You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Guns, Kids, and a Hard Look at our Culture

in #humanity6 years ago

I was born in the same surroundings as @Nikolina. We were raised through war and saw first hand what was the actual purpose of weapons. Here we have much stricter rules on weapons and who can have them, where you can buy them and so on. We don't have that narrow-minded 2nd amendment mentality that I feel sometimes fogs American perspective on weapons. Such mass school shootings your children endure daily are generally unheard of here. I feel sorry for your kids sometimes. I hear American children say they expect school shootings and find that very sad.

Until one person's right to own guns trumps other persons right to life and safety I think you as a nation will be stuck in a loop of mass violence.

I agree there are also other things that should be calculated into the equation like capitalism, mental health issues, racial and gender-based hatred and so on but you really should start from legislating weapons, in my opinion, and work on the other stuff as you go.

Sort:  

I hear you on the legislating weapons issue. And I do think there need to be better gun laws. But I also think the expectation—the acceptance that shootings are almost a normal thing, that's messed up. And that's a cultural thing. There are some very clear statistics about shootings and the gun laws in different countries. It is clear that there are far less shootings in countries where carrying a gun is illegal, but good luck getting Americans to give them up. shakes head

Thanks for taking the time to comment. Peace!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62630.85
ETH 2463.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61