Fermentation Adventures: Large Ginger Beer Harvest

in #fermentation6 years ago

I'm still brewing guys, both ginger beer and kombucha. Today I harvested my first big batch of ginger beer into glass bottles to carbonate, the center clear one having been donated to me by @kennyskitchen when he returned the last of his kombucha bottles before leaving. Thanks Kenny, I like this one!

In ginger beer the culture used has both bacteria and yeasts in it, so much like kombucha you end up with a pellicle at the end which many people refer to as the mother. This is actually technically the baby, the liquid itself being the mother. The texture is not quite as tough as the kombucha pellicle as it's produced by different bacteria.

If we wanna be clear the stuff you see settled at the bottom there is the "mother" if anything.

A nice air bubble formed while it was fermenting.

This as well as the stuff floating around the bottom got fed to my chickens today.

Thanks again for the bottle!

I got the idea to try a small batch with oranges instead of lemons or limes. From my understanding you can use the ginger bug to ferment all sorts of things including just regular sweetened fruit juices to make them bubbly and probiotic. Just follow much the same steps as with the regular ginger beer using different fruit juice and similar ratios if possible.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Fermentation Adventures: Growing and Expanding Ginger Bugs
How to Feed Your Ginger Bug
Fermentation Adventures: Ginger Beer Success!

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Acapulco Sunsets: Free in Acapulco
Anarchaforko Anarchapulco Fork Update: @larkenrose and @dragonanarchist Rock the House and End Day 2 Right!
The Speedy Saga, Part 1: The Grill

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 12 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 10 SBD worth and should receive 55 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Really a ginger beer? That sounds healthy. I am wondering how it taste like. Haha. This is mouth-watering. Haha

Like a spicey ginger ale

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69692.63
ETH 3775.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76