Gleaning Herbs for Winter

in #homesteading7 years ago

We ran out of herbs a month ago and our food has been bland for what feels like forever. We could have gone out and bought some herbs, but not only are they crazy expensive, they don't taste nearly as well as the ones we glean each year from my parent's herb garden. I do my best to keep my family well fed on as frugal a budget as a possibly can.

Desperate Times Call for Desperate Measures

Close to where we live I found a big patch of lovage. I've never used lovage in our cooking before because I was told it tasted like celery stalks, which I detest. But since we were all out of herbs and desperate for flavour I headed out with a toddler in toe to pick some lovage seeds, as they seemed the easiest to dry for storage.
Cautiously I added some to our dinner that night, fully expecting to ruin the entire pot of goodness that I had been caring for all afternoon. Thankfully it ended up tasting delicious and even the tiny amount I had added made the whole batch taste like several different herbs had been added and not just one. It's safe to say that lovage has been added to the permanent list of herbs we like to have on hand.

IMG_4197.jpg

A Summer Tradition

Each year during our summer holiday, I go out to my parent's herb garden and glean as many herbs as possible. Last year we were able to get thyme, rosemary and oregano in large enough quantities to keep us well stocked for almost a full year. This year the weather has been cold most of the summer and the annual herb harvest suffered as a result. Especially the thyme wasn't producing very well and we may have to end up buying some herbs after all.
As a pleasant surprise, we were able to harvest some tarragon this year, which I'm very excited about.

IMG_4211.JPG

A Simple Process

Gleaning herbs is so easy a child can do it. You simply cut the herbs of your choice. Separate the leaves from the stems and dry them in an oven on the lowest possible heat until they are completely dry.
If your climate allows it you can air dry them, but most years it's not an option for us, especially as we are travelling back and forth and the herbs have to be completely dry before we leave.

Are you putting up any herbs for winter this year?


Thank you for reading this post.
Please upvote and resteem it if you found it valuable.

You might also be interested in:

How to maintain inbox zero

How I would use 50 SBD to eliminate future cost

How to get free audiobooks every month


Feel free to join the conversation at
bar.jpg

Sort:  

Interesting about lovage. I've not used it before but I just found a packet of seeds in my collection. One to plant for next year.

I love herbs. I keep adding to my collection. We've built a second herb bed this year which is going really well.

Now I'm going to build a third one near where the bees will be living when we get them.

The seeds are great. Apparently, you can eat all parts of the plant. I'm not at all jealous about those bees. What a wonderful addition to your garden. It will be interesting to see if your yields go up after they are added into the mix.

Same here @pennsif I never really knew much about lovage and like you, may consider a spot in my herb garden next season.

I was actually starting to plan out next year's plot for the garden and expansion.

And I agree with @frugallady about running out of herbs. Happened my first year, now I have a better idea of how much to plant, a second crop and what I can grow indoors, which to dehydrate, which to make into frozen ice cubes for soups, broths, etc.
Live and learn

Those lovage seeds look like dill seeds. Which, we are harvesting and putting away for this winter.

Also, I lucked out and had a neighbor clearing a huge patch of 'invasive' mint. I volunteered to do a fare amount of the work, and brought home two brown bags full, which we dried by either hanging or spreading out and air drying. These have almost all been stripped and jarred now.
Also we have corriander seeds still in the garden(from our cilantro, which we love).
Also, we have cut and hung some lavender flower stalks, for teas later.

Havent had any surplus of other mints or oregano because we harvest too frequently, and often I add them to my smoothie!!

Thanks for sharing!!!
Peace!!

They do look very much alike, but the plants look completely different.

I feel the same way about coriander as I do cilantro. My husband loves coriander though especially in cheese.

Are all lavenders edible?

I've never had oregano in a smoothie, is it a powerful taste?

Fresh oregano does not have an overpowering taste...I put in enough herbs that I never notice or think 'eh! Oregano'

As far as lavender, a small quantity is edible. The flowers are edible.

My smoothie is like a small boost of natures' medicine chest.
8-D

Congratulations @frugallady! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I absolutely love lovage and use it all the time. My granny cooked with it of course but also made teas from its roots that she used to treat any urinary, bladder or kidney aliment.

I still grow lovage from the plants she gave me decades ago, sowing seeds occasionally to replenish my stock.

You can also freshen the scent of your home by boiling some of the leaves and stalks. They give off a very pleasant, sweet odor.

I had no idea you could use it for infections. I might have to see if I can glean some roots to have on hand.
It's a wonderful thing when plants can keep on giving for generations. My parents have my granddad's rhubarb and it just keeps producing.

Plants give us so many gifts and bring me such joy. I have some peonies (don't know of any medicinal properties) that were my great grandmothers, that are over 100 years old. I thin them out occasionally and they bloom every year. What loving memories than bring back every time I see them.

I'm super lucky that my Gran and Granny wrote down recipes and instructions for so many plants. I'm hoping to passing on the knowledge to my kiddos as well.

First time to read about that lovage, might not be a popular herb here. Good to know you have some in there.

It's not a widely used herb here either. I don't think you can buy it in stores as an example.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by frugallady from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64269.55
ETH 3490.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53