How to Get Free Audiobooks Every Month

As a homesteader, I enjoy listening to audiobooks as I work, but budget restraints require that they are free. I've spent many happy hours listening to great works of fiction from some of the best writers known to man kind, all for free. More recently, I got into reading more nonfiction and needed a new source of free audiobooks.

Try Your Library

@farmstead posted a great post on Overdrive, an audiobook app for American library users. We have something similar in Denmark, and while the number of books on offer there has grown recently, it's just not the books I want to read.
Nevertheless, always try your library first when you are searching for a new book to read.

janko-ferlic-174927.jpg
Source

Out of Copyright

There are several sources of out of copyright books online, both as e-books and audiobooks. My favourite for audiobooks is LibriVox where readers volunteer to read books. As a result, the quality varies a lot. I tend to go for single readers (as opposed to chapters being read by different people) or dramatic readings which are often well done. My favourite reader is Elizabeth Klett, who has a delightful accent and a captivating reading style.
There is one thing you have to keep in mind though with out of copyright books and that is that the length of copyright varies from country to country. If you are in the States, it's perfectly legal to listen to all books on LibriVox, but if you aren't it's your own responsibility to make sure the books you listen to are out of copyright in your country. Here's a handy list of when copyright expires in a number of countries.

chris-lawton-236413.jpg
Source

Christian Books

If you are interested in Christian nonfiction, then christianaudio is a great option. It's a kin to Audible, only for Christian books. Both Audible and christianaudio is over my budget limits but here's the thing: If you sign up for christianaudio's newsletter you'll get a free Christian book every month.
aaron-burden-88785.jpg
Source
The selection is very varied and depending on your personal convictions you may not want the book they offer every month. I make a point of always downloading them into my account because I don't mind listening to books by people I disagree with, but that's a topic for another post.
So far, I've been on their newsletter for 14 months and I have some great books in my account without even having to give them any bank info. I would encourage you to give it a try as you have nothing to lose.

What is your preferred way to find free or cheap audiobooks?

Sort:  

I hope you had given a way how to receive free audiobooks from audible every month. Do you know a way?

That would be nice, wouldn't it? Sadly I think you'll have to pay. I do know they have a free trial where you can get and keep 1 or 2 books.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62567.99
ETH 3431.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47