I’m A Little Late... But I Finally Stopped Smelling The Roses On The Scenic Route

in #introducemyself6 years ago (edited)

I joined back in June 2017. If you check out my profile, it literally says just that. I don’t know why I never attempted to weave myself into the platform and the community until now. It wasn’t out of lack of interest. I love to write. I am actually a writer. I even received a BA in English and Minor in Writing. Trust me, most people do not attend college to receive a degree in that field (especially when they had no plans of pairing it with education) if they weren’t interested in it.

Maybe, it’s just me. It’s how I am naturally. I‘m more like a bale of hay blowing in the wind or a sailboat. I like to take my time, meander, and smell the roses. I just go at my own pace... and that just gets me in trouble, because mostly that’s seen as procrastination and laziness especially when that pace is meandering. Although, with sailboats, it depends on the wind, if the wind blows hard enough, your speed quickens and your pace shifts into a different gear. Dependent on weather conditions, I’m certain that bale of hay can zip across the sky as well when it meets a tornado.

Let’s Start With The Basics 

My name is Meg. I’m Filipina and 4’11... and overweight. Now that I’m done with my very brief description of my physical traits... Oh wait, yes, I wear glasses too, but I will soon being wearing glasses and contacts. I used to wear my hair in crazy colors (mainly shades of red), but I had grown tired of the process of upkeep and now once in awhile dye my hair dark when my hair fades to brownish red. I wear comfort clothes — mostly sweats, but I love yoga pants, harem pants, and loose shirts. I do have an unhealthy obsession with lace and mismatched themes. I’m a little quirky. Yes, I sometimes wear pattern on pattern and well aware it looks a bit much. It’s comfortable and it makes me easier to find in the a crowd.

There are times I do happen to look like a bag lady, because I literally wear layers (courtesy of living in the northeast, you learn to wear layers thanks to our lovely tempermental weather) and I usually do have everything I need in my purse or bag of choice.

Spiritually

Please bear with me on this. 

Astrology basics: Rising Sign in Gemini, Sun Sign in Aries, Moon in Cancer, Mercury in Pisces, Venus in Taurus, and Mars in Capricorn. 

I was born in Year Of The Tiger. 

Goddess Energy Archetype: Warrior Goddess. 

Numerology basics: Life Path - 9, Life Destiny - 8, Soul Level - 1, Personality - 7, and Maturity - 8.

So why is all this stuff important? 

I’m a soul-driven person full of contradictions, because I don’t fit in one specific faith or religion. I believe in Spirituality and I believe in the Universe, but I do not follow one path. Do I believe in God? Yes, but I view the concept of God as Everything rather than a person and Everything equals the Universe. Am I Wiccan or Pagan, because of the goddess energy archetype I put out there? I find their teachings interesting and I do apply it to myself, but I cannot say I‘m strictly this or that. 

I’m not religious, but I’m spiritual.

I can say that I love crystals and gemstone and believe wholeheartedly they have metaphysical properties (as do plants). I believe in natural home remedies derived from nature, but I also take over the counter medicine too. I have personal decks of tarot cards and oracle cards. I do believe spirits and reincarnation. Yes, I also believe in UFOs (go figure, right?). I do believe animals have souls, but I’m not vegan or vegetarian.

Soul-Driven Personality (What is this all about?! Have I been to driven to crazy town?) 

As you can see, I have a very keen interest in spirituality and applying it to my life since I‘m a soul-driven personality. My interest in spirituality will definitely be reflected in the content I will write on here. I figured it was just easier to just throw out there that I’m a little bit... or rather a lot weirder than people may have thought. If you don’t think I’m weird at all, it just takes time. I promise.

What Do I Do?

Currently, I run a pet sitting business with my fiance, Joe. (Did I mention he and I will be getting married this year on September 26th in Las Vegas? Well, if I didn’t, there ya go. Did I also mention I have ADD that seems to pop up more and more since I have a lot going on in my mind? Ah, yes, another topic: mental disorders. I have been diagnosed with them, but I do not let the diagnoses put me in a small little box. No matter the severity of the symptoms, I find that knowing can help lead to coping and understanding oneself). 

I am also an artist of sorts — probably more along of the lines of an artistic crafter. A believer in upcycle, reuse, and recycle, I alter covers of notebooks and items (such as decor, picture frames, etc.). I make jewelry. I also loom and I alter/upcycle clothes. Which lead me to this, I am a small business owner of my own creations. I am in the process of running an Etsy shop and also being a vendor in local stores. I would like to start selling my creations at craft fairs and flea markets.

I am a writer. I write primarily poetry and creative fiction (combination of sci-fi & fantasy and romance... think vampire and werewolves, grownup Harry Potter, and romance-centered Lord Of The Rings), but I’m giving it a go into nonfiction. I actually met my other best friend through an online writing community and I view her as my sister. She will actually be my maid of honor in our upcoming wedding. She and I are actually in the process of self-publishing a book of our poetry. I’ve already formated it to post as an ebook, but I need to add a dedication page and just do one more round of edits before we take that step.  

Future Endeavor That Will Change Up Our Lifestyle By Choice

In Spring of 2020 (if I can make it that long, but it’s more like the sooner the better), Joe and I will be selling our home to move into a trucker camper full time with our ginger kitty cat, Pumpkin (yep, original I know, but I have an unhealthy obsession with pumpkin spice so we dubbed her Pumpkin and nicknamed her Pumpks for her sometimes punk behavior). You did hear that correctly — living full time in a trucker camper though. It’s not unheard of — there’s a whole community out there doing this. I know most people would lean more towards a motorhome or travel trailer if planning to live in it full time, but Joe is an avid fisherman and would like to eventually buy a boat. I have no complaints about the smallness of a truck camper, because originally, I had been looking for smaller travel trailers like Scamp and converted vans. At the time, Joe had wanted a travel trailer so we had focused on 28ft travel trailer, but we had decided to change it up due to his love of fishing and future hopes of owning a boat.

I have always wanted to live in a RV and travel. I always browsed Instagram and recently started following people who were in the thicket of it. I Googled the movement and looked at blogs and forums. I had even started secret Pinterest boards on the topic. For years, I had tried to convince Joe that we were well suited for the lifestyle. That isn’t a load of baloney either. We lived out a tent and car before in an extreme circumstance... and for a summer, we lived in a small camper owned by his parents. 

At the time of the camper, we weren’t ready for it financially. His parents had originally gotten the camper for us after a falling out with a previous residential arrangement with family. We were actually happy and Joe got to fish when wanted to his free time since there was a pond at the campground. However, we were given the opportunity to own a mobile home (where we are now) from my parents as a gift. Winter was coming and we live in the northeast coast of the USA. We weren’t ready to rough it yet in the snow. The camper wasn’t ours either and we didn’t have the correct vehicle to tow it so we were relying on others for help with transportating the camper. So I put aside my dreams of living the RV life and decided it was best for us to accept the gift.

A couple years down the road, we‘re still struggling and hustling. Joe holds down a part time job at a supermarket and we run our pet services business (which is thriving). Since he is working, I hold down said pet sitting business while he‘s at work. We are also a one-car household. We try to earn extra income through other streams of income (like Etsy and whatnot), but the responsibilities of owning property as well as financially is like quicksand. We cannot afford to actually live in a house to put it bluntly. We are actually never around either, because we are always on the go so maintenance and upkeep is far from our mind.

How we live actually is perfect for RV lifestyle. We are always on the go. We find relaxation and peace in nature. Joe‘s outlet and stress reliever is fishing. He can stay there from sunrise to sunset (even longer) and enjoy himself. I’m not deluded to think it’s more affordable. I did the math. It can be the same in a sense, but we would no longer have to worry about property taxes, house maintenance (lawn mowing), and utilities. 

Joe’s only requirements were: has to have a kitchen (stovetop, oven, sink, and microwave), a queen size bed, and connectivity to internet.

Mine were: bathroom and table/dinette

So far, I’ve covered pretty much all. Internet is going to be more difficult, but there are ways around this. Campgrounds and some businesses (cafes, restaurants, etc.) have a WiFi. There’s also mobile connectivity too, but it won’t be unlimited.

So Hello World!
This is me. Tangles, Weeds, Cobwebs, And All.

Through my rambles, there are revealing details (among the tangles, weeds, and cobwebs in the garden of Megspeak) of what I could possibly talk about with my upcoming posts: spirituality, supernatural topics, upcoming wedding details, mental wellness, crafts, poems/short stories, self publishing experiments, small business news, and of course, countdown to rv lifestyle, and rv lifestyle in general.

Will there be more topics than this? 

Of course. You never know what you run into when you smell the roses on the scenic route from Point A to Point B. 

Sort:  

Wow...well hey. Better late than never, huh? Welcome for real this time then! It is very nice to have you here with us. If you have any questions please post them here and I will try to help, if I can. Good luck!

Hi @dragonphoenix. Welcome to Steemit!!!

Congratulations @dragonphoenix! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @dragonphoenix! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66394.28
ETH 3309.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70