How to Help Orphaned Kittens Pee and Poop

in #howto7 years ago

I get animals dropped off on my doorstep constantly. A couple of years ago two three day old kittens were taken from their mother and abandoned. They ended up on my porch. I am the go to rescue in the area. Everyone knows that even when my home is full of abused and neglected pets- even when my No Vacancy sign is up- I still will never turn anyone away.

marley steemit.png

Me & Marley, three weeks old

These two little black and white kits were dehydrated and near death. Their bellies were distended meaning they were full of poo. A not well known fact is that infant kittens must be stimulated in order to urinate and defecate. So even though they had not eaten for 8 hours it appeared, they were near death from the toxins and being full and needing to go.

baby marley and mo.jpg

Marley and Gizmo, two weeks old

This was the emergent need, so I got a warm, wet washcloth and gently massaged their genital areas. It had been some time since this had been done so there was quite a lot that came out. Naturally, this is the mothers job, she will use her tongue to get the job done. Later I restocked some chemical free baby wipes- they are perfect for rescuing infant pets.

Kittens must be stimulated to eliminate after each bottle feeding. I also do it after they wake up from their naps. They should pee after every bottle, and only poop a few times a day which lessens as they get older.

Be careful with your pressure, they do not need much- think mama cat’s tongue. And be sure to dry the area, I use a soft tissue or cotton balls and blot. Baby kittens are as sensitive as human infants- remember they are brand new to the Earth!


Marley and Gizmo now, still inseperable :)

And if you have any concerns or issues, never hesitate to call your local veterinarian.

Please support your local home rescue! We take the overflow from the shelters and do our best so no animals get put down unnecessarily. And we do it all from our own pocket. Anything helps!

shaded line.jpeg

I appreciate your support :)

With Love and Light and Good Mojo to my Tribe!

ufr.gif

In case you missed these stellar posts by @ArbitraryKitten :)

animated-heart-image-0104

animated-arrow-image-0314Steemit Musicians! Get Your Original Music Heard on the Radio!
~
Help me name my radio show!
~
2 Down, 2 to go- one of Kittens kittens joined STEEMIT! Please welcome my handsome son John, aka @juggernaught !
~
What are You Doing?
~
My son joined Steemit!
~
From Hedonist Addict to Inspired Family Man- a Conversation with @Papa-Pepper part 2
~
This Company will send you on vacation just for talking with students!
~
The Secret to Eternal Youth
~
Inspiration Weekend- Do it for YOU!
~
Let's Talk About Sex!
~
Firestar
~
Everyday Erotica 5
~
An Inside Look at the Life of a Writer
~
I'm Moving to Theory!
~
How to Split Your Steemit Earnings Between Two Authors Automatically

buttons upvote resteem.gif

Sort:  

Babe, you are so awesome. ❤️

Awe, gratzie' my kind Sir :)

You will be blessed more than you ever imagined for the wonderful work you do to look after these kitties. Thank you

Awe, thank you. That means a lot, you make my heart warm <3

you are amazing human being!

Awe, thank you so much <3

A female cat is called a queen or a molly.

Yes! She is a queen if she has not been spayed yet.

The cat appears to be the only domestic companion animal not mentioned in the Bible.

Cats were associated with Egyptians and the Israelites don't like Egyptians so they kept cats out of the bible. Thankfully, a new Bible has been published in order to make amends to cats and lovers of cats. I suggest reading the King James Bible followed by the LOL Cat Bible.

Cats are extremely sensitive to vibrations. Cats are said to detect earthquake tremors 10 or 15 minutes before humans can.

I had one in Seattle who freaked out during Fukishima...

A cat will tremble or shiver when it is extreme pain.

And sometimes even lash out and bite their beloved owner, so be careful!

@royrodgers has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

This is so important to know about the distended bellies as a sign that baby needs help going to the bathroom. Sweet kitties. I need to make sure my mother-in-law knows.

Now they get what I call "Buddha bellies" when they are full of milk. You will be able to tell the difference after caring for them. But- when in doubt, try gentle massage in case the baby needs to go. I know what it feels like after a long car trip and I need to go- not pleasant! lol

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ArbitraryKitten from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Thank you for this post! Last year I rescued a sick kitten from behind my shop. I didn't know about stimulating him to go to the toilet, but he was affectionate and I had him with me a lot so I think that was enough stimulation. The only thing I noticed was that he didn't poop until he had been with me for over 3 weeks, which I was curious (and concerned) about. Eventually he grew to be a healthy, happy cat. (And then broke my heart by dying of an undetermined accident 7 months later.)

That is concerning, and I am honestly surprised he made it without pooing! Poor guy :( Both of you. Hugs <3

He was very skinny and very sick. He had cat flu and it damaged one eye so he was half blind but he turned out to be the most awesome cat ever.



Oh my goodness, what a sweet little doll.

He will love on you again, across the rainbow bridge <3

Ah!! You are so kind to do this! Poor little babies 💓

I can't not do this <3 Seriously, lol, my kids and I laugh about this but one time a few years ago we had 23 cats and kittens, a lizard and a snake, a hamster, a rabbit, and a crack dog. All rescues- only three were resident pets of ours... At the same time

For six weeks!!!

My son is @juggernaught and my #1 rescue helper <3

Congratulations @arbitrarykitten , we r much excited to know about it, wonderful job you have done.

Thank you so much :) I appreciate that <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60991.51
ETH 3361.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48