Writing Contest (Week 1) | Who’s your favorite person?

in #ilovewriting5 years ago (edited)



📷

Since I joined Steemit, I have slowly immersed in the writing community, whether through activities like freewriting (check the @freewritehouse if you haven't) or through amazing contests, such as those hosted by @sndbox, @celfmagazine, and @themarkymark. Besides encouraging the production of high-quality content for the platform, this kind of things can really give a push to the authors’ creativity, and even help us overcome writer's block!

I wanted to replicate that effect myself. Therefore, here's the first writing contest hosted by me, and hopefully, I'll be able to do it weekly. This time, I’ll be working along @celfmagazine and @c-squared. A special shout-out to their great teams!

Theme

The concept came up to me a late night when I was already in bed. Why do good ideas like to do that? Anyway, the theme for this contest is "who's your favorite person?" That question triggered my imagination, and I started picturing all the cool stuff you people could produce based on it. Don't limit your mind, I'm sure I'll still be surprised and amazed by what you have to say.



📷

Rules

For an entry to be valid, it must comply with the following guidelines:

  • New, original content.
  • At least 400 words.
  • Written in clear English / Español (yes, we will accept entries in both languages).
  • Include the tag ilovewriting.
  • Title of the post: "Writing Contest - My favorite person is... | YOUR TITLE".
  • You must submit your entry before this post's payout, so you have exactly seven days for it.
  • Drop your entry as a link on the comment box of this post.
  • We will accept one entry per contestant.
  • If less than five valid entries were submitted, the contest would be declared null and an honorific mention, along with 1 Steem, would be given to the participants. In that case, I would return the prize pool to the respective contributors.

Selection criteria

  • Creativity is highly encouraged.
  • Proper writing and formatting will be taken into account.
  • Blog history will be considered as a tiebreaker criterion between entries of similar quality, with preference given to authors who consistently post great content.

Judges

For this first edition, I’ll be the only member of the jury. Hopefully, next week, some fellow writers will be able to join me!

Prizes

The jury will take up to a week to review all entries. After that process, three winners will be selected and announced through another post. The prizes for this contest will be funded by the liquid rewards on the contest announcement posts, published on @celfmagazine as well as on my personal account. Also, since we wish to make things even more appealing, there will be an optional prize pool to which anyone can contribute.

  • 1st place wins 50% (liquid rewards + prize pool).
  • 2nd place wins 35%.
  • 3rd place wins 15%.

All valid entries will be submitted to C² curation collective (@c-squared) for additional upvote consideration.

Rewards on the winners' announcement post will go equally to the members of the jury.

Current prize pool

Keep an eye on this, as it may go up!

@zoexantelamv - 5 Steem
@carlgnash - 5 Steem
@ailindigo - 3 Steem
@...

To contribute, send Steem to @zoexantelamv with the words writing contest as the memo, and I will add that amount to the pool. The contributors will be given credit in this post.

Give an upvote to this post if you find the initiative valuable, and hit the resteem button so your friends know about the contest too!

Many thanks to anyone already involved or soon to be. Much love to you all!

Sort:  

Hola @zoexantelamv . Me gusta mucho la temática del concurso, espero con ansias saber que se te ocurre para la próxima ocasión...!
Pero por ahora, aquí esta mi entrada
en este concurso.
Gracias por tu iniciativa. Y saludos.!

Hello, this is the corrected version: https://steemit.com/ilovewriting/@jairosanchez/writing-contest-my-favorite-person-is-the-love-of-my-life
If there's anything else to make it valid, please point it out.
thanks.

Wow! Sounds great, I'll try :)

Looking forward to reading your piece! :)

Great idea for a contest. I hope you get lots of entries.

Thank you! I hope so too :)

Hello @zoexantelamv, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76