Life Lessons from the Great Upload Debacle

in #steem6 years ago


Greetings my fellow Steemian. Ken here back with another video made specifically for you on our awesome video platform, @dtube!

It's funny because this version of the video is actually my second attempt at shooting. My first attempt failed as the audio did not come through at all due to a wire not being plugged in all the way.

The video I shot, as well as this one you are watching now, is about the great upload debacle that I experienced on Monday evening. Here's the story...I recorded my Steem Monsters booster pack giveaway video and was prepared to share it on DTube.

Turns out it would not upload because of IPFS failing to work. I kept receiving a red error message at the bottom of my screen no matter what I did. Normally, this wouldn't be an issue as I have an alternative video platform to turn to...DLive.

kenmelendezdivider.png

So, I logged into DLive thinking that I would upload my video. Nope. Wouldn't upload. I thought "Wow, this is crazy". So I ended up trying different internet connections thinking perhaps that was the case. Didn't help.

Restarted my computer...nothing. Tried uploading a different video thinking my original file was corrupt. Still nothing. I was going at this upload process for at least 4-5 hours Monday evening.

Needless to say I went to bed frustrated with the whole thing. I woke up the next morning and felt better. I also took some time to reflect on the situation from the night prior and came to a conclusion..."everything is going to be ok".

You see, sometimes life is going to throw curve balls at us when we least expect them to appear. I was SO excited to get my video out to the community right away, but ended up needing to wait a day. But in the end, it worked out.

Life lessons learned from the great upload debacle are:

Keep emotions in check or else they will get the best of you

Be careful how you react to surprise situations that arise at any given moment

Know that it will be OK and that tomorrow is a new day

The reason that I got emotional and frustrated is because I am insanely passionate about Steem and providing my content on a daily basis. I actually felt physically ill that night as a result of not being able to upload simply because I wanted to so badly but couldn't. I'll know what to do next time if this happens again. I will respond and take a step back, keeping my emotions under control.

The Steem journey relates in sync with the emotional roller coaster experience of an entrepreneur. There will be days when we are shouting with joy from the rooftops, and other days where we feel like burying our heads in the sand and crying like a baby.

So, my question for you my friend, is how will you act when the next curve ball arrives on your doorstep? Will you react or will you respond? Will you have a knee-jerk reaction defaulting with frustration and anger? Or, will you respond and take a step back, assessing the situation and asking, "Is this really worth getting this upset about"?

Know that life is a gift and is meant to be enjoyed. Going through a trial in your life right now? Know that tomorrow is a new day and that you have another chance to make it right. It is my belief that everything works out in the end for the greater good.

kenmelendezdivider.png

If you are hearing my voice or reading my words right now, know this...It is going to be OK. Take a step back from the circumstance, breath, rest, and wake up tomorrow with a renewed mindset and a grateful heart.

Take charge knowing that you are in control of your emotions and that you have a choice...react with negative emotions, or respond with hope and trust that everything will work itself out in the end.

I love you, friend. I care about you, and I appreciate all of your support. Can't wait to see you in the next post! Until then, remember...You Are Awesome. Take care.

kenmelendezgifresized.gif

-Ken
@kenmelendez

P.S. Struggling with a trial right now in your life? Leave a comment below and I will do my best to cheer you up :)


Recent Posts You May Enjoy

https://steemcreators.com


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I always have problems when I try to upload to Dtube. Like you said. keep emotions in check. It is hard but it will work eventually.

Yes! Emotions can be hard to control sometimes but we need to push through!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh how I feel you when you said you felt I'll for not delivering. You get so used to it and you commit to it ,that it really makes you feel bad if you can't

Its human to be emotional,however handling it shows a great strength of maturity especially when things are really going wrong. Someone once said " dont say a word when you are angry because you may say things or ruin relationship you have built over the year's" emotion is the spring board for Anger. Thanks Ken for this post.

Right! Saying words when angry or frustrated (or even hungry lol) can be words we regret in the end. Cool down first then speak!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Always great to see how easy going you are my friend, you have a great inner calmness ( I probably said that wrong, but hope you know what I mean) and you are right, shit happens and sometimes we can't do anything about it! We just can calm down and keep on steeming! ;-) have a great day! High5 from Barcelona

Thanks my man! I’m generally a calm person by nature. I wasn’t calm in the midst of that trial though that’s for sure haha

Posted using Partiko iOS

I usually do pretty well with curveballs since I am good at taking a step back, clearing my mind and relaxing, but everyone has strengths and weaknesses @kenmelendez.

  • Relaxing and staying calm is one of my strengths but I tend to experience excessive calmness in situations that require a stronger and more action-oriented response.

So there are always pros and cons - if staying calm is a task for you, it might be because you are action-oriented, and can really get things done!

Source:
https://www.16personalities.com

That’s excellent that you stay calm in those situations Chris. A great quality to have and hold onto. Quality comment here...you are the man 🙌🏻

Posted using Partiko iOS

👍 Well done @kenmelendez ! I spend a lot of time on that emotional rollercoaster, especially here on Steemit, so many ups and downs! You are so right to just take a step back or a break for a while, then with a rested mind things look different and your mind is sharper and can see things more clearly! im so glad you fixed the problem you had ! upped and resteemed to spread positive vibes!
like I always say : Stay positive, focused and patient and good things will happen! Steem On Ken, and Good Night!✌👍💕

Amazing comment as always Karen! You are one of my favorite Steemians for sure. I humbly appreciate your support 👍🏻😊

-Ken

Posted using Partiko iOS

Your welcome ! thanks!💕✌👍😀

Ken! Glad you were able to finally get it uploaded. I remember you and I were chatting about it in Discord. I guess the only other suggestion I would have had would be to trying rendering the video out again, or use something like Handbrake to convert it, at any rate, glad it worked out. So true about taking a step back and not letting issues or circumstances effect us. I have things happen to me all the time with my old computer that really tick me off and put me in a foul mood. lol Something I need to work on for sure. Really good video man, enjoyed it a lot. Thanks.

Yes we were chatting about this! It ended up working out after all. Lessons learned! Thanks for being there for me and thank you for your kind words here. They don’t go unnoticed.

-Ken

Posted using Partiko iOS

You are very welcome Ken! So glad it worked out.

what an amazing place this is! Just amazing......../

It is beyond words that’s for sure! 😀

Posted using Partiko iOS

I had a similar situation yesterday I just end up falling asleep great vid

Yeah, sometimes sleep is the best medicine for us

Posted using Partiko iOS

very good topic bro
amazing article
good job bro

Thank you brother! Glad you received value 😀🙌🏻

Posted using Partiko iOS

very good
bro thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64316.46
ETH 3170.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49