Haiku Saturday, Round 3, Contest and Community Building

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

Haiku Saturday

From the blog that brought you Friday Poets and then Dead Poem's Society, now it is time to get really precious and claim the weekend in the name of verse. Yep, it's Saturday; so let's make it haiku Saturday.
IMG_3367.jpg
Welcome to Round 3. We had a really great turnout last week compared to the week before but steem was down and so our prize pool was not large. The SBD payout for last week's #haikusaturday was 0.6 SBD. The goal of #poetryweekend is first and foremost community growing. So I made the decision to split the prize equally among the participants who also remembered to upvote the work of someone else in the comments section. With this kind of thing it is often the person that gets in there first that wins and I really want to reward participation as well. Participation is essential to a healthy steemit community. In the future and with bigger payout, I will also award placements. But hopefully everyone earned some extra author rewards from comment upvotes here and on the original haiku blog.

The following people will/have received 0.1 SBD

@mayliberty
@moonleesteem
@calluna
@pedroelec
@anthemius
@dreamer007

The Rules for Participation.

  • UPVOTE and REESTEEM this post. The more people who get involved the bigger the payout and the more I can reward the participants.
  • Put @prydefoltz in your title and one of your tags should be #haikusaturday
  • Write a haiku post and drop the link in the comments below. The haiku needs to have been posted on Saturday wherever you are. Why? Because it is Haiku Saturday, don't you know?
  • Visit at least three other haiku and comment and upvote their COMMENT here. You can also upvote their post if you got the upvote power but it is not necessary. Your votes will decide the winners.
  • Wrote a haiku for another contest or challenge today; feel free to post it here too. I'm not possessive.
  • The liquid payout from this post (SBD) will be split up among the winners (those who received the most upvotes) and the most supportive participants, those who upvoted and commented the most. Get to know each other. I may write a haiku and join in on the fun, but obviously I will not qualify to share in the SBD payout.

    12799117_1994603654097601_6806312217006453056_n.jpg

Never written a haiku before. Start with the basic form. A three lined poem of the syllable count of 5/7/5 about nature. From there start to experiment with pivot lines and pivotal ideas. Want some help writing haiku, this may be the place to get it. In your comment indicate you would like critique and I am sure a more experienced haiku writer will help you out. I have written hundreds of them and I am happy to take a look. But please, no insistence that your haiku way is the right way. Be gentle and humble when you attempt to teach. This is English haiku after all andthere is room for variation. Senryu, hokku, and tanka is also welcome. I am no stickler for 5/7/5 but haiku should be brief and generally run less than 17 syllables in total. With tanka you get two more lines of 7 syllables each.
I will upvote and comment, to the best of my ability, on everyone who takes part having followed the rules. I should be able to get to everyone within the week. So that will be two upvotes: one for your comment and one for your post. I will do my best to make sure the upvote is over the burn-off level. Any comment or post that does not receive at least a three cent payout, receives no payout. Many of you may not know this.I really want to see the poetry community grow on steemit, not just in numbers but also in our wallets. If we are to make this happen, we have support each other. I love Japanese-inspied poetry and I am so excited to see what everyone comes up with.

Take a few moments, get contemplative, and let nature help you compose a haiku!!!

Photos are my own:)

Sort:  

I'm excited to participate in such creative initiative, Pryde! Have to admit, it's my second Haiku in total, still learning
https://steemit.com/haiku/@liverussian/triumph-of-life-haiku-and-photography


2018-06-02-09-01-19.jpg

life is tough, always leaking out every corner of reality. =D

Looking forward to number three:)

Oh I was so busy yesterday I missed this! But just for fun, here is a haiku about my Saturday <3

Dense bramble thicket
Nettles catch on thistle thorns
Hidden statues freed

No worries, Calluna. You're in:) Gorgeous work:)

The picture and the words interwine seamlessly! Reality and a dream - sometimes we don't know where which one is ) Your write is deep, spiritual haiku! I enjoyed diving into it!

Thanks! Yea the day before @twirble posted Mantis in the City about this Mantis being taken out of its enivornment, which trigger this dream I had of having the perception of a snake, it was very Zhuangzi, "Now I do not know whether I was then a man dreaming I was a butterfly, or whether I am now a butterfly, dreaming I am a man."

so when #haikusaturday came, I knew what I wanted to play with =D
my dreams paint me with reality
I paint reality with my dreams

Ahahahahaha, thank you for such thorough explanation, I feel special now ) I believe, a talented person can find inspiration in the most unexpected places!

this is true, that eternal beauty leaks out of everywhere ;D

Hi Pryde,
I am just seeing this now... I feel so honored to win
1st place... Thank you 🙏 very much, this contest
was such fun to enter 😊.
Congratulations to everyone.

Did you write any haiku today ... love to have it in the feed:)

Thanks I will enter again... soon 🦋

Wow cheers @prydefoltz, 2nd place.
I am very happy 😆. Thank you.
Wishing you a nice day or evening

Feel free to enter again:)

I find it difficult to read everything in English because I have to translate it, my English level is not good but even so I am putting all my effort into this poetry for you dear friend @prydefoltz ...
here is my Haiku this week.
PS: my phone broke, since that's where I write and participate ... I have not replaced it yet

https://steemit.com/poetry/@pedroelec/haiku-japanese-poetry

Wonderful metaphoric capture with this haiku, pedro:)

thank you, I will keep doing haiku I will fulfill my promise

Hi Pryde, I upvoted, but I can not see how to reesteem... I seem to be compulsively writing haiku, so I might as well join the fun. .. Now... where is that reesteem button?

The resteem button is on the right of the upvote one, looks like an arrow of a round trip ))) so an arrow of going and coming back )))) hope, it hepled!

Hi, @prydefoltz. I'm in for next round. This week was wild in terms of time, VP and posting.

Good luck to you all!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39