Introducing abitofcode - Inventor, serial procrastinator and developer of SuperTurboActionPig and Sketchshare

Hello Steemit Community,

I'm Chris Wilson a mobile app and game developer based in the North of England on the outskirts of Manchester. A few years ago I was an active Administrator in the Cocos2d forums with a number of successful apps under my belt and regularly blogging my coding experiments.

Having always worked directly for my clients I got caught out for a while by the changing industry. People in tech appeared to be in competition to award themselves the most grandiose job title, "Creative visionary", "Digital Prophet", "Dream Alchemist" while development changed from the joy of communication and experimentation to one of "Just get it done, we'll worry about the consequences later".

At the same time I had a number of other factors that popped up out of nowhere;

  • A client attempted to sue my company and me personally over a ridiculous IP claim (They lost).
  • I Developed double vision and was sent to have my head examined (everything OK).
  • For the first time in 15 years of freelancing had 2 clients deciding not to pay (Not nice, but resolved).
  • We had to up sticks and move to the big smoke so my wife could train as a teacher.

Chris and the Fish

It was at this point that Apple decided to put the boot in and pull an app, Sketchshare I had written with a friend just as it was taking off. The irony being it was taking off because they had promoted it in the App store as the iPad app of the week on one of those big banner things. That's another story for another time with a hopefully happier ending :)

iPad app of the week

A couple of years pass...

The offspring

I'm now back in a much happier place and don't take things quite as seriously any more. I have two amazing daughters who love everything Science and Tech, live in a great village and get to pop into Manchester regularly to keep up with all the tech stuff going on in the North.

I really miss the community of the cocos2d forums, it was a fantastic time with an amazing bunch of developers and I'm looking forward to getting stuck into steemit.

The plan is to use my new found joy of techs to get the projects I've been working on finished, up onto steemit and simultaneously defeat the instant gratification monkey. These projects range from code experiments and electronics tinkering to a range of STEM activities aimed at educators and students.

Gallery of half finished stuff built watching YouTube videos

Some half finished projects

Hopefully with a bit of momentum I might even get a SuperTurboActionPig update out before Apple pulls that as well ;)

SuperTurboActionPig

Cheers

Chris

Sort:  

Hey there, welcome to the Steemit Community 😀 It's really an awesome place if you ask me and I'm just here for a few days so far. I hope you'll enjoy it as much as I do 😉 Have fun on Steemit!

Congratulations @abitofcode! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steemit @abitofcode :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.

Welcome to Steemit Chris! I hope you will enjoy it as much as I do! :-)

Thank you very much!

Welcome Chris. I love you gadgets, i was always intrigued by inventions and electronics. Since you are a developer, i am already convinced you are going to be a worthy follow. Can't wait for post about that roboclock. Cheers!

Looking forward to getting it working again. The design is based on one off the internet, there's a very similar version working here

Hold on for a second, i'm searching for my jaw. :)

Chris I am in awe of what you do and cant wait to see more of your posts. Very cheeky first post btw, I love it. Feel free to check out mine as well. I just joined the community too!

Cheers! Just had a look at your camping trip, fantastic photos!

Thanks so much! Going to try to post at least a couple times a week on here. I fricking love this place haha

Congratulations on landing yourself on the hippest and fast growing Social Media platform on the planet.Get ready buckle up !!!!! we going to mars with STEEMIT SHUTTLE!!!!!
THANK YOU
resteem follow upvot gif.gif

Hello there @abitofcode and welcome to Steemit! I just upvoted you!! I hope you enjoy your time here and make lots of $$$. If you're interested in lotteries, please check my profile out @steemitlotteries. I run FULLY TRANSPARENT LOTTERIES with promotional posts where I issue FREE TICKETS for those who help me curate my promotions. All the best! :)

Wow So much things you have done in the past years ... Loved those unfinished projects ..Reminded me of my college .... It is good that you support your wife ..Welcome to the family :) .. would love to read more posts by you .. keep posting
Upvoted the post!
You Can follow me @utfull if you like
Will follow you back! See you around.

I've a tonne of stuff that's almost there, one of my concerns was that I was passing my bad habit down to my eldest daughter.

bearly there ;)

Ha Ha ... Bearly There !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57839.82
ETH 3132.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43