Introducing Yourself to the Steemit Community – or Why It Can Sometimes Pay Off to Wait For ItsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #introducemyself7 years ago (edited)

Time to Read: approx. 3 minutes

Eclipse-2017-time-stamped_w.jpg

Hello, to the Steemit Community!

I really wanted to take the coolest picture ever to use as my introduction photo, and was trying to come up with a good idea. As the weeks rolled by I was beginning to feel discouraged. I was reading great content by others on Steemit, but I didn’t feel that I could really join in the group until I had introduced myself.

Finally, it came to me! What could be cooler than a selfie with the solar eclipse?

I wasn’t in the path of totality, but I thought I would be close enough to the path to get a good eclipse photo. Well, they all turned out pretty much like the one above. A big fat FAIL, right? That’s what I was thinking as I scrolled through all my pictures.

Then, as I was looking back through them a second time, hoping beyond all hope that by zooming in on the sun I might find even a single picture that captured the eclipse…something unexpected caught my eye! What the heck was that little spot on my chin? Had I ruined my phone by taking these pictures???

Eclipse-2017_spot-on-chin_w.jpg

I checked for the same spot in the other pictures…there it was, but not always in the same place! I zoomed in on one…blurry…another…hmmm…something is taking shape here…

Eclipse-2017_crop-1_web.jpg

Zooming in on the picture posted at the top here…

Eclipse-2017_crop-2_web.jpg

Closer…

Eclipse-2017_crop-3_web.jpg

Bam! Coolness to the max! I caught the reflection of the eclipse in my glasses totally by accident! Here is my Introduce Yourself photo zoomed back out again. There it is, right there on the glasses lens.

Eclipse-2017-time-stamped_w.jpg

My selfie with the 2017 Eclipse!

I’m excited about the Steemit platform, and plan to contribute value to the Steemit community and society at large as a life-time publisher. I was preparing to start a traditional blog just as I discovered Steemit, and have decided to use Steemit rather than my website as my blogging and publishing platform. I am over 50 years old, and have loads of lifetime experiences and adventures to share. I love the idea of a permanent public ledger for recording my writings. The permanence of this record motivates me to be thoughtful, considerate, and responsible with my writing.

I hope this little introduction of mine will entice you to follow me. I value your time, and my posts will always be written with the goal of leaving you, my reader, better off for having given me a few minutes out of your precious day. Thank you to Dan Larimer @dantheman, and all of the other developers of the Steemit platform for creating this fantastic space for human creativity to blossom in.

And thank you in advance to all of my future followers for choosing to do a little of life together!

@mitneb

Sort:  

Hello @mitneb welcome, and great photo !!!!!

I'm @andyluy and I've been here for almost 2 months, and I can tell you that steemit is the most amazing thing I've ever seen at the internet so far. I'm happy seeing it grows every day!

I had some hard time on the firsts week, so I spent some time searching information to improve my experience with it, latter I've decided to make posts about those and others helpful information in order to help the new ones to have a shortcut to get deeper knowledge of steemit and its potencial.

here is some of my posts, I hope It mitght be helpful to you:

SteemBnB(this post is not mine, it is fruit of an amazing Idea from @chicosonico, but I've made a traslate to portuguese, you can find it at the comments section)
steemit awesome tools #2
Steemit-Police First official Investigator
The Randowhale
Minnowssupport!

Here is a post from @hannahlicious That i think Is useful to have a look too (she is also a great source of information and high quality posts):
Randowhale is CHEAPER Now!!

I intend to keep posting useful info that I manage to gather, and in a near future some give away. Feel invited to follow me and if you have any question about steemit you can ask me in any of my last posts, I'll try my best to help.

Thanks @andyluy for your feedback and encouragement. I will spend some time reading through the links you provided. I can already see from the titles that your posts will help me, and answer some of the questions I have. I will follow you, and hope to learn from you. Thanks again!

Welcome to Steem @mitneb I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thanks for being the very first person who ever replied to anything I wrote! You're a superstar! And thank you so very much for the tip! Another very first ever! So that makes you a double Superstar! Thanks for making my day!

Beep beep. Hi @mitneb!
You have used tip! in your comment - that`s my magic word for sending tips ;)
Click here if you wish to learn more!

I love it! Creative! U are a real tipster!

Welcome to the Steemit community. ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) Wish you much luck! Cheers! Follow me @news.world.tvv

Thank you very much for taking the time to make a comment to my post. I'm still learning how all of this works.

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @mitneb. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mitneb to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Welcome to Steemit! It's good time to start create Steemit better :)

I agree with you. The whole Community can be better With people taking the time to make thoughtful posts. Everybody can contribute to something good if they take the time.

Congratulations @mitneb! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you very much for the welcome. I appreciate your taking the time to comment and encourage me.

Of course! I wish you all the best! :)

Hello and welcome to the Steemit! I hope you will have a great time here and a lot of success.

And very nice detail with a solar eclipse on your photo. Even if it's accidental, liked it.

I'll follow you now to see what your blog got to offer. Cheers! :)

Thank you so much for your comment. And thank you for liking my photos. I was pretty excited to discover that I had not ruined my camera and had in fact captured the eclipse.

In this world of 1 million selfies an hour it is really hard to think of something new. I was super excited that I actually captured something that I was hoping for even though it did not come out as I expected. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

You did great job & you are always welcome :)

Welcome to steemit. Your eclipse selfie totally rocks. We love to have a new member added to this great platform. Don't worry about "great" content creators, just do your thing :)

Thanks for your encouraging comment. I have a lot of ideas and experiences to share and I'd like to present them in a way that makes you smile. For me it is worth taking a little extra time and care to make sure I'm not wasting other people's time reading my posts. Have a wonderful day!

You are welcome. Yeah, I like organised posts :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60984.38
ETH 3379.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47