Bounties Of The Land Video/Article Episode 14: Wintertime Cilantro, A Culinary Delight & Renowned Medicinal Detox.

in #homesteading6 years ago

Greetings!



Welcome to another episode of Bounties of The Land. In this episode I focus on cilantro because it is one of our winter crops here in The Garden of Eden and because @gardenofeden has been doing a really important and extensive series on mercury poising and also how to detox and heal from this common yet extremely dangerous problem. 



Cilantro is known as both a culinary and medicinal herb. Used to flavor many dishes world wide, especially in the Mediterranean, and Mexican food, it also boast detoxing abilities for heavy metals like mercury.



Commonly known as "leaf coriander", you can use both the leaf and seed of this plant for eating or health benefits.



A few specific health benefits:

Both Its leaves and seeds contain many essential volatile oils such as borneol, linalool, cineole, cymene, terpineol, di-pentene, phellandrene, pinene, and terpinolene.

Cilantro has no cholesterol, but all the vitamins, antioxidants and minerals housed in the deep green leaves carry the ability to help reduce the "bad cholesterol".



Most people don't know that cilantro is a rich source of both Vitamin A and Vitamin K. It contains 6,748 IU of vitamin-A per 100 g, about 225% of recommended daily intake. And about 258% of the vitamin K DRL. In addition to all these others:

This backyard herb provides (% of RDA/100g):
15% of folates, 
11% of vitamin B-6 (pyridoxine), 
45% of vitamin C, 
225% of vitamin A, 
258% of vitamin K, 
22% of iron and 
18% of manganese. 



One of the best parts about this humble plant is its ability to pull heavy metals stored deep in the tissue and organs of the body for detoxification of this toxic waste.



You can find the recap post on mercury here and if you check @gardenofeden you can find the two most recent posts on the actual detox protocols. If you are not very well educated on these matters then it is a MUST read. Your and peoples health you care about are on the line and it is far more common than people know. 



So besides being very nutritious and well renowned for detox cilantro is also a culinary delight! It has many uses for both health and culinary purposes and is quite easy to grow. 



Here is the 5 minute video I recorded today on harvesting this cilantro from our beyond organic garden. Always remember that when you are harvesting greens or herbs to pick the stems at the bottom but to not pull up the roots. The plant will continue to put up more and more shoots and the picking actually stimulates new growth. If you pull the roots then the plant will not produce any more cilantro and you will have to plant it again. 



Special thanks to @everlove for filming this episode for me. Be sure to check out her content as it is truly some of the most original, artistic and inspired content on Steemit!




I hope you enjoy this bounty of the land Episode! If you would like to check out my last Bounties of The Land Episode where I discuss the world renound SUPER FOOD MORINGA.

Stay tuned for the rest of my SPECIAL Bounties of the Land Episodes from Europe which I recorded during my SteemFest Adventures coming soon!



I love life and am dedicated to creating a better world for all creatures not just human consumption and wealth. Nature provides everything we need and is a fined tuned eco system of which is being destroyed daily. I hope you join me in upgraded care for the whole balance of life it self~(~




I am now doing 50/50 payout posts simply because the SBD is so insanely high atm moment but I will be converting it all to $teem and powering up of course!



I appreciate your support and am grateful to be here on Steemit. I welcome any feedback you have to offer as well as an up vote!

SteemOn!


Sort:  

This is very inspiring, I have wanted to start my own farm for some time now and cilantro will definitely be growing on that farm now! Thank you so much for sharing!

A wise choice!

So glad to inspire!

I think so too! Keep up the good work! (:

I will!

Hope to see you around soon!

That black and white shot near the end, awesome. Great post too. I love growing this stuff!

Thanks Boomster!!!

Great to see ya around, if you want I can squeeze you some cilantro juice through my socks ;-)>

hahahaahahahhahahaha

Hahaha, oh no,,, no!!!

Socks are officially banned!! :0D

hahahahaha ok ok '-)>

Cool to know you grow your own cilantro too! You grow it in the winter also?

I don't, I regrow it every year good our winters are shit!

hahaha thats what I figured but don't like to make assumptions ;-)>

Hehe, well Monsieur Assumptiones dos are correct!

Or something ;O)

hahaha "or something"
hahaha ;-)>

But you haven't tried it with @quinneaker socks, have you @meesterboom? It's a whole different flavor to experience!

hahahahahahahaha ;-)>

Bleeeuurgh!!!

Mmmmmmmmmmm ;-)>

It's the flavor of the year!

I really really really like this series! It's super important, and I'm grateful you share it so abundantly as not everyone remembers how to use plants.

I agree plants are very important and being over ignored. Thank you for your support and for sharing your perspective.

Bounties of the Land FTW!!!! Nature has all the answers. Thanks for sharing them!

Bless it be∞§∞

Ohhhhhh.....I love cilantro and that last b/w photo! This is a really great informative post on how something so simple can be so powerful. Nature really does have great medicine, and your pointing it out and sharing the possibilities is beneficial to us all. Right now....that cilantro is going in our green juice! Mmmmmmm!

Exactly!

I grow Cilantro every year and I even freeze it in ice cube trays to place in my dishes over the winter when I am unable to pick fresh. I love it and your info is outstanding. thanks

Fantastic to hear!

Also thanks so much for the compliment and comment. Its great to see another gardener and appreciator of the healthful, delicious bounties of the land!

Yes the ice cube tray is a great idea but we grow it all winter so not necessary in the winter but for us instead in the summer is when we can't grow it!

I should try to do some herbs in the greenhouse during the month of February to see if I can get the colder versions going. Worth a shot I guess.

Def worth a shot!

Never know until you try !

i love cilantro! never knew about all the health benefits, but it is a most excellent spice used in many different cuisines. fresh organic is the best!!

Yes I love it fresh as a toping on so many things!

The @OriginalWorks bot has upvoted and checked this post!
Some similarity seems to be present here:
https://www.nutrition-and-you.com/cilantro.html
This is an early BETA version. If you cited this source, then ignore this message! Reply if you feel this is an error.

Love this price about cilantro.
Was really informative.
Dont really get much of this herb in India.
But I'll definitely try and source it and plant it in my estate.
I am a organic farming enthusiast and I look forward at more content from you :)
Cheers

Yes this is a very fresh and delightful herb which makes so many dishes nice!

I am sure you could get it to grow there in india as long as its not really hot, if its a pretty hot area of india try planting in the shade.

Thanks for the comment and compliment!

Hope to see you around again soon!

Awesome dude, followed <3

Thanks!
Hope to see you around soon!

Naturally. Man I dance with people like you every summer, ahaha.
Great article as well, need to detox and have been putting it off for way too long already. Cilantro info was amazing. And it isn't quite prohibited yet, is it?^^

hahahaha cilantro is not yet licensed or illegal...hahaha
Though in all seriousness probably won't be but yes its ridiculous how they regulate plants....the most natural things on earth....

You go to festivals in the summer time?

Ozora, August @ Hungary

Wow!

Looks pretty awesome! I haven't been to Hungry before but I have been to Europe many times and to many festivals though mostly in the states.

I do love me a good festival!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63707.69
ETH 3433.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53