The weirdest toys and games from my childhood: How a kid in the 70s killed time before the advent of cable television part one.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #humor8 years ago

I'm trying the 100% Steem Power Option... so let's see how this goes.

When I was a kid, we only had 4 television channels (or 5 if you were willing to attach a few wire coat hangers to your television). Cable or satellite TV didn't really become wide spread until I was around 13. As a result, I watched some really weird programs when I was 5 years old. Love American Style? Green Acres? Courtship of Eddie's Father? Really? I could list those all day, but this is not a post about television.

This one is about what we were willing to do in order to entertain ourselves because we couldn't just flip on the Cartoon Network any time we wanted. We had to kill approximately 16 hours per day... so my sister and I played with some pretty weird toys. These aren't the best toys. They're not the worst. They're not even the most dangerous. These are just the ones I still can't believe I played with.

I realize that for some of you, these toys have a special place in your heart. I think at the time, I loved them too. But now when I look back, I shake my head and say "I played with that? Geeze I must have been really bored".

The Lite Brite



This toy had the coolest commercials. They made it seem like you could make the most amazing pictures ... and they would light up! In reality, it consisted of a box full of about 1000 colored pegs and a black board to stick them in. So... you sat there and meticulously placed peg after peg in the board. Then you hit the switch and it lit up. Then what happened? Nothing. Nothing happened. You looked at it and your mom yelled at you to clean up because you just spent twelve hours making a picture of a boat, and now it was time for bed. And if you messed up and started placing them incorrectly, you ended up with... a series of random lines and shapes.


The Barbie Game: Queen of the Prom


I must admit that this one is probably extremely unique to me, and no other male on the planet can relate even a little bit. But when I was a kid, my sister was three years older, one foot taller, seventy pounds heavier, and infinitely meaner. We fought all the time. I don't mean argue. I mean we invented MMA in the 1970s... and I always lost. So, when I was 7, if my sister wanted to play the Barbie Game, we played the Barbie Game. If the story ended there, it would be ridiculously embarrassing... but it's worse. Far worse. Not only did my sister force me to play, she cheated. She always rigged the game so she would get to go to prom wearing the best dress and with Ken as her date. She made sure I got stuck with Poindexter.


So that was the bad part. The worse part is that I would actually cry when I got stuck with Poindexter. I'm probably the only straight guy in the world who ever yelled, "But I don't want to go to the Prom with Poindexter! Why can't I ever go with Ken?" But we were bored. So we played.


Tudor Electronic Football


No. You did not miss anything. This is really all it was. Except 10,000 times louder.

I don't mean a video game (although some really cool ones with single dots did come out when I was around 10). I mean the one that required you to spend about 17 minutes setting up one stinking play. Your opponent would do the same. Then you would flip a switch initiating the loudest and most annoying buzzing sound ever. The thin metal field would vibrate causing your players to "run". Sometimes they ran the direction you wanted. Sometimes they just spun in circles. But no matter what, nothing really happened. The game came with a quarterback that was supposed to be able to throw a 1 centimeter football... but it literally NEVER worked. And I played this game for hours. Most of the time I would play against myself (probably because my friends were smart enough to spend their time throwing tomatoes at the ice cream truck).

Pulsar


Ok I loved this toy. I actually had to get more than one because I cracked open his chest to see how it worked. I don't even know what the hell this thing was supposed to be. I think he was some kind of spy or super hero. He had a clear chest. When you pushed on his back, it caused his lungs and heart to expand and blood would be pumped around the tubes. How was this a super power? I have no freaking idea. Apparently his super power was that he had a circulatory system... like every human. You could also access his brain and insert discs. Why? No one knows. This toy really reminds me of Batman Vs Superman: Dawn of Justice. It looked cool... but made absolutely no sense at all.

Stretch Armstrong


Along the same lines as Pulsar, we have this guy. What. The. Hell. A description of this toy is going to fall way short. To truly experience the weirdness of this one, you need to feel it. The incredibly pliable fake skin was utterly disgusting to the touch. It just felt so wrong. And man could it stretch. I had a couple of twenty something year old uncles. I remember them stretching Armstrong through doorways and around tables from one end of the house to the other. One of the great mysteries of the 1970s was "What is inside of stretch Armstrong?" Thanks to my 12 inch Darth Vader's light saber, I found out. It was a really gross sticky red goo. Yeah I may switch this one from "weird" to "gross". This one might reappear if I do a dangerous toy list as well.

Colorforms


You have a cardboard background (perhaps a street or a farm). Then you have thin plastic characters and objects that would temporarily stick to the background. You would place the characters and the objects on the background. Then you would... do nothing. You would set them up in a different way. See I told you we were bored.

I'll get part two out ASAP.

Sort:  

Oh my gosh - we had all of these toys in our house. None of them were mine but I managed to swipe a few of them from my younger siblings for a few hours.
I never had the patience for Lite Brite but I loved the Spirograph!

Spirograph nearly made the list... But the. I thought about it. That was a quality toy. At least at the end you had some artwork you could keep.

Haha! I had Lite Brite too. The other games aren't familiar to me (I grew up in the 80s). But it's cool to see what a kid in the 70s did for fun! :o)

Thanks . Some were pretty ridiculous.

Wow. Lite Brite! I remember the awesome commercials for that thing. This reminds me of conversations I have with my daughter that go something like this:

daughter: Daddy, Mommy won't let me use iPad. I'm bored.
me: So go find some toys to play with.
daughter: But I don't like toys! I like iPad.
me: You don't know how lucky you are. When I was your age we didn't have fancy electronic things like iPads and iPhones.
daughter: Did you have some other kind of phone?
me: No. There were no cell phones.
daughter: No... phones? How did you watch YouTube?
me: No. And no YouTube. I watched the TV instead.
daughter: That's really weird Daddy.

can you imagine what it's going to be like for our grandchildren?!

I can imagine... but anything I imagine is likely to be wrong. Who knows what the future will bring? But I bet whatever it is will be quite exciting and different than what it's like now!

lol - your post took me back to my childhood in the 70's in the UK. I was a little fortunate that i grew up in a seaside town, so the beach was our playground all summer. Surfing was the toy, and anything would do to skim the waves. Not like it is today with aerodynamic boards! - home toys consisted of dolls, puzzles,books and "The Bounce" - orange blow up with handles that you bounced around on, and the skateboard for boys when it came in. My girls look at me as if I have come from Mars when I tell them- but we invented our own games and didnt rely on any 'technology' to entertain as it wasn't there. We actually TALKED DIRECT to friends, no texting! simple age but an outdoor one full of fun.

Ah yes talking. I remember that. I think...

Living on the beach sounds awesome!

I had a Lite Brite I got second-hand from an older cousin when I was four. I remember shocking myself a little when I plugged it in....there was no child-proofing electrical outlets in the 70's. Haha! I didn't want to play with it again after that, which is a shame, as I'd been so excited to get it.

Also, Colorforms! I haven't thought about those in years, but I played the shit out of them when I was really little.

The 70's are kind of a haze for me, but I remember some of it. Most of my childhood was spent in the 80's, which was way cool, and I regard it as a magical time. :)

I forgot about the whole electrical outlet piece. Problem with the football game as well. I still can't figure why I loved color forms so much but I played w them every day. The spider man one in the picture was my favorite.

I loved the Scooby Doo Colorforms. I could play with those for hours when I was a wee tyke. :) As is probably obvious, small children are easily amused. Or, at least they used to be. A cousin who graduated high school the same year as me now has a two year old daughter who knows how to use a smart phone better than any adult I know, and it's her main toy.

It was definitely a much simpler time.

For sure. I didn't even touch my first personal computer until I was in fifth grade, and that was only because I was in the "advanced" class. Computers didn't become a regular part of the curriculum until after I was done with grad school. I did all my college research in the library, and typed my papers on an electronic typewriter.

We did have an Atari game system when I was in third grade. My mom hated it, because it kept me, my dad, and my brother from coming to dinner when she called us. :)

It won't let me reply directly to you stephmckenzie but I wanted to let you know I'll be doing a piece that will include Atari. Man I loved those stupid games. Still have a working one in my house right now.

I loved my Lite Brite sooooo much though! Always wanted a Spirograph too.. haha. And never saw that football game, at first it reminded me of those ones you stand up and wiggle the men with handles, and they also didn't do much for the effort. Sad and depressing, in a way. Watching that vid seemed like an electronic version of just moving objects in a game with a magnet under the table too, which was another thing I spent hours doing.

The magnet thing is still something kids will actually do today. Maybe the time doesn't matter, kids do weird things for entertainment. Lol

I had all of those except the barbie game, and the stretch armstrong. I always wanted a stretch armstrong. I played with one at some friends house though and was quickly satisfied and didn't really need one after that.

I know I had a lot of weird toys too... the fact I had ALL of those except two says something.

Even Pulsar!? I have never talked to anyone else about it.

I am pretty sure I had the Pulsar. It looks really familiar. I had a lot of the big G.I. Joe dolls and accessories that are worth some money until I got older and my mom gave them away to some kids she was babysitting. I lost a lot of toys that would be worth some serious money these days that way.

My mom was the exact opposite. She sent away for 50 of every mail away star wars toy so we had a bunch of boba fetts (not firing backpack), emperors, Hologram Anakins, and others in the crawlspace of my house. I sold them in the mid 90s. Paid for a year of college that way. But I do feel your pain. The reason they are worth money... is because most moms tossed stuff out.

Brainstorming to think of toys from my youth since you and I are the same age and graduated the same year.

Rocks
Sticks
Pine Cones
Dirt
Ants
Lincoln Logs
Slinky
Cups tied together with a string as a walky talky

I owned tons of plastic army men of all kinds, until someone stole them from me.

I also had the really flat army men you could order from the back a comic book that they made look really exciting and you got them and they were super flat and a let down.

Right along with the sea monkeys. :)

Ever melt your army men? My dad actually melted about 30 of them together into a ball. It was the coolest thing ever. My dad was a little touched in the head.

Rocks! When I was in 6th grade we could leave campus for lunch... for an hour. We would go to Mr. Beef for lunch and then go to a park. One of use would fill our pockets with rocks and climb on the roof of the park building with the bathrooms. We would then throw rocks down at our friends while the others threw them at the guy on a roof. It's a miracle none of us are blind.

We threw rocks, pine cones, and sticks and used trashcan lids as shields. Invariably ended when someone went crying due to being hurt. We'd come back for more though.

I blew up army men with fire crackers, set them on fire, and I melted a big G.I. Joe doll on a stove once (got in a bit of trouble for that one).

Oh yeah. We would definitely get along.

I remember Lite Brite and Stretch Armstrong! Happy times. The cover and imagery are so evocative of a magical time. They are so 1980s.

I forgot how popular Stretch was. So many people here and in chat actually remembered that weird toy.

I enjoyed your post. Yeah, toys only got better during the 1980s.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63774.40
ETH 3406.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59