Ulog #2: Sour Day to Soar Day - A Sourdough Mission

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Winter 2017 was busy season for me as I was expecting my 4th child. In preparation for my recovery period, I went bake-crazy. Sourdough muffins, rolls, buns and loaves.

Oh No!

I used all my sourdough starter! My reliable oh so wondrous Startie is gone. My husband made the starter and it's been working great for us for over 5 years.

Beauty in Bubbles

I made a new sourdough starter from scratch and have been feeding it for a while. Early spring was still kind of wintry temps so I didn't try baking anything yet.

It's been warming up here lately so I'm taking this baby out and fed it twice. This one's more than 3 weeks old and what a beauty. It rose this much within 4 hours.


starterrisen.jpg

Failure

Well, I followed my old recipe and made my sponge like I used to. Made my dough after 16 hours of fermenting and rejoiced as it felt right when kneading and forming the buns and rolls.
sponge01.jpg

After waiting patiently for them to rise, the buns and loaves only rose a little bit. After baking them they ended up as chicken feed.

No kidding, chicken feed

We had to crumble them up for the ladies. Because if I throw them over the run, it can hit the ladies and we'll end up with dead chickens.

Mission Possible

Anyone who can help me with a very simple recipe to re-test my starter? I know the starter is potent, so maybe the recipe isn't a fit for it. Or is there another way to test if my starter is good?

Reminiscing The Sourdough Days

Just to let you in on how I'm grieving for my old starter.

Join us!

20180516_002249_0001.png


dividerNanay.png

Sort:  

Yum! I looove sourdough! My mom use to make it all the time. Her starter was fed with warm water, sugar & potato flakes.

Id like to find a gluten free sourdough recipe!

Yes, we like sourdough too. It's soo good fresh from the oven. I feed my starter warm water, sugar & potato flakes too after being in the refrigerator for a while.8

I would have to start a new gluten free starter if I go gluten-free since this one I just made is all wheat...

I love sourdough too!! When it comes out fresh from the oven it is just so delicious. I can just eat the bread on its own with a little olive oil and vinegar. Love the smell, taste and texture of sourdough. I have never successfully baked one but I have been there when my friends took theirs out of the oven. Needless to say I went all shark like when it was cooling down! 😂

Oh boy I miss fresh rolls with butter. Olive oil and vinegar? That's a first, I haven't tried eating it that way.

Hahaha funny! shark-like

Pancakes!

I know that’s of no help, but I read these bread making posts, and starters and pancakes and pizza crust, etc, and I want to know how too!

Anyway, when someone helps you, id like them to help you with a pancake receipt.

Are you interested in sharing your starter recipe?

Haha mama, yes we make sourdough pancakes and they're good.

Starter recipe? I found this way back https://steemit.com/food/@slhomestead/u8c6yq43 but she's not active anymore I think.

My starter recipe is simple:
10g water 10g flour - mix and cover for 24 hours
If it's bubbly move on below if not wait another 24 hours
10g water 10g flour added to the mixture and cover for 24 hrs
20g water 20g flour added to the mixture and cover for 24 hrs
40g water 40g flour added to the mixture and cover for 24 hrs
Just kept doubling what I have for 2 weeks maintaining 100 to 120g

I was trying to focus on a GF starter for my allergic kiddo, but I was also feeding a spelt starter at the same time. I ended up accidentally mixing up the two and so I baked a couple loaves, but they were insanely dense and ended up going to our chickens too! Lol! At least our kitchen experiments don't go completely to waste, right? Best of luck with your sourdough endeavors!

Haha yes they don't go to waste, thank God for chickens.

I hope you get a better outcome too. I'm still looking at a really really simple recipe to use my starter with.

Oooohhhh, I always marvel at people who know how to make sourdough, coz I don't know how to make one. I've never had a successful relationship with flour so far, so fermenting such awesomeness seems farfetched 😂 I've done milk kefir, but my grains are hibernating in the fridge for God knows how long. Oh welp.

Thanks, we've had a lot of trial and error, lots of brick bread and still experimenting to this day.

So far I'm only at kombucha, haven't ventured on kefir yet.

Kombucha takes longer time and effort so I'd prefer kefir 😂 I like water kefir, too. Very nice and healthy! I love it chilled, yums!

One of my earliest Steemit posts was on water kefir! Super easy and we all love it! So customizable and from what I've read, there is more diversity in the probiotics in water kefir than kombucha!

Definitely easier than kombucha, kombucha is expensive to maintain! 😂 but milk kefir is easier to feed than water kefir, at least it is for my case. All my water kefir grains shrank and after some time I gave up and ate them all lol

Congratulations @lovenfreedom! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Sourdough is so good! I use to have a 'Startie' too, but got too busy to keep up with her so she became chicken food....
I should really start up again!

I have always wanted to get into bread making. There are quite a few people in my family that loves sourdough!! I hope you find a solution so you can get everything going again. There’s nothing like homemade!!

Nothing like homemade! Thanks for stopping by mama. Bread making is a lot of trial and error for sourdough. I didn't have that hard of a time when I was using active yeast. But we're not going back to that so will find a way...

Sure!! It was my pleasure! Thanks for the heads up about trial and error.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45