Farm Update: Silkie Chicken "Pepper" Spring Update Photo Shoot 2018

in #homesteading6 years ago

While my love for silkie chickens has grown by too much, my actual number of silkie chickens that I own has not grown. I'm still left with my one black silkie, named Pepper, who may or may not be a male. I've had a friend attempting to get more for me with no luck, so for now I have Pepper and it is my favorite chicken.

It's fro is coming in nicely, has the ability to make me laugh even on bad days.

It's always had those blue spots on it's cheeks and they shine in the sun. It's a healthy chicken so I can't figure out whether those spots are a problem or just a feature.

Puff Puff.

And those feet. They're getting bigger and have more feathers. Honestly the photos don't do the bird justice, sometime soon I'll take some video to post to dtube as I'm still convinced this is the cutest chicken breed that exists. Good things come from mutations....silkies....gingers....see my point?

John's convinced that part of their mutation is that they never loose the baby feathers which I could totally see, but that explains not the feet or the fro.

Favorite snacks: cheese, strawberries, alfalfa, celery greens, watermelon.

I'll take 10 more, please.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Farm Update: Lily Gets Adorable Favorite Silkie Chicks
Farm Update: Morning Silkie Shots
Farm Update: How I Cured My Silkies (Baby Rare Chickens) Cold without Antibiotics

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Lily's Little Garden: Still Alive through the Dry Season...some of it.
Fermentation Adventures: Large Ginger Beer Harvest
Acapulco Sunsets: Free in Acapulco

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

So cute that little chicken. The blue spots have style hahaha

I love those spots, I hope they aren't bad lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56