Professor Pennington's History Archives : Convent High School, Loughborough (Form 4a, 1946)

in #history7 years ago

Hello, it's Professor Pennington again.

Did I mention that as well as being a crazy inventor sort of chap I'm also a bit of a history buff.

That's why I got into this whole time travel malarkey.

After my last time travel experiment that you good people have kindly been helping me with, I've been doing some digital jiggery-pokery on the photograph that made it back.

Now I've got the big picture.

It was taken at Convent High School in Loughborough in 1946.

The kind young ladies of Form 4a took time out of their Domestic Science lesson with Mrs Tomkins to pose for the picture.

They had been making Victoria sponge cakes. Very tasty they were too.

Convent High School, Loughborough (Form 4a, 1946)


Just in case you don't know where Loughborough is here's a little map of the great island of Britain to show you.

That is jolly good.

I managed to get almost 250 miles from the laboratory on this little time travel trip.

I wonder how far I can get next time?

Do let me know in the Comments if you would like to come along on my next little time travel experiment.


Our Lady's Convent School in Loughborough

Now my mind is clearer I have been doing a little research and found what happened to Convent High School, Loughborough.

It seems to have changed its name somewhere along the road to Our Lady's Convent School.

Even though the history of the school doesn't mention the Convent High School name I am sure they are one and the same.

The shield of the modern school is clearly based on the shield in the old photo.

And the motto is the same for both : Legis Plenitudo Caritas.

My Latin is a little bit rusty with all this time travel but I think that means "Love is the fulfilling of the law".

Our Lady's Convent School in Loughborough is a jolly old school. It was founded in 1850 inspired by Antonio Rosmini.

The school is run by the Roman Catholic Rosminians order.

Our Lady's Convent School is an independent day school for girls aged 3 to 18 and boys aged 3 to 11.

The school's famous past pupils include Molly Smitten-Downes who wrote and sang Britain's 2014 Eurovision Song Contest entry Children of the Universe. Molly finished in 17th position.


Sorry I've been waffling on rather here.

I'd better go and rest a bit. As you have all been so helpful with the calibration of my little time machine I rather fancy having another go later today.


If you found this post useful or interesting please do upvote, resteem and follow. Thank you.

You might also be interested in some of my other recent posts :

[all images provided by @pennsif]

Sort:  

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thank you.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Pennsif from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

I'm inspired!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63721.78
ETH 3503.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54