My Favorite Person ... Writing Contest (by @zoexantelamv)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

This post is an entry into @zoexantelamv's Who’s your favorite person? (Week 1) Contest which, given the Christmas Season, seems like a wonderfully apt idea.

My Favorite Person

For anyone who even casually follows this blog, that fact that my favorite person in the world is my daughter, Katie, will come as no surprise.

Katie, now 17, is both brilliant and beautiful and from the first day she was born, I have loved her with all my heart. She is her Father's Daughter and everyone knows it. Our brains function so similarly that we read each other's minds and finish each other's sentences ... a habit that drives others nuts and which neither of us makes any effort to avoid. We are each other's best friend and the number of arguments we've had in 17 years could be counted on one hand ... with fingers to spare. 

Parents bragging about their children isn't particularly unusual but, admittedly, I make an art form of it. Most people forgive me because, intuitively, they can sense that I cannot help myself. Katie has earned Straight A's (all Advanced Classes) since Kindergarten (she is now a Senior in Grade 12). She's also won more Science Fair Awards (Local, State and International) than one could count.  

When my Mom was diagnosed with Alzheimer's eight years ago, Katie and I converted our dining room into a biological and chemical laboratory. We've spent thousands of hours investigating the cause of, and researching a cure for, the disease. All throughout High School, she has been enrolled in a class called MaST (Math, Science & Technology), a program unique to her school ... essentially, a four-year 'Experimental Science' program, giving her access to the program's advanced laboratory as well as those of a nearby hospital and university. She was invited by the American Chemical Society to present her Alzheimer's-related findings at the University of South Florida ... while in Grade 8 (the other eight presenters were grad students in university). All either of us ever receive for Christmas and birthday presents is lab equipment.

Katie has also inherited her father's literary interests and talents and is currently driving her Classical Literature teacher nuts, disputing her interpretation of poems. She does not believe, for example, that Robert Frost was expressing 'patriarchal themes' as is, astonishingly, suggested by many modern feminist literary scholars.    

Speaking of poems, here's one I wrote for her for her 16th Birthday:

And for the image-impaired:

Words Instead

Nature’s prize, those smiling eyes, 
A beauty … you’ve become, 
A heart that’s kind, such brilliant mind,  
To them, do all succumb.    

Nobel Prize, do some surmise, 
For promise does presage, 
As you devote; too, they take note, 
As you of them, assuage.   

So much you’ve done, for one so young, 
My child … of sixteen years, 
More than most, have you to boast,  
As first, amongst your peers.   

This day of birth, what thing of worth, 
Might I, then give to you, 
What would suffice, and at what price, 
To moment now imbue?   

Ought buy to own, a gem or stone, 
Or ring, if cast in gold, 
A satin dress, a look noblesse, 
So all exclaim, “Behold!”   

Perhaps a toy, that you’d enjoy, 
Remind … so too to play, 
Your mind, beguile; to make you smile, 
How ought these things I weigh?   

A gift of lead, in words instead, 
Of lessons that I’ve learned, 
As traveled far; I have them, scars, 
And wisdoms have I earned.   

Of none, obey; but each one, weigh, 
On each, ought you reflect, 
Perhaps concur, perhaps demur, 
Reflect, accept, reject.

Nothing is Free   

If truth there be, no thing is free, 
All things, they’ll take a toll, 
Sacrifice, means sacred price, 
Must pay we for our goals.   

Fairness   

Ask them to do, as they of you, 
No less, so too no more, 
A thing not fair, of it beware, 
For it, the seed of war.    

Virtue’s in the Middle   

Polar regimes, vice in extremes,  
Virtue, you find in between, 
He, Aristotle; would make it the model,  
Ethos, you’ll find at the mean.   

Euphemisms   

To tell them, their lies; they’ll first euphemize,
Take words … and twist what they mean,
The trick of the game; to change it, the frame,
Rewrite them words and their genes.

Trust Someone

Frightful to trust, yet still it a must, 
For no one sees rearward attack, 
Caution, go slow; friends fewer than foes, 
But someone, must have it, your back.

One Plan   

Worse than a bad plan, is no plan, 
Worse than no plan, is two, 
As matter of course, focus your force, 
No focus and chaos ensues.   

Take Precautions   

Bad sign, if it’s smoking; hard fix, when it’s broken,  
Insight … prevent it, the break, 
Of perils, take care; for problems, prepare, 
Precaution, prevents them, mistakes.   

Be Honorable   

Honor, the word; now seldom is heard, 
Strength … such archaic ideal, 
Morals within; so too with them, sins,  
Honor … is the iron in steel.   

Be Passionate but Pragmatic    

“If truly believe, you’ll truly achieve, 
Go child, go chase it your passion,” 
Well there is a gem, if dreaming of STEM, 
Less so, of dreams out-of-fashion.   

Think for Yourself   

Everyone knows, and they’d knowledge impose,  
Everyone … knows that they’re right, 
They argue their ‘facts,’ with logic that’s lax, 
And rarely, can science, they cite.  


As close as we are, I now have competition ... Katie has a boyfriend. I would like to complain, but the fact is he's a really nice guy. And, he is both a Straight A student and a muscle-bound athlete ... which in girl-speak translates to ... "a keeper."

Nevertheless, I am still the father of a pretty daughter, and so:

So, You Are The Man

So, you are the man; whose got him a plan,
Seduce, you will with your charms,
Give me a look, and with it be hooked,
Collapse … I will in your arms.

Feed me a line, and make me supine,
Warm, then followed by cool,
Stars in my eyes, you’ll tell me your lies,
Believe, I will like a fool.

Perchance you are right, fall for it I might,
Women, we’re blind to the bad,
Before you’re consigned, ought keep you in mind,
You’ve not … yet met him, MY DAD.


Quill



You guys know the QuillDrill. Be verbose ... but articulate.

And remember ...

Go Love A Starving Poet

For God's sake ... they're starving!


Sort:  

Your daughter is lucky to have a father like you. Stay true to yourselves. And Merry Christmas.

@blockurator,

Thanks Block. We are lucky to have each other. I think we may have one of the greatest father-daughter relationships in all of history. :-)

Merry Christmas to you and yours.

Quill

I love how much you love and brag about your daughter! She does seem pretty amazing and obviously takes after her dad :)

By the way, I saw your subtle suggestion in Discord, but I'll have you know, your post was already one of several open tabs open on my laptop :)

Merry Christmas buddy! to you and your lovely daughter :)

@lynncoyle1,

By the way, I saw your subtle suggestion in Discord

I saw all your gallivanting around and decided I wanted a spoonful of sugar too. :-)

Lynn, Merry Christmas to you and yours as well. Say Hi to Brian for me.

Quill

Always happy to put an extra spoonful of sugar in my favorite poet tea :)

Brian says hi back too!

Wow, what a talented and intelligent individual mate, well done on raising a superhero for the future! And from what you've said, her new partners sounds like a decent chap as well, hope their relationship lasts!

Merry Christmas to everyone at team Quill!

@nickyhavey,

Hey Nicky. Proud of them both ... and Merry Christmas to you and yours.

Quill

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

@steemitbloggers,

Hi guys. Always glad to see that wonderful logo in my comments section ... la creme de la creme. Merry Christmas to all my fellow SteemitBloggers (The Power House Creatives). Here's hoping that in 2019, the Compensation will be Commensurate with the Quality of the Creation ... if so, we'll all be rich.

Quill

Great entry, @quillfire. Who cares about word count when there's so much to tell and so gracefully.

How not to brag about a gift this grand? You are a lucky man. Not all of us can see our children grow and share enough with them as to be that close. It must be a real blast.

I think I'll borrow your poetic pet talk. I may work on a Spanish translation. Those vignettes make a neat compendium of parental wisdom and poetic beauty.

Best of luck in the contest.

@hlezama,

You are a lucky man.

I am and I know it.

I may work on a Spanish translation. Those vignettes make a neat compendium of parental wisdom and poetic beauty.

That would be one of the greatest honors of my life ... especially coming from you and especially regarding that particular poem. And, of course, I know that you would do a spectacular job as you are incapable of anything else.

Henrry, Merry Christmas to you and yours. Say Hi to your wife and brood.

And, keep Steeming ... despite the crypto price volatility, it's still better than the Bolivar. Plus, I've made it my mission to catch up to you in both Rep Score and SP. :-)

Quill

Loading...

Hahaha. Deal. I'll post the translation here before the post closes.
Merry Christmas to you too.
You guys have a great time.
We are having some complications here with my mother-in-law. Just returned from local medical facility that has nothing to take care of the most basic medical emergencies. I'll probably be posting about it. She has a respiratory infection and her family has a gruesome history of death before 50 casued by that kind of thing. She is 69, so that's high risk.
Anyway, hopefully, she will stay stable and allow us all to have a realtively calmed Christmass, at least away from an emergency room, which here has a very horrendous connotation.

@hlezama,

Regarding your mother-in-law, I'm got my fingers crossed.

Quill

Howdy sir quillfire! this is totally amazing, what a blessing she is!

@janton,

Thanks mate ... and, yes, she is a blessing and not a day goes by that I don't think about it.

Merry Christmas.

Quill

@brittandjosie,

You know, she's spoiled rotten. Take Steemit, for example. She has not posted one word and already she's a star. "I love Katie, I love Katie."

I bust my hump, blogging like a slave ... day in, day out.

Where's my sugar!?!

She made more on one Writing Award than I have from a year's worth of blogging.

About a week ago, she bought me a Double Quarter Pounder with Cheese, and even sprung for mayonnaise, lettuce and tomato to be added, so ... I guess that's something. :-)

Quill

You got the quill drill as a present and I salute you to for Being a proud dad !

A great tribute to your lovely daughter.
My best friend, love at first site is my husband.

@rebeccabe,

My best friend, love at first site is my husband.

That is excellent to hear ... count yourself a lucky woman.

Quill

It is all in the timing. I believe this to be true of relationships.

Love the honest retort poetry, gifted you both are @quillfire power of the pen and love.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3145.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53