Intermittent fasting: five ways to stave off hunger pangs

Last year I lost 31 lbs (14 kg) through intermittent fasting. The question I get asked most often about it is: "How did you stave off hunger pangs?"

Dreaming of burger 3.jpg

I followed the 5:2 diet, whereby for two days a week you eat no more than 500 calories if you're female, or 600 for men. In general I'm not a fan of calorie counting, but I think it can work as a guideline within the context of intermittent fasting.

Some people do their two fast days back-to-back, on consecutive days, but I preferred to have two separate days. In between those fast days, you can eat as much as you like.

Before and after.jpg

Having reached my target weight last November, I continue to do one fast day a week, just to maintain my weight loss, and also because I think it's healthy to give your digestive system a rest for a few hours each week.

1. Be active!

If your day is packed with things to do, you'll probably find you forget about eating. I usually find that I get a few small hunger pangs around lunchtime on a fast day – and it's just due to habit, because they soon go away once lunchtime has passed.

Everyone has a different pattern of eating. I generally start my fast day with a black coffee for breakfast, followed by no more calories until 4pm, when I have my meal of up to 500 calories. If I'm busy, the time between 8am and 4pm flies.

After dinner, I go to the climbing centre for the evening.

Me on climbing wall.jpg

I find physical activity the best way to forget about eating – I just drink lots of water to stay hydrated. If I feel hungry afterwards, I'll have a cup of chamomile tea before bed and look forward to my breakfast the following day.

2. Drink lots of water

It's very important to stay hydrated while doing intermittent fasting, and drinking water can help you feel full.

You can also have tea, coffee and fruit/herbal tea, but if you add milk/cream or sugar, it will eat into your 500 or 600 calories.

tea with lemon.jpg

Drink as much tea or coffee as you like, but it's best to have it without milk on a fast day.

3. Eat a small amount of unrefined salt

Hunger pangs can sometimes be the body's way of reminding you that it needs certain minerals, and sodium is one of them. Salt, unlike sugar, is required by the body in small amounts, and low sodium levels can cause headache and dizzy spells.

Unrefined salt, such as celtic sea salt or Himalayan salt, contains important trace minerals, so remember to take a few crystals along with some water when you are fasting.

Himalayan salt jar.jpg

Alternatively, you could drink some miso soup, which is generally low in calories (check the pack for added ingredients that could raise the calorie level).

Tip: a raw tomato or mushroom with salt can make a surprisingly filling snack.

4. Do think about food – but don't obsess about it

I try not to think about food too much during a fast day, but if it does pop into my mind, I just think: "I'll have that tomorrow, or later in the week." Sometimes thinking about the next day's breakfast or imagining the nice meal I'm planning to enjoy with friends later in the week helps satisfy my food cravings – as long as I don't dwell on it in too much detail!

5. Have an early night

When I started doing intermittent fasting I used to get quite tired on fast days. I think this was because I'd been using food as fuel to keep me awake beyond bedtime. If you often crave high-carb foods – especially sugary foods – in the late evening, you may be unconsciously trying to stave off sleep.

I find that if I relax in the evening with a chamomile tea on fast days, I'm ready for bed at the right time, and I wake up the next morning ready for breakfast, but not massively hungry.

Hot choc marshmallows.jpg

Sugary cravings at bedtime might be a sign that you're subconsciously trying to stave off sleep. If you feel tired on fast days, have an early night.

If you do find that you eat more than your allotted 500/600 calories a day…

…don't beat yourself up about it! You're winning in the long run.

For me, the joy of intermittent fasting is that it's relatively easy to maintain long-term, because you're not stuck in a lengthy tunnel of constantly feeling under-fed. So there's no need to rush or to set yourself impossible goals.

Finally…

I'm NOT advocating this as everyday behaviour. Intermittent fasting is about eating less OCCASIONALLY – not all the time. It's about enjoying your food one day and resting your digestion the next. It's not about weeks and weeks of low-calorie misery.

Further information:

The Fast Diet by Michael Mosley

5:2 Intermittent Fasting Diet on Facebook – a great support group

For more posts like this, visit the @make-it-healthy project!

Make_it_healthy_Basket_Logo.png

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

This is amazing that you lost 14kg weight through intermittent fasting. Really it is a great achievement. Congratulation.

Thanks! It has made me feel so much fitter.

I am a true believer in intermittent fasting and I practice it a lot actually. I play basketball for a living, and my body just needs to rest sometimes for eating so much food I need to endure my basketball practices and games.

I usually do early dinner around 7-8pm. And don't eat anything until the dinner next day. It gives my body some time to just focus on recovering my muscles instead of digesting food. And, sometimes on Sunday I just don't eat until dinner as well and eat a fruit and veggies shake for dinner.

It works wonders for my body, and my energy levels have never been higher.

This is a great post full of great information. Great job. Keep educating. :)

Thanks @awakentolife. I'm so glad you like my post – and also that you find intermittent fasting so beneficial. People who have never tried it often tell me they can't imagine going without food for a day. But it's not nearly as difficult as they think.

It really is not hard. Nothing is hard when you have the right mindset about it. I am more than willing to give up some hours or days of not eating to help my myself and my body. :)

Totally! I had a fast day yesterday, and I felt great at the end of the day!

I am also a fan of intermittent fasting. I know of people who incorporate it into each day, just eating during a smaller window of time. But this is the first time to read about the 5:2 diet, so that is also an interesting adaptation of the protocol. Glad to see and hear that it works. Thanks for the information.

True - there are many different ways to implement intermittent fasting. I first heard about 5:2 a few years ago, and I was quite sceptical about it, as I thought fasting would just make me obsessed with food (and at the time I didn't need to lose weight in any case). But when I finally tried it, it worked wonders.

Great advice. I really need to start eating healthy and eating balanced portions. Thanks for this reminder about intermiten fasting. I will be sure to check it out more.

Thanks. The great thing about 5:2 is that if you overeat, the fast days help your digestive system rebalance itself. So you don't need to feel guilty about overeating :)

This post has received a 10.47 % upvote from @boomerang.

This post has received a 57.14% upvote from @msp-bidbot thanks to: @natubat. Delegate SP to this public bot and get paid daily: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP Don't delegate so much that you have less than 50SP left on your account.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 74 (3/15/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Wonderful post! Many thanks for sharing your experiences and bringing attention to how beneficial intermittent fasting can be. I myself regularly do it and my body thanks me for it! :-)

Thanks! Glad you liked it.

Your post has been featured in issue #2 of the MAKE IT HEALTHY PROJECT MAGAZINE. Many thanks for your contribution, and keep the great posts coming! :-)

That's great news!

Funny, I am intermittent fasting right now. I do the 16/8 method where you don't eat for 16 hours then you can eat for 8 hours as much as you like. I try to eat mostly healthy food during the 8 hour window too.

All good tips for beating hunger pains. I have done the intermittent fasting off and on for many years now and my body is so used to it I have barely any hunger and when I do have some, it is very easy to ignore.

I've never tried 16/8. I might give it a try sometime. It might stop me from nibbling in the evenings, which I think is a very bad habit!

I find it to be the easiest for me to stick to because I don't go to bed hungry. Sometimes even if I don't have hunger pains I still get this very snackish feeling. You don't don't necessarily need to eat the whole 8 hours either. You could do 18/6 or 20/4.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60937.94
ETH 3381.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48