Sourdough Success! Simple Mama Happiness

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

If At First You Don't Succeed

I tried again and I have edible sourdough bread!

sloaf01.png

You just don't know how I moonwalked after finally having a wonderfully baked bread. It's been many trials and errors but this time around, it's a glorious night to have a slice of bread with honey party!

Sourdough Trials

I mentioned in this first FAILED post how I lost my 5-year old starter. I went bake crazy before waiting for baby #4. I only realized I used all the starter when I was back on my feet ready to bake another batch.

So I made starter from scratch and after weeks of feeding it, I thought it was ready. I used my old recipe with this starter and it just didn't turn out well.

Here's another FAILED post using a very simple recipe and still not happy with my result.

We've been buying Organic Dave's Killer Bread, Eureka, Whole Food's Sourdough Bread and Walmart brand organic seed bread while I was playing Dr. Experiment. Was really getting discouraged from negative thoughts of

Oh no, are we always going to be buying bread from now on?

It got even more disheartening after seeing @riverflows sourdough bread and how easily she put it together. She didn't even feed the starter right before using it! She's an incredible woman.

Edit: Down on the comments she does feed the starter week prior baking day so it's slowly fermenting in the fridge. Very much a time-saver.

Now, @digitaldan is making a sourdough starter

Sourdough Tri-yum

But there is a fighting voice inside me and for goodness sakes, sourdough bread isn't that complicated. It's all in the starter. So I looked up how to make sure your starter is ready for baking.

I found out about the float test. Just take a glass of cold water and drop a spoon full of your sourdough starter. If the glob floats, then it's ready for baking!

Check out how it rose after more than 8 hours of fermenting.
sloaf02.png

The bread I cooked last time was really crusty crunchy. So this time, I cooked this loaf at 425F for 10 minutes. Turned down the oven to 350F for another 20 minutes. It turned out just right. See for yourself :)

sloaf03.png

This mama is satisfied and happy. I can feed my family some awesome sourdough bread again.

And another proof of Philippians 4:13 - I can do all things through Christ Who Strengthens me.

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

Excelente! Hi.

Hi! Gracias David. This is the result of my sourdough starter ("little dough left for the next day")

It's working better now.

And the chickens will be safe! Fabulous... so glad it worked. For the record... I do feed my starter.. the week before. It just garments more slowly in the fridge over the week so it's ready to go when needed.

Yay! Yes, and the chickens will be safe from hard brick loaves hahaha.

Ohh, that's why it works even if you just took it out of the fridge, thanks for that tidbit of info! I'm learning again. Most of the literature I read talks about feeding before using it and what you do is less time consuming. Very nice...

Thanks.. glad i could help!!! There's no way Iwould do it iif it was too time consuming. So glad yours is working out. I do think you have to be willing to experiment so you learn how to do it through intuition and feel. xx

You have to be careful with one liner comments or you will be flagged for comment spamming.

It is really cool you were able to bake your own bread ^^, it looks very nice in those pictures btw.

Thanks! They held up pretty good for sandwiches. My previous sourdough bread had too much crumbs and would crumble :( This one was juuust right.

Yay! So glad you're having success! This looks beautiful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53955.17
ETH 2265.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34