Guns, Kids, and a Hard Look at our Culture

in #humanity6 years ago (edited)

This has been brewing for a while, and is more serious than my usual posts, but this is important. It needs to be discussed. I welcome your ideas in the comments.

I avoid the news like the plague, mainly because it’s depressing, but I can’t help but hear about the school shootings that have taken place. Born in the States, I live in Canada now, where this kind of thing doesn’t seem to occur—at least not in the horrifying numbers happening in the USA.

Children killing other children is more than heartbreaking, more than tragic, it’s a signal that something is seriously wrong with our society.

We need more hugs, less hurt.


But before I go into my thoughts on the subject, a disclaimer:


To those of you who prefer to be armed, I’m not here to take away your guns.

I don’t think having a police state with an unarmed populace is a good thing. The revolutionary in me would rather have an America that can defend itself against tyranny.

Of course, I’d rather see a diplomatic approach.

But the reality is there are so many guns in the USA that taking them away from people isn’t necessarily the answer. Especially since most of the people who would voluntarily give them up are the ones we probably don’t need to worry about.

Guns are tools. Like anything, they can be misused.

I do think firearms should be harder to get, that there should be screening processes, that people should have to prove they know how to operate weapons and that they can be responsible with them before they’re allowed to have them, but that’s not what I want to focus on here.

I want to talk about the chilling reality that kids play with guns and other weapons—that they make a game of killing—and the fact that there isn’t enough support for them mentally and emotionally.


Can we please stop playing at murder?


Let’s start with a story:

The last time I was in New Orleans, my family and I went to City Park for the afternoon. We enjoyed the Live Oaks, the green grass, the birds, and the pleasant weather.

Then a group of children ran past us, boys and girls, all of them with toy guns. The ages ranged from about 7 to 14 years old.

These kids made a game of shooting at each other. I remember clearly how serious one of the boys was as he shouted, “I killed you!” over and over again.

It disturbed me.

This might seem normal to many people, but I don’t think it should be. If children play at killing each other, it isn’t that big a leap for them to actualize their games.

I never had toy guns as a girl. My family has never had guns, so obviously my perspective is different than someone who grew up around them.

I do remember playing with a friend’s toy rifle, and how exciting it was to run around the neighborhood hunting one another. It was thrilling! But I think that’s messed up. We need to find different ways to create excitement.

More examples:

How many video games focus on combat? How many shoot-em-up movies are children watching from a young age?

Violence is glamorized. Soldiers are heroes. Killing is badass. This is the message our society teaches.

And yes, soldiers are often heroes, but they also tend to return from combat with PTSD.

The fact that so many movies and video games are centered around killing is a real problem, for children and adults alike. It normalizes homicide.

At least Harley Quinn has a baseball bat in this gif, rather than a gun in her hand. But she’s sexy, it’s true. I laughed watching Suicide Squad. I enjoy action movies. Maybe I’m numb to violence in Hollywood, but I'm not sure that's a good thing, and I believe it affects children.


Mental and emotional health.


Confession: I hated being a kid.

As an only child with a good deal of intelligence but poor social skills, I ended up being bullied. I didn’t have a thick skin. Kids teased me non-stop, because they knew they could get a rise out of me, and it hurt to be the outcast.

I lived a very lonely life. I can only assume most of the children who are desperate enough to take a gun and turn it on their peers are also lonely.

My first thoughts of suicide were in grade four. Thankfully, I’ve gotten past contemplating that way out, but I’m glad there wasn’t a gun in my parents’ house. I doubt I’d have used it, but it would’ve made it a lot easier had I decided to go that route.

My story isn’t unique, nor did I have it as bad as a lot of other kids do. There are countless children (and adults) suffering from emotional and mental issues. And they need support!

There are too many kids in schools with not enough staff. Teachers are underpaid and overworked.

Many parents are overwhelmed, struggling to get by. Maybe they have mental health issues themselves. They don’t have enough time for their kids, or spend their free time pulled into a screen rather than in thoughtful dialogue and family activities.

The younger generation also tends to have a ton of screen time. Does this help us be human? It’s a topic for another conversation, and again, every tool can be misused, but I believe it factors into mental and emotional health. Connection is key.

Remember, if you see someone suffering, a small kindness can make all the difference.

Often that suffering is kept so bottled up we can’t see it. Be compassionate, smile at strangers, and do what you can to make the world a friendlier place.

And if you’re struggling, please reach out! All of us know what it is to be alone, and more people deal with depression and mental illness than we realize. It’s okay to need help, it’s more than okay to ask for it. There’s no need to suffer alone.


Unnecessary pressure.


The pressure put on children in and out of school is unbelievable.

How about we let them be kids instead of labeling them based on test results?

How about we give them time to play and relax instead of scheduling activities every day?

How about we let them explore the world rather than asking them to decide what they want to do with the rest of their lives when they’re still figuring out who they are?

Yes, we all live with stress, but I think we need to reevaluate our priorities. Children aren’t programmed to sit in seats and memorize things, they’re wired to run around and learn from the world through experience.

Honestly, all of these points apply to adults as well. If we’re healthy, spending more time outside, getting enough exercise rather than working our lives away, we’re happier. And a lot less likely to commit a crime.


Enough with the US vs. THEM.


I think the biggest problem lies in the mentality that we are separate from each other. It’s the people who feel ignored, abandoned, disliked or hated who tend to snap and take it out on those who hurt them. Or, in the case of hate crimes, the people who feel they are better than others.

We are all interconnected.

It takes a village to raise a child, and that includes other children. We need to teach them how to share, how to accept one another, and how to communicate to settle disagreements.

We need to learn how to do this as adults, as well.

Our world has been at war for a very long time. Yes, part of human nature is violence, but it is imbalanced to an extreme. The war machine is profitable, but it is killing children and adults alike. Is that worth it? I don’t think so.

We need to reach out to one another rather than being afraid of those who are different than us. When we do, often we find we’re more alike than we thought.

We need to stop focusing on boarders and fences, stop being suspicious of each other and make friends instead.

As adults, we model the things our children learn. I suggest we focus on kindness, on helping each other, on including everyone rather than lifting up a few and letting others fall by the wayside.

Our future, and the future of our children, depends on it.


What do you think?


I don’t pretend to have all the answers, but I’ve been thinking a lot about these points and I hope I did a decent job laying them out.

I’d love to hear your thoughts on the subject. Even though it isn’t a happy one, this is a discussion that needs to be had so change can come about.

Thank you for reading!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel
(all gifs via giphy)


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steemit.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


IOW COLOR LOGO.png
Banner by @PegasusPhysics

Steemsugars

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES

Sort:  

I grew up with guns. I am in a family of military and police people so seeing and handling guns was something normal for us.

I don't carry though even if I can be issued a carry license because I believe that things can be resolved logically and having access to a gun may give someone the option to use it instead.

I believe that things can be resolved logically and having access to a gun may give someone the option to use it instead.

^^ This! I agree strongly with this statement.

It's a difficult issue.

Less Guns vs. Rights of people.
There's some to be said for both sides... but, mostly, I wonder about the anger behind the shootings? How do we solve that issue?

Exactly. The root cause is not the guns, it's the anger, the hurt. And it would help if there were less weapons available, but someone who is angry will find another tool if necessary. It's the motivation to act out that needs to be examined, in my opinion.

Guns are tools. Like anything, they can be misused.

Before I even started any kind of schooling, and maybe it was because I had good parenting, I learned that GUNS ARE NOT TOYS. Both of my parents were in the military and every member of my family I can think of is a hunter. Even my grandma was and aunts and own mother. Guns were common place, we had learned early on about proper respect for the tools they were meant to be. They serve as a better means than a spear to hunt or even a bow and arrow. And, they are also meant for protection.


I think the biggest problem with 'kids these days' isn't necessarily the kids, but the lack of education they receive from parents and schools. We had gun safety courses when I was growing up (and completed with flying colors) that was mandatory starting at 11 years old. Like in that interview @jonny-clearwater had with @freedompoint and something I touched on elsewhere... respect for your elders and all. The television and handheld video games and devices have become the norm and almost replaced interaction altogether.


That's not love. That's not responsibility. That's blatant ignorance and if anyone wants to point fingers at people, they need to go look in the mirror and evaluate themselves first to see if they're doing a good job in their own endeavors. It's easy to place blame, it's more difficult and challenging to accept responsibility.

- Witty

I think the biggest problem with 'kids these days' isn't necessarily the kids, but the lack of education they receive from parents and schools. We had gun safety courses when I was growing up (and completed with flying colors) that was mandatory starting at 11 years old.

Wow! Yes on people needing to be better educated, on guns and a whole slew of other things. Also, yes, it's a lot harder to accept responsibility, but it is absolutely necessary. Being able to have functional relationships is perhaps the most important thing we can learn in life. Interaction is so important.

The things that we teach the kids has a greater infuence....it is upto the parents to mould them and help them to be a good human being

Yes, I do think the parents play a large roll, but I also think parents need more support and more time to focus on family. And our culture needs to change, so what kids learn when they're not with parents is more conducive to peaceful ways to resolve issues.

I was born in the same surroundings as @Nikolina. We were raised through war and saw first hand what was the actual purpose of weapons. Here we have much stricter rules on weapons and who can have them, where you can buy them and so on. We don't have that narrow-minded 2nd amendment mentality that I feel sometimes fogs American perspective on weapons. Such mass school shootings your children endure daily are generally unheard of here. I feel sorry for your kids sometimes. I hear American children say they expect school shootings and find that very sad.

Until one person's right to own guns trumps other persons right to life and safety I think you as a nation will be stuck in a loop of mass violence.

I agree there are also other things that should be calculated into the equation like capitalism, mental health issues, racial and gender-based hatred and so on but you really should start from legislating weapons, in my opinion, and work on the other stuff as you go.

I hear you on the legislating weapons issue. And I do think there need to be better gun laws. But I also think the expectation—the acceptance that shootings are almost a normal thing, that's messed up. And that's a cultural thing. There are some very clear statistics about shootings and the gun laws in different countries. It is clear that there are far less shootings in countries where carrying a gun is illegal, but good luck getting Americans to give them up. shakes head

Thanks for taking the time to comment. Peace!

Found a recent article - if anyone is really interested in stopping school shootings, here is the info you NEED: https://www.thenewamerican.com/usnews/crime/item/28307-from-prozac-to-parkland-are-psychiatric-drugs-causing-mass-shootings

This information has been available for almost a decade, doctors are still feeding people this poison and the lie that goes with it.

My dad was working in the police when I was a kid and I used to watch him clean the gun (if that's the proper term) but I always had to keep my distance even though I never even thought about playing with that thing because I knew it wasn't a toy. However, my 13 years older brother played with the gun once and the gun shot into the closet, there is still a bullet hole there and he never touched it again in his life. For me, as a kid, it was a reminder that guns are not meant to play with.

I was born in Croatia just few months before the war started so when I was about 6, I was playing with the wooden gun my brother made me and it was fun back then. I also remember the story about two brothers who went to the nature/woods in the village where we used to live and they found post war guns and one of them shot the other by accident in the leg.

Then few months after we moved to Serbia, NATO bombing started, something I don't like to remember. I don't watch TV or news because they are filled with reports about violence. I've noticed that the teenage agression is a real problem here in Serbia - kids in school stab or beat each other up. They go out, get drunk and look for a fight. Sometimes I honestly feel scared of having and rasing a child, and to feel that way makes me sad.

Also the number of murders within family/marriage is something I cannot process in my mind. "Husband killed his wife and then himself" and jealousy being the main reason is also something you can hear a lot around here and it's disturbing.

Another thing I want to mention are Hollywood movie scenes where someone goes to a shop and buys a gun, it always looked to easy in the USA.

Sorry for my long, random and all over the place comment. :)

So many valid points in this comment. I can only imagine how having been in an area dealing with war would shift the way you see violence/weapons. Makes it a lot more real than Hollywood. Thank you for sharing your perspective. Peace to you. 💖

At my Oregon high school, every kid had a hunting rifle in the truck ZERO shootings on campus.

So that's a pretty profound statement. Goes along with Witty's comment above in that education around guns helps people be safer with them. Also, the link you posted here makes TOTAL sense. Medication can mess with your mind and chemistry. I have a friend who lost her parents to a murder-suicide. Her father was on meds that were later proven to cause psychosis. I realize that medication can be helpful and sometimes lifesaving, but I think it's more important to use counselling and other methods of support for mental health issues... natural means of balance would also be preferable, and likely not come with as many side effects.

The drugs nearly made me kill myself, left me bat shit crazy and unable to function for over a year and all the doctors were telling me I had to get back on them. That was before the label was forced onto the bottle.
The empty feeling I had left me able to think about killing others with NO EMOTION. I did not WANT to hurt anyone but me, but I often considered driving into oncoming traffic without a thought for the other cars. My own family ignored my warnings and ten years later my brother, who swore by his "happy pill" put a bullet in his brain.
They leave people NUMB. Some consider that an improvement over their internal turmoil but it is NOT a cure for anything.
Sorry, I am a little touchy about this topic... I was a healthcare professional, trained to spot drug reactions and when I had one that was making me suicidal I got labelled "crazy" and the drugs keep getting passed out like candy.

A beautiful post honey, and very thought-provoking. I do not like guns, never had and if I had magic superpowers, the first thing I would do is make ALL the guns disappear, and I mean ALL. People would be fighting with sticks and stones, maybe spears if they are really really intelligent and healthy enough. I say healthy because since I know that I do not have such magical powers, I believe the world would be a much safer place if there was a mandatory psych test every year for those who own guns. If you pass the test, you get to keep your gun. If you fail, you lose it. Too many crazy people are armed. Far too many.

Yes. Yes yes yes. I'm not in favour of taking the guns away from the populace when the government is so heavily armed. That said, it would be better if we could just get rid of all the guns. As for psych tests, that's an excellent idea. Also, as @fishyculture wrote above, if people are on meds for mental health issues, that needs to be taken into account. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #148 (5/28/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54733.25
ETH 2475.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15