MAKING GORGEOUS GOATS MILK PRODUCTS

in #howto6 years ago

Goshna Kids 456.JPG

To tide us over the dry winter months I always freeze extra buckets of my goats nutritious organic milk - this is to make cheeses and yoghurt. I also measure off and freeze the exact portions required to continue making goats milk soaps. Because of the chemical process of saponification which causes the soap batch to reach high temperatures the goats milk needs to be at least partially frozen or it curdles (and ultimately flops) the soap. This week has already seen me busy with soap making as well as yummy cheeses.

Halloumi2.JPG

Whether you want to benefit from bathing with moisturising goats milk soap, or enjoy eating it, the value of goats milk is endless: It is a natural antioxidant and high in amino acids as well as unsaturated fatty acids which break down dead skin cells. Goats Milk is anti-bacterial as well as being a natural alkaliser. Goats Milk contains selenium and zinc which fight sun damage. It is also packed with vitamins; particularly vitamin A which repairs damaged tissue and reduces wrinkles. The pH of Goats Milk is very close to that of humans. It is also a prebiotic, so if you eat it as cheese or yoghurt you get the double benefit of pre- and pro-biotic!

Cream cheese.JPG

My favourite goats milk cheese is halloumi. The bonus is that the byproduct of the halloumi making process is ricotta! And I love using ricotta to bake quiche or even cheesecake although the best for cheesecake is the goats milk cream cheese. Ricotta is naturally sweet and crumbly compared to the more moist cream cheese. Although we are on rations at the moment we still get to enjoy the wonderful goats milk products as we watch the goatie tummies swell with advancing pregnancy. Soon the precious kids will be delighting us with their antics.

Steemit baby Sarah.JPG

Sort:  

So very appetizing!

Thanks to @paradigmprospect, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Thank you so much for your imput. And thanks to @paradigmprospect for the resteem

Wonderful post sister. Hallelujah for His endless blessings. I am learning so much from you and your homestead, I'm praying for a blessed homestead like yours.

Praying for abundant blessings from the Most High to you and yours. I haven't had the luxury of drinking goat's milk, eating goat's cheese and bathing in goat's milk soap. Wow, soon though we will have the homestead ready for goats and we can enjoy the fruits of our labor.

Seeing your post gives me hope. Thank you.

@lovenfreedom thank you for such an enthusiastic comment. I am really delighted that you can benefit from my posts. To be honest it is not at all easy and not exactly the sunshine and daisies I always portray. I think I must do a post of the challenges of homesteading. Especially our adverse conditions. I believe we ARE blessed. And it is all praise to the Most High Who sustains us

I understand it's not all easy and smooth flowing because we experience that here too. I think every homesteader living simple and trying to live simple will encounter challenges and that just adds to the wisdom. And wisdom comes out of your posts.

We can complain from the challenges but I guess we can just tell it like it is and write about what did our challenges teach us.

Good point! And thanks that you feel wisdom comes from my posts. I appreciate the interaction with each other. Especially when we can understand the shared joys and sorrows of the journey

Oh my, goats cheese..my favorite. I can't believe you make your own. What a luxury. And soap? Is the process difficult? I have always wanted to do both but haven't had access to goats! Love the little one :) Thanks for the share.

Once you get over the whole "chemical" (soap) and "culture" (cheese) side of things both are surprisingly easy. It's just a time consuming thing. And both processes need to follow specific times as well as temperatures. You can't start and pick up later if you get interrupted. Both are extremely rewarding!

Love goats milk soap. Makes your skin feel so smooth and clean. Did not know freezing it would help. Thanks for the info.

Sure! I found even really chilled it can burn or flop once you add the caustic soda. I freeze it in the right quantities then partially defrost - at least enough to bash it into chips before making the soap

howdy there @buckaroo! I've never had goat milk or cheese and I didn't even know about goat soap until I read about it on here! How productive goats are! great photos bytheyway. God bless you guys!

Thank you. My goats are amazing. The soap is wonderful. I make it with goats milk saponified with extra virgin coconut, castor and olive oil plus the different essential oils

well that sounds totally awesome, and did you say that you sell it locally for a side income?

Yes I do. My goats (specifically their milk) used to be my main income. But I sadly sold most of them due to the drought - I mentioned to you previously - so now the goats milk soaps and body butters are the side income....

yes Ma'am now I remember, how long as the drought been going on and is that normal from time to time there? ya'll need a well down there.

Not at all! The old farmers are saying in their 70 and 80 years they've never experienced such a drought

howdy today @buckaroo! well, that's a little bit alarming, I'm sorry to hear about that. you guys stay safe down there, are there any dangerous snakes in your area?

Congratulations @buckaroo! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Day 4


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

We have meat goats, but I have a dairy cow. She's being bred now, but once she calves and has tons of milk I'm hoping to learn new ways to use her milk. I love the pic of the kid nursing❤️

That was baby Sarah. You can probably quite successfully make more of the harder, mature cheeses. I find goats milk best for the soft cheeses (cream, feta, halloumi) although they were originally made from goats milk. Cow milk makes great cheddar and gouda

Never used goat milk soap before, how does that differ from other homemade soaps?

Well homemade is definitely preferably to store bought simply because it is usually preservative and petrochemical free. My goats milk soaps are not just goats milk. That makes up the liquid part (essential in saponification) and then the fat part is extra virgin olive, coconut and castor oil plus different essential oils. So not only does the soap clean but it moisturises and protects your skin! Originally soap was made to clean AND moisturise. These days store bought soap strips the body of impurities but also the essentials. That's one reason so many have skin problems

I have seen that it does strip the body...I suppose that is on purpose so they can sell the product that puts it back on the skin!

Probably. Sadly so many people are ignorant about the products they use. And if it causes a problem they spend so much money finding a solution when it MAY simply be that they should use a natural product

Congratulations @buckaroo! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Let's go for the Quarter-Finals


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57979.07
ETH 3124.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36