You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The weirdest toys and games from my childhood: How a kid in the 70s killed time before the advent of cable television part one.

in #humor8 years ago

Brainstorming to think of toys from my youth since you and I are the same age and graduated the same year.

Rocks
Sticks
Pine Cones
Dirt
Ants
Lincoln Logs
Slinky
Cups tied together with a string as a walky talky

I owned tons of plastic army men of all kinds, until someone stole them from me.

I also had the really flat army men you could order from the back a comic book that they made look really exciting and you got them and they were super flat and a let down.

Right along with the sea monkeys. :)

Sort:  

Ever melt your army men? My dad actually melted about 30 of them together into a ball. It was the coolest thing ever. My dad was a little touched in the head.

Rocks! When I was in 6th grade we could leave campus for lunch... for an hour. We would go to Mr. Beef for lunch and then go to a park. One of use would fill our pockets with rocks and climb on the roof of the park building with the bathrooms. We would then throw rocks down at our friends while the others threw them at the guy on a roof. It's a miracle none of us are blind.

We threw rocks, pine cones, and sticks and used trashcan lids as shields. Invariably ended when someone went crying due to being hurt. We'd come back for more though.

I blew up army men with fire crackers, set them on fire, and I melted a big G.I. Joe doll on a stove once (got in a bit of trouble for that one).

Oh yeah. We would definitely get along.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 67059.35
ETH 2672.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72