anytime by typing:
@calva separated by:

  • BTC (post the bitcoin price from Poloniex)
  • ETH (post the Etherium price from Poloniex)
  • SBD (post the SBD price from Poloniex)
  • STEEM (post the STEEM price from Poloniex)
  • joke (post a random joke)
  • quote (post a random quote)
  • insult (insult the person above your call)
  • upvote (upvote the post/article above your call)
  • contact (and your messageto send my owner a private message)

e.g. @calva upvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62900.39
ETH 3357.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47