Homestead Bird's Nest & Sourdough Update - Ulog #6

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Did I Scare Them Away?

I might have scared the cardinal family because when I checked to see how the baby bird is doing and if the other 2 eggs hatched, I only found one egg in the nest.

oneegg.png

I don't normally research birds so I take this to Steemit for those who might know the answer.

Hubby said he might have scared it when he mowed.

BUT

They were there before and after I took pictures! So what happened that would make them go with the baby?

I'm sad and feeling like if I just left them alone, maybe all 3 eggs would have hatched and the cardinal family would still be there. Now, there's an abandoned egg in the nest and I can't do anything about it.

Sourdough Semi-Failure

I'm not happy with my sourdough progress AT ALL

Trial and error sometimes suck but this is how I learn. Now if I can just tweak it a little bit more, I'd be rocking on with sourdough and will be more careful next time not to use them all up or kill my starter.

I tried again today (well, actually started yesterday and left it to ferment overnight to bake today) using this recipe/instructions.

WONK-WONK-WONK

Pros:

1. @futurefarmers like it, they ate slices of it with butter and honey
2. I actually like it with butter and honey too
3. The sour factor is just right - not too sour just hint of tang
4. Bread rose up and has the golden color
5. Just enough chewiness to the bread and not crumbly

Not so pros:

1. Too crusty - I mean hard crust

2. Too dense

3. I don't think it cooked all the way through

4. I almost feel like it's another experiment for the chickens

ARRRGGH

What else can a mama do? I'll try again next time!

20180516_002249_0001.png


Sort:  

Sourdough! My boy actually likes it.

I'm not a huge fan of it, but whatever.

mmmmmm. sourdough. With butter and grape jelly.

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Hey Mama, thanks for using our tag!

I don't know about Cardinals so sorry, but, maybe there was something wrong with the egg?

I look forward to seeing when the egg gets to perfection.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45