Carrots, Swede’s Seeds Going In & Pepper and Broadbean Update - The Container Veggie Patch With Pumpkins and Cats

in #homesteadingonline6 years ago (edited)

We’ve had a good few days of decent sunshine in North Wales, so like many of us I got out in the Garden.

My weekend started with checking on the Broadbeans, they had got bit battered,bit had grew an extra stem each, so I chopped back each broken one so I am now left with 2 shorter plants.

30962745_10156651744224505_658023701_o.jpg

Next I moved onto checking my Peppers, the Alberto Rotoco Pepper is doing really well and so is the Orange Bell. There is also one other popping up too!

30850043_10156651776394505_812881901_o.jpg

The hard part starts here, riddling 150 litres of compost for my Carrots! This was hard going but essential for growing straight carrots.

30922075_10156651744234505_892863109_o.jpg

There under there soon to come through hopefully.

30825756_10156651744259505_1324531879_o.jpg

As usual I have done a mix of Purple and Orange Carrots using the Heirloom seeds. These carrots have always done well for me = D

30994616_10156651756589505_1278802811_o.jpg

The Container Veggie Patch With Pumpkins and Cats

u5dqrcuxnbtqxt2wfj4l13ded2kjt6.jpg
#1 2018 Garden Plan and Overview
#2 Broadbeans and Peppers - My Container Veggie Patch With Pumpkinsandcats
#3 All Hail The First Germinated Seed of 2018 - The Container Garden With PumpkinsandCats
#4 Broadbeans are go! - The Container Garden With PumpkinsandCats
#5 Alberto Locoto Rocoto Pepper Germination & Garden Update
#6 Planting Broadbeans Outside and Planter Preperation - The Container Garden With PumpkinsandCats
#7 Peppers Attempt 2 - The Container Garden With Pumpkins and Cats
#8 Pepper Seed Sprouting! The Container Veggie Patch With Pumpkins and Cats
#9 Carrots, Swede’s Seeds Going In & Pepper and Broadbean Update - The Container Veggie Patch With Pumpkins and Cats
2017 Garden Review

Steemit UK Discord Server

Invite Address
https://discord.gg/jNmgBW4

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com/

The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

I was able to be outside all day yesterday Got both greenhouses up, cleaned and ready to go. This week I will be moving things outside.

I'm anxious to see your Dragon Purple carrots!!! Have you grown those before?

Yeah i've grown these before. They do really well and a tasty carrot.

On my 2017 post in my footer you'll see them.

I like how you are posting your progress with your entire garden, awesome!

Thank You! I am trying to include as much as I can!

I am starting to really "dig" your gardening posts. Get it... I was finally able to get out yesterday and replant a tulip for my wife. I did some tooling around my own garden as well. My parents have a raised garden where they use frosting buckets to grow their stuff at waist level. I am going to steal one and cut the bottom out so I can give my plants more room for the roots to grow. I discovered the other day that about a foot below the surface of my garden is a solid layer of large rocks!

Haha like the joke!

Awww how lovely, my Mum loves tulips too.

Good for drainage those extra big rocks for sure! I also heard of this by cutting out the bottom for extra depth.

Theres another type called no dig gardening where you pile up lines of soil/compost.

Yes, I have seen that before too. I don't have the square footage for that though!

I am glad to hear someone else is also growing their won plants. I also grow peppers, I have planted six different varieties this year.

Oh brilliant! How have they come on? My first batch were a disaster more luck second time around.

They are still very young, but they are growing really well. I transplanted them yesterday in their individual pots :)

Happy Sunday! This comment is to inform you that your article has been linked/featured in the most recent issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter! Thank you and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58474.85
ETH 2500.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39