Being Your True Self and Ignoring the Naysayers

in #inspiration6 years ago


dtube divider small.png

Greetings, friend :) Welcome back to my channel @kenmelendez where I share inspiration and education on a daily basis. I hope you are having a fantastic day because if you aren't, then this message will inspire you and motivate you to turn that frown upside down.

The topic of discussion today revolves around being your true self and ignoring the naysayers as you saw from reading the title. I'm sure you've heard friends or loved ones over the years tell you to "just be yourself" or "don't change who you are". I have heard these sayings myself because people want me to express who I really am inside and who I was born to be.... or do they?

You see, being your true self comes with consequences. The consequences usually show up in the form of naysayers who ridicule you for being who you truly are. You will encounter this scenario throughout your life journey where people approach you, normally close friends and family, and tell you to be yourself and to never change.

That's all fine and dandy, but for one thing... growth is healthy. Staying the same will simply keep you in the same circumstances that you are in at this current moment in time. While you definitely want to be your authentic, true self, you also want to be in a constant state of growth and maturity as you acquire new information and experience new adventures.

The naysayers, the people who ridicule you for being yourself, are doing so because it is a reflection of themselves and how they feel in comparison to you. Think about this... when you are in a constant state of growth and are becoming more confident, more healthy, more wealthy, and more successful than a friend or family member, that person or group of people may feel uncomfortable. They may feel uneasy because you are growing and they are stuck in their current state.

The ridicule, the name calling, the gossip behind your back, is not because of you, it is because of their own thoughts, beliefs, and current status in comparison to yours. So, instead of looking inward and choosing to grow as well, the naysayers will simply throw words or accusations at you because it's the easy road to take.

Throughout my entrepreneurial journey which has lasted a handful of years, I've had many people who just don't understand what I do. They don't understand what I do online or why I do it. They want me to follow the status quo and do whatever society deems normal in order to make a living. I've faced my fair share of ridicule because of that.

But you know what... I'm ok with that. Because the vision I have for my family, for my friends, for my community, and for the world, surpasses any and all ridicule that I will ever receive for walking a different path. The dreams and the future that is set before me is far greater than any words or accusations that are thrown at me.

So how do you ignore the naysayers and be your true self? You focus on what is ahead. You focus on the future that awaits you when you consistently live up to your full potential. You drown out the noise that you hear from people who might be close to you by recognizing the amazing gifts and talents that you are blessed with.

When you do this, you are going to go very far in your business, in your relationships, in your spiritual walk, in your health, and many other areas of your life. Realize how much you have to offer and the extreme level of impact that you can make on the world. Even if you encourage one person today, that is making a huge impact in someone's life.

So I encourage you, friend, to be your true self today, tomorrow, and the day after that. There will be naysayers, but drown out their noise with the cry of victory.

Peace.

kenmelendezdivider.png

kenmelendezgifresized.gif

-Ken
@kenmelendez

P.S. Share your thoughts with me below. I can't wait to see them :)


Recent Posts You May Enjoy

green.png SteemAuto - An Easy Way to Automate Your Curation Efforts
green.png DTube Tutorials - Adjust Your Voting Weight with Just a Few Clicks
green.png Epidemic Sound - Enhance Your Video Content with Audio Tracks
green.png Friends Upvote Friends - Sowing Seeds of Relationship
green.png Speaking at the Upcoming Steem Conference in Toronto
green.png Tips on Becoming a Top 10 DTuber
green.png Partiko App - The Future of Steem at Our Fingertips
green.png Life Lessons from the Great Upload Debacle

Looking to take your Steem experience to the next level? Join other Steemians live for one of the biggest events of the year...Steem Creators Conference and SMT Summit taking place September 5-8, 2018. Grab your spot while you still can.

https://steemcreators.com


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I had a lot of naysayers in my past @kenmelendez.

People thought I was too ambitious and some thought I was destined to fail, but in the end, all of my dreams came true.

I can sense you are on the same path.

You have the faith and a lot of momentum, all of your dreams will come true too, according to your desire, and according to your faith.


Everything in life is created twice, first in the mind, and then in our "physical" reality.

Love your comments my man. So glad that all of your dreams came true...you deserve it 🙌🏻 Have a fantastic rest of your day, Chris 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great video Ken! I totally agree. People can get really negative with others, especially squashing their dreams, etc. Ignore them and be you, and work hard at whatever it is that you want to do. :) Thanks for the inspiration my friend!

Matt!! You’re the man 👊🏻 Hope you’re having an amazing day brother. I’m sure you are 😀

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks Ken! Yep I am having a great day, and it just got better! I got off the phone with Directtv. I was going to cancel and they gave me 45 bucks off a month for a whole year. LOL So I stayed with them.

Yep, their customer retention department can sure work wonders. We use Netflix and Hulu, but we used to have DirectTV.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes it is pretty great. I have Netflix and Amazon Prime and DirectTV. haha will see how things go after this next full year.

Excellent, uplifting post as per usual @kenmelendez. A lot of the time people seem too obsessed with what others think of them and their actions that they become someone completely different to themselves. And what's the fun if everyone is the same? 3xpression of individuality is key.
I also haven't had the chance to congratulate you yet on your new addition to the family! Congrats.
Have a great day Ken.

Dude! Thank you for the kind words @lethaltoast 🙌🏻 New baby is doing well. He’s an eating and sleeping machine 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

amazingly @kenmelendez I'm very inspired by your trip

Thank you @khabir! Honored to serve and inspire ✌🏻

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you @kenmelendez, after reading it, I am so inspired with the writing you share

Awesome to hear @sherazahmad845. How’s life been going lately?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Good to hear! I’ve been well. Living the dream here on Steem. Literally 🙌🏻

Posted using Partiko iOS

bro i like you your looking is very beautifull
you are good bro

The worse thing i see is when people change who they are, their style, their personality, because they think its what will get views, follows, donations, etc. When that happens, the viewers aren't watching you anymore, they are watching an actor, who has decided that they will be whoever they need to be to get the love. Forget that. I'm me, and a lot of people may not like it...but some people do... but in the end, we should do this for ourselves. That's what will cause you to keep enjoying Dtube, not grow to hate it. Rock on, Brother.

Right on @world-of-ripx, you are absolutely right. In order to make the Steem experience last long-term, it’s a must to make sure you’re enjoying the process. Appreciate the comment 💪🏻

Posted using Partiko iOS

Very good bro...it is very helpful for us...good thinking.

I listened to this video in the car on the way over to the mall w/ @emaferice. It was my first time listening to it.


I was so happy when @emaferice stopped a few times and said "that's a nice message" and other things like that. It made me happy since I think it will boost her faith and strength to take her life with me to the next level.


Sometimes it helps to have a teacher that we don't know, or at least do not live with. Your words are new, and the style is fresh but it is the message I have been trying to convey here in the Philippines.

Thank you for helping me do it! @kenmelendez

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61986.23
ETH 3026.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75