๐Ÿž Cold Faces, Warm Bread: Saturday Smiles ๐Ÿž

in #ecotrain โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

It's a freezing 10 degrees where I live right now, and I've just come in to have a homebrewed stout in front of the fire and sort out the sourdough bread. It's been a fabulous day of pottering - doing seemingly mundane chores but ones that lifted the fog that's been hanging over me all week.

There's something about doing things that just make life better in simple ways, when no one is pressuring you to do them. No demands, just following my whim and fancy as I potter around the house and garden.


I thought I'd walk you through the process of making my sourdough bread and how it's just a part of my ordinary day. It took me ages to get around to making bread as I thought it'd be terribly time consuming, but it's not - not once you have a system in place. So I thought I'd share my system and how my day might look like with bread at the start and end of it. It's really, really easy!


Rainbow1529146346783.jpg


9.47 am Late Start to a Saturday

After a coffee or two (yeah, okay, so my coffee fast didn't last long, but it's the weekend, okay?' and a late lazy start to the day with my honeyed one, I threw about 6 cups of flour into a bowl - I say about, as I could only find the 3/4 cup measure so did heaped cups with that plus an extra bit for good measure.

The starter I keep in the fridge, and I don't bother bringing it to room temperature as it seems to work just fine the way it is. I reckon I added 2 cups of starter to my mix plus about 3 tsps of salt. I usually do this in 2 bowls, but I want to save on washing up, so I'll just make some smaller loaves in loaf tins instead and divide this dough in two.

I then add another couple of cups to the starter, mix it with enough water to make a medium thick paste and put her back in the fridge for next week. She'll bubble on nicely. I'm wondering if I need Mum to babysit her when we're in Bali next week. If I show her this headline maybe she'll charge me.

Then, I add lukewarm water to the bowl, enough to make a dough - but here's the rub - I DON'T KNEAD IT - just stir it enough to mix the flour through so it's a wet dough, but still fairly thick and what you'd imagine dough consistency to be. Then, I leave it by the window in the sunshine with a big plate on it for a lid - for around eight hours, though today was six hours, so that just goes to show that this really isn't a fine art.


Now, I go and enjoy my day - including bugging J. to work out a thingie to connect the chimney to the fire bath, finding that the coastal banksia is starting to flower, and figuring out a mini greenhouse to keep my chilli plant alive and knocking up a makeshift door for my mini garden shed. As we're headed overseas, we wanted to make sure the shed was reasonably waterproof to protect the gardening paraphrenalia.


4.05 PM - COMING IN WITH DIRTY HANDS AND COLD FACES

Then it's time for a quick knead - not too much, as you don't want to deflate all those lovely bubbles that say that wild yeast is doing it's thang. Just enough so it's not too sticky. Add flour to make this happen if needed.

20180616_160201.jpg

The next step was adding some yummy seeds. Fennel and sunflower in one, and the other was sunflower, pepitas and cacao nibs, which aren't sweet but have this lovely crunch and subtle flavour. After sprinkling those goodies on, fold the ends over a few times (I did it on a plate so as not to make a mess on the bench), shape and place in a loaf tin. Can you spot the bubble on the right hand picture? It's there because I didn't handle it overmuch.


Then I gently place them in loaf tins (I'll show you how I do it in the dutch oven another day for a more rustic looking loaf) and place them by the fire to prove for another two hours. Sometimes I only prove it for an hour - really depends on the temperature.


I ask Jamie to pour me another brew and put on some reggae tunes on vinyl. Love that warm crackle sound. Today's tune is brought to you by Zion Train.



After a few hours and some more tunes and stout, we turn the oven on to about 200 degrees and pop them in the oven with some baking paper on top. This helps keep the heat and moisture in without burning the top. We cook it for about 35 minutes, then with the paper off for about another ten.

8.05 PM Australia v France World Cup

J is watching football, I'm steeming, and the bread is cool enough to eat. Happy Saturday.


20180616_195912.jpg

So, on Sunday morning we have fresh sourdough bread. Too easy! As they say here in Aussieland.

How is your weekend going?



B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

1wEUFtd.jpg
Want to find more quality posts? Consider the #tribesteemup trail, and adding them to your autovoting along with #ecotrain.. Please ask if you're unsure what this might mean for you.

image.png
You can read about the 8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp here

riverflows2.png

Sort: ย 

are you kidding me? I've had problems with my new starter and my sourdough bread hasn't been coming out as I would like it...I need help

HELP

This is my latest one https://steemit.com/homesteading/@lovenfreedom/homestead-bird-s-nest-and-sourdough-update-ulog-6

and this is my older one https://steemit.com/homesteading/@lovenfreedom/ulog-2-sour-day-to-soar-day-a-sourdough-mission

Pretty lady oh will you please help me :D

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-16T21:20:00
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 162.40/200.00
Total Photos: 28
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

oooooh I've not made sourdough for years, that looks delicious I may have to pull my finger out and get another starter going ๐Ÿ˜€

Oh my Dad uses that expression Dan, too funny. Yeah get on it babe, and post about it!!! So good. Plus way cheaper.

oh girl, is there anything you can't make yourself at home? You are absolutely amazing. I love sourdough. Your pictures are making me hungry. I bet it smells heavenly. Glad to see you are having a great weekend.

Aww thanks. Its been a lovely wkd so far and has cheered me up alot actually!! Xx Its super easy and you should definitely try! Xxx

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply โ€œNo Voteโ€ if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

Yum. Your breads are always so epic looking!

HA yes... they taste epic too. Someone gave me a quince jelly and THAT was epic on toast this morning!!

Sounds like you had a fantastically productive but relaxing day. You describe your sourdough so well I can almost smell it cooling. Yum. You know if we were neighbours I'd be round scrounging a slice๐Ÿ˜‚Glad you're having a good weekend ๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’–

Ah I would call you over and give you a WHOLE LOAF and a cuppa!!!! How nice wpuld that be....

Posted using Partiko Android

Awww you're ace! ๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š and yes it would be awesome. ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ’–

Yikes, this looks unbelievable, too easy indeed. How do you get the starter going? Sourdough bread is my weakness....but I want to make it myself!! Great post@riverflows, thank you!

Mum got the starter going about three years ago. It's pretty easy though. You get a glass or ceramic jar and put about 1/2 cup of starter and 1/4 cup of water to make a paste. Cover with a breathable cloth. Leave for a few days but feed every day or so - take out half, add more flour and water and repeat that over about a week. You should see bubbles form after a few days and it'll get a sour, vinegary smell. That's the starter!

Then I just feed it enough ready for baking - I honestly just leave a bit of starter in the bottom of a tupperware containeer, add a few cups of flour and some water and leave it in the fridge. Even left there it's still fermenting, just much slower. Sometimes I leave it for a few weeks and it gets this very strong vinegary smell and kinda grey liquid on top but I just stir it and it's fine.

Good lukc, @birdsinparadise, and have fun with it!

what an amazing brreeeead you have going. sourdough is one of my absolute favs :D! paired with a fresh homebrewed stout and some cold weather, a cracklin' fire, gah! slice a heaven XOX

It totally was heaven - there's the happiness you were asking about! But gee, could do with some of your sunshine and an elderflower champagne to go with it!

;) looks like you'll need to fly on over to the oZarks!! <3 <3

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply โ€œNo Voteโ€ if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59708.78
ETH 3185.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45