Broadbeans are go! - The Container Garden With PumpkinsandCats

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Good Evening,

Welcome to the 3rd post on The Container Garden. It's been a long few days waiting for some changes in the garden so that I can upload some progress photos.

But at last I am pleased to say I have something to share with you all.

Broadbeans

12 days after depositing the Broadbean seeds into the soil I finally have an update for you all on them.

I came down this morning and as usual checked on the seeds and wahoo I can see little shoots coming. They will be up by tomorrow I hope with their leafy tops beginning to emerge.

In the picture they are a bit dry as they needed a water = D On good note, the toilet roll eco plant pots are doing well and are staying strong despite regular watering.

Two out of 3 out so far, I suspect the third will follow tomorrow.

Peppers

I was getting disappointed thinking my pepper seeds are failing however I checked the seed packed and it confirmed they can take up to 3 weeks to germinate.

They are a rare variety so I hope that within the next 12 to 15 days I see some roots coming.

I still have them placed in a bag on top of the boiler it seems to be a good temperature.

With the first Orange Bell Pepper that germinated I repotted it into a plant pot and have left on the window sill in a sunny spot.


The Container Veggie Patch With Pumpkins and Cats

#1 2018 Garden Plan and Overview

#2 Broadbeans and Peppers - My Container Veggie Patch With Pumpkinsandcats

#3All Hail The First Germinated Seed of 2018 - The Container Garden With PumpkinsandCats

#4 Broadbeans are go! - The Container Garden With PumpkinsandCats

#5 First Sweet Aji Pepper Germinated - The Container Garden With PumpkinsandCats

2017 Garden Review

Sort:  

Looking good!!!
I have about seven more weeks till I start mine.

Its getting there, taking its time. How come 7 weeks? Still snowy or too cold?

Your season must last a lot longer than ours then?

Yeah... still cold here. We don' get the winter reprieve until late March.
Although on May 8, 1989 we had snow here... it was the day before my oldest daughter was born.

Oh wow!!!!! Where are you again in the world?

USA- Michigan
We are under a winter storm advisory until this evening- another 2-4 inches of snow today.... grrr

Ohhh so very heavy snow. Isn't Michigan near where they had a bit of a fracking crisis with fresh drinking water? Or have I got the wrong place?

Flint Michigan had lead in their water- but Flint is quite a ways from me. BIG lawsuits and people got fired and went to court over the issue.

Ahhhh! Sorry my geography is shite!

Just planted my pepper and chilli today! Also some chard and lettuce that needed using up. Hopeful I have some result to post soon too 💯🐒

Ohh fantastic!!! Hopefully wont be a long wait. What varietys did you plant?

Not 100% sure the seeds I saved from my organic veg box so thats all I know! 💯🐒

I have tried peppers in a container and when I put proper supports they took off!

Oh supports must be essential then!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57621.01
ETH 3094.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32