Product Spotlight Series #7 - BUG OFF! Essential Oil Roll-On

BUG OFF! Essential Oil Roll-On

I wanted to post this product spotlight yesterday but my boyfriend planned a surprise date so I was forced to hold off until today! Unfortunately, I was unable to discover what he had planned because we had to pick up family from the hospital instead (the cancer has shrunk - thank goodness)! The delay for our date may take a little while but at least I am able to post the product spotlight today!

If you remember, last weekend while working in the garden at Wild Rose Acres I spent as much time swatting mosquitos as I did actually gardening! The itch was unbearable and my legs are dotted with scabs from the bites… I definitely do not want a repeat of this experience the next time I get to the property! So I did a little research and found a product that I’m very excited to try - BUG OFF! Essential Oil Roll-On from OrganicCrushShop!

As usual, I chose to feature a product from OrganicCrushShop in particular because they are a small business located in the state of Wisconsin - my home state. I am continuing to purchase “locally” by at least containing my consumerism within the state. Also, I’ve ordered products from this store before (see Product Spotlight Series #4 - Vanilla Bean Lip Balm) and found their products to match the descriptions and work effectively. I will gladly continue to support small businesses I’ve shopped at before because I know are reputable!

I also enjoy shopping here because they only use high-quality ingredients from reputable sources and almost all of them are certified organic. All of the butters and carrier oils used in their products are organic, raw, and unrefined.

This bug repellant in particular contains all organic ingredients including:

  • Fractionated Coconut Oil
  • an Essential Oil Blend of: 
    • Citronella
    • Eucalyptus
    • Citriodora
    • Eucalyptus
    • Globulus
    • Cedarwood
    • Lemongrass
    • Lavender
    • Tea Tree
    • Peppermint
    • Rosemary
    • Basil
    • Patchouli

Mosquitos are one of my most hated creatures… I understand how important they may be for other species, but goodness at what cost?! I figured that all I could do was either stay inside and avoid them completely or find a healthy way to repel them. Since starting a homestead means practically living outside… repelling them was really my only option!

At only $9.95 for .33 oz, I hope this bug repellant lasts long enough to be worth the purchase. Regardless, it has a refreshing scent and is effective against mosquitoes, fleas, ticks, lice, and other insects so I think I’ve made the right choice!

P.S. I’ve decided to hold off on starting another T-shirt fundraising campaign for a little while. We still have interest but not enough support to make it a complete success. However, we will give it another go sometime in the future!

PREVIOUS PRODUCT SPOTLIGHTS:
Product Spotlight Series #1 - Lemongrass & Ginger Deodorant
Product Spotlight Series #2 - OilandAshSoap
Product Spotlight Series #3 - Orange & Lavender Dry Shampoo
Product Spotlight Series #4 - Vanilla Bean Lip Balm
Product Spotlight Series #5 - Organic Cocoa & Mint Lotion Bar
Product Spotlight Series #6 - Bamboo Toothbrush

Follow @kiaraantonoviche

First photo and information from OrganicCrushShop. Second photo from Pexels and used under the CC0 license. Footer badges created by @daddykirbs and @allforthegood.

This is a 100% Steem power up blog! 

Sort:  

Could you report back with how it works for you?? In our area the Asian tiger mosquitos are terrible. Also in the last few years the reaction I have to the bites is way more itchy than it used to be! I just want to hang and work in my garden in peace without those pesky mosquitos eating me alive! Great post - and if this works for you i would consider getting some. Also I have most of the essential oils on that list so I wonder if I can mix up my own with some fractionated coconut oil....now my gears are turning! Thanks again!

For sure! It may be a little while before I get to test it out but I'll comment again with how it works as soon as I can! For now, I see that the bug repellant has good reviews on their Easy shop and people claim that it does work so fingers crossed! Otherwise, it does seem like a fairly simple recipe to make at home too!

Awesome. If I decide to figure it out an make my own, i'll report back as well. I got about a dozen bites this evening just going out to put some yard toys away. arrrgggh!

Oh no! Yeah, the skeets this year seem terrible. I just ordered the repellant though so I will be able to test it out as soon as it arrives! Also, I hope to get back to the homestead this weekend which will be the ultimate test... cross fingers!

Hey @jaymorebeet, I just wrote an article about my weekend at Wild Rose Acres that updates my opinion of the bug repellent! You can read it here if you'd like! Basically it did not work as well as I had hoped so I will be looking for different options!

Oh no!! Did you get bit up? I'm having a terrible time in my backyard with mosquitos - i'm getting destroyed every time I'm out there - even for 5 minutes. In broad daylight! What gives!!! I hope you find something else that will work....if you do, let me know!

Yes, I did get bit up terribly! The skeets are out and about constantly here to so hopefully I find something that works soon! And I will absolutely let you know!

@frag, I see you copy/paste this exact phrase on multiple articles without actually upvoting and following. This is considered spam commenting, please stop or it could be reported to @steemcleaners.

Get 'em! Things like this only make Steemit worse!

Thanks, I've been finding a lot of these recently and yes they totally make Steemit worse! I've been reporting them to the steemcleaners link drop channel on steemitchat!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59789.86
ETH 2418.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43