The Dead Spoken Word Society

in #imaginarium6 years ago (edited)

DeadPoems_BG3.png

"When power leads man toward arrogance, poetry reminds him of his limitations. When power narrows the area of man's concern, poetry reminds him of the richness and diversity of existence. When power corrupts, poetry cleanses." -J.F.K

The most fun I have on Steemit is #Poetryweekend brought to you by the wonderful @prydefoltz. Its starts off with Friday Poets's Exchange, Contest and Community Building.

This week I was ready with The Death of Narrative. Once you write and post your poem that's when the magic begins. There is creative fury that gets stirred up, as the post slowly come in, the comments come and everyone is checking out each other's work, and you are having 3 different creative discussions in 3 different threads.(I want to tap into this energy)

And then Haiku Saturday. and Lastly A Dead Poems Society Production, where we dust off some of our hidden poetic gems. I encourage everyone to check out and support these efforts. Better yet, enjoy in on the fun!

Which brings me back to this Post. Yesterday @momzillanc posted Listen Up!, as I was listening to her wonderful performance, something sparked with in me. We should have The Dead Spoken Word Society!

The Idea is this: pick out some Dead Spoken Word Poems that you have, I will edit them with some background music and some visuals, put them together, and have A Dead Poems Society Production. I have a lot of Dead Spokens Word stuff, also some friends of Imaginarium stuff as well. And we can have a very special 24hr Imaginarium The Dead Spoken Word Production on June 6th.

This is something that just came to me, so it's 'on the fly', still a work in progress. Maybe it turns into a thing, maybe it doesn't. But I do see it turning into Open Mic/Submission (Monthly)Event. It All depends on interest and engagement. It's not really a contest, it's more of a collaborative game. So any SBD that is made with this Dlive Video Production will be shared by all who participate.

The Mechanics of this might be tricky, but If Interested please post a link to the 'dead' spoken word poem that you would like to enter in the comments below. From there, I created a google drive folder, in which we can have a back and forth on the audio/visual edit, and work together on the production of your spoken word piece. Then I will piece together The Dead Spoken Word Mixtape and post it on Dlive.

I would also like to Invite Contributors to The Infinite Imaginarium Discord which we can start having a lot of poetic mischievous fun!

Lastly For those that are not aware June 6th is 24hr Imaginarium. Its a creative holiday. I will like to just keep on encouraging everyone on June 6th to Go nuts with whatever your calling is, take the day off or take a long lunch, or find a way at work, school, with family, friends or on a date to create; paint, sing, meditate, write poetry, empty your mind, provoke thoughtful conversations, whatever sparks your imagination.

You can use tags: #imaginarium, #deepshit #infinitepoetry #deadpoem. You can also watch or better yet join in on the Dlive live streaming of a creative hangout!(more info to come on that but right now 2:30-5:00 pm EST is the first live stream)

Or not and just do your own thing, Really it doesn't matter, if you use #Imaginarium or play around with my 24hr Imaginarium Ideas. It's actually better if you create your Imaginarium and/or Creative Event!

It's not what the Imaginarium can do for you, but what can you do for the Imaginarium that is the question...

I really do wish everyone and anyone to be curious, mischievous and playful on June 6th. This is only the beginning my friends, there is a lot of Cosmic Giggles to be had...

P.S. feel free to email me: [email protected]

Image Astraea by Richey Beckett

Sort:  

I think it is a great idea, Daniel. I do have some spoken word on youtube. Could I enter some of those?

Yea for sure! Pick a couple, because I fear its only be a few of us from The Tribe of The Dead Poems submitting. Hey I already worked out one version of Intro to this: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1zaScT02VAUTnwST1KmQ4C7iXwWrDgoyQ/view?usp=sharing

I think it is great but a little too long ... for sure keep it at less than a minute:) Also I would add some lighter sounds to it to supply some contrast. But it is also great as it stands:)

Yea its the full song verison, I was thinking that too When I edit into the whole thing to cut it down, and cross fade it in.

Great ... make sure you remind me if I somehow miss the post:)

will do! what 'dead' spoken word poems from your youtube do you want to enter into the mix?

I will have to think on it:)

Here’s the spoken word historical poem I mentioned, entitled “Ra’qedyet”
https://steemit.com/alexanderthegreat/@momzillanc/ra-qedyet

I suggest something with dissonant driving, marshall beat.

awesome I was listening to that one earlier, kind of fermenting it, see what leaks out.

I did a different version of Listen Up, That's for the feedback, this is more mischievous, with some satori weirdness, I think it's a better fit, probably not perfect, but I think a lot better step forward

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1skYUDCNNIOBdJNx2leoeSdTKba4Wzbt0/view?usp=sharing

I’m not sure about the roller coaster, but the rest of the visuals fit pretty decently, especially near the end. The music is still not quite right, though – it’s a bit too carnival-esque.

Not really. Sorry I can’t be more helpful.

But, on Ra’qedyet, I thought something like maybe something from Kodo - like “O-Daiko”

hey that Kodo - like "O-Daiko" is awesome.
I already did a version of Ra'qedyet with Phillip Glass Ensemble -- Orion -- Australia, with visuals from Rusalochka - 'The Little Mermaid' Russian Soyuzmultfilm and The Magic Flute by W.A.Mozart. I really like it(maybe a slight adjustment with visuals, am still letting it settle in, and see what last minute tweaks) but I hope you like this one

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1aacYmuoCsKD60v0YP2T6ZYsljc1_Y8Cf

I like the music and imagery. The music could work. But, I don’t think the imagery is right for Ra’qedyet – it seems to be a combination of The Little Mermaid and some kind of pseudo Babylonian death mythology. Can you do some Greek, Egyptian, Persian, and Indian/Hindu combination of war imagery?

I got The Popol Vuh (Mayan Creation Myth Animated), I thought I had this Egyptian vintage thing, but I didn't like it, I'll see what I can dig up

Have you considered posting this to some of the Steemit groups on Facebook?

Better. I think the soundtrack is perfect. Many of the visuals are perfect. The vocal repeats passages, which I found a little distracting. The video overall is a little on the long side. The key to holding your audience with spoken word is to keep it tightly focused and roughly the length of the average airplay of a song on the radio – that’s usually around 3 minutes or less.

To shorten the video and focus the content, I’d do a bit of imagery tweaking: I’d delete “The Little Mermaid” statue footage entirely – it’s incongruous and confusing; I’d cut out the domestic and lifestyle Greek footage; Keep the soldier and marching footage; I’d overlay more of the marching footage across the Egyptian landscape scenes; I’d add an overlay of flames at the end and fade to a flameout to black sequence to close.

I got caught up playing 24hr Imaginarium games and editing other 'Dead Poems', so this one didn't make this mixtape. But I will work on those changes, and it will be ready for next month. Maybe I can find some cool Egyptian landscape.

Thanks for the back and forth, it been fun. But Listen Up #SCFIRST made it this mixtape. https://steemit.com/dlive/@satorid/04fc3f90-69fe-11e8-8c69-9334a80daafd

This is really a month project. But it was cool to test out this idea. I think it came out good. There is a lot more fun to come...

Thanks so much. I tried to resteem it, but wasn’t able to because I kept getting an error message.

that odd, but just try later.

Yea no problem it was fun, and gets the ideas flowing. Already planning and thinking of the next one...

Yea I have in a few and also posted on minds.com, I got a few on minds

PERFECT! Perfect in every way! Love that jazz soundtrack!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51