Buying Patience

in #homesteading7 years ago

We have been playing the waiting game for years. We've been told time and time again, that we couldn't do what we wanted to do, by friends, countless banks, even otherwise supportive family members.

Buying Patience

All good comes to those who wait, they say. We have been waiting for 9 years. We have been longing for even longer. We dream of a couple of acres, no more than five due to the restrictions around here. Then for a couple of years, we tried to let go of that dream, to be happy with whatever we could potentially do in a small suburban lot. It opened our eyes to how much you can, in fact, do on a small suburban lot, but it also made it clear to us that we really deep down want to do more than that.

I try to tell myself that we are buying patience each month when our rent comes due. I console myself by reminding me, that as much and often more money is going into our down payment fund. I have counted the years to when we could buy property.
heather-phillips-66799.jpg
Source

Getting Discouraged and Finding New Hope

At times I've been able to live in the dream of our future property and that made it a lot easier to go by our day to day life and learn new skills. Then at other times, like when we realised that we wouldn't be able to buy property on the island we currently live on, I've been extremely discouraged. I made an honest effort of accepting that we would only have a small suburban lot, but it never sat right with me.

This past week we've had new hope. There is a chance we might be able to move back. I'm afraid to fully embrace the hope. Afraid to be disappointed yet again. On the other hand, our hearts are fluttering despite being afraid. My husband told me he felt relieved that we might still have a chance to get an acre or two back home and I couldn't agree more.

We are meeting with our bank to hear their opinion on things tomorrow. The move will not be for another year or two, but we may be able to make some initial moves long before that. We already have a down payment fund, but we'll have to add everything to it we possibly can in order to have as big a down payment as possible. Our hope is to have 20% by the time we buy.
fabian-blank-78637.jpg
Source

We are so excited to possibly start our homestead hunt and add another dimension to our homesteading journey and would be thankful for all the prayers you'd be inclined to send our way.


Thank you for reading this post.
Please upvote and resteem it if you found it valuable.

You might also be interested in:

5 Keys to long lasting hand knit socks

Gleaning herbs for winter

How I would use 50 SBD to eliminate future cost

How to get free audiobooks every month


Feel free to join the conversation at
bar.jpg

Sort:  

I love your post, thanks for sharing! I gave you a vote. I hope you enjoy it.

Thank you, plenty more to come I think.

Man, and I thought finding property in Oregon was difficult (within a certain price range). I couldn't even IMAGINE trying to find property in an "old" SMALL AND POPULATED country like Denmark. I bet it is HARD. I'm sorry the search (and I'm sure price is expensive also) and time leading up to a purchase is so long for you. I'd be heartbroken with the wait.

There are places that go on sale all the time, but they have more acreage and are way out of our price range. It is hard. The wait has been killing us, but we're hoping that as soon as we get a green light from the bank, it will start to feel different because we'll know it's within reach.

Throwing my Steemit pennies into your homestead fund jar! Comment so I can upvote those, too. :-) It's not much, but I'll give what I can to help your dream come into fruition!

Thank you @greenacrehome. That is so kind of you. We are absolutely stoked at the possibility and are thankful for whatever we end up with in the end.

Good luck! We don't regret financing our property to be able to start our dreams! Sometimes it's worth it to live the life you want ☺️

I haven't heard of anyone here who has bought a house outright in the last 50 years or so. The prices are simply too high. I'm not a fan of the system per say, but we have to work with what is there. Thank you for all your encouragement.

I'm not either but there are few people who can buy property outright even in cheaper areas! For us it was worth it but also because my husband still works

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by frugallady from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59