You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Guns, Kids, and a Hard Look at our Culture

in #humanity6 years ago (edited)

Guns are tools. Like anything, they can be misused.

Before I even started any kind of schooling, and maybe it was because I had good parenting, I learned that GUNS ARE NOT TOYS. Both of my parents were in the military and every member of my family I can think of is a hunter. Even my grandma was and aunts and own mother. Guns were common place, we had learned early on about proper respect for the tools they were meant to be. They serve as a better means than a spear to hunt or even a bow and arrow. And, they are also meant for protection.


I think the biggest problem with 'kids these days' isn't necessarily the kids, but the lack of education they receive from parents and schools. We had gun safety courses when I was growing up (and completed with flying colors) that was mandatory starting at 11 years old. Like in that interview @jonny-clearwater had with @freedompoint and something I touched on elsewhere... respect for your elders and all. The television and handheld video games and devices have become the norm and almost replaced interaction altogether.


That's not love. That's not responsibility. That's blatant ignorance and if anyone wants to point fingers at people, they need to go look in the mirror and evaluate themselves first to see if they're doing a good job in their own endeavors. It's easy to place blame, it's more difficult and challenging to accept responsibility.

- Witty

Sort:  

I think the biggest problem with 'kids these days' isn't necessarily the kids, but the lack of education they receive from parents and schools. We had gun safety courses when I was growing up (and completed with flying colors) that was mandatory starting at 11 years old.

Wow! Yes on people needing to be better educated, on guns and a whole slew of other things. Also, yes, it's a lot harder to accept responsibility, but it is absolutely necessary. Being able to have functional relationships is perhaps the most important thing we can learn in life. Interaction is so important.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53406.14
ETH 2398.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15