I Would Use 50 SBD to Eliminate Future Cost.

in #homesteading7 years ago

With no dirt to our name, we spend our homesteading funds in two ways. We mostly sock it all away for a down payment on a place. We are hoping to be approved by the banks to borrow some money by the end of 2018 or early 2019. It kills me to wait but it helps a little to see our down payment account slowly grow.

The second way we spend our money is by investing in projects that can eliminate future cost. If I had 50 SBD to use on any homestead project I'd spend it on a project that has been on our minds for a while.

Eliminating the need for single-use plastic bags, saran wrap and aluminium foil

For us, this is a two step project, well actually three step, but 50 SBD only goes so far. Our first step would be to make some homemade bee's wrap, the second step would be to eliminate plastic bags for freezing by using some plastic containers instead. (The third step would be to buy canning jars to put food by in a way that doesn't require any single use products.)

@greenacrehome mentioned in his post that he wanted to challenge the partakers to be

creative, resourceful, and thrifty; all talents common with Homesteaders, Gardeners, Preppers, and Like-Minded individuals!

I certainly had to be so when planning my entry. You see, I really wanted to do something with the money that would free up a lot of money in the future, which could then go towards our down payment fund. So after discussing it with my husband, we decided on the bee's wrap and plastic containers. I then did a lot of research to figure out where I could get the best price for the things we would need.

Being Thrifty

I was astonished to see the price of 100g of bee's wax at 70 DKK (currently around 11 SBD). We plan to make a lot of sheets and bags and to make some as gifts for like minded friends while we are at it, so 100g won't get us very far. We also want to have enough on hand to redo our sheets and bags as needed.
After a lot of looking through the interwebs, I'm @frugallady after all, I finally found a source that sells 500g of bee's wax for 140 DKK.

Bivoks-i-gule-piller-ubleget.jpg
Source

Being Resourceful

In order to stretch the money as far as possible, I did a mental stock-taking of my small fabric stash. The conclusion is that I have just the right kind of cotton, pre-washed and all, simply waiting for a project. It was actually this stock-taking that allowed us to include the second part with the plastic containers. If we would have to buy the fabric as well, it would amount to more than 50 SBD for just the bee's wrap project.

Being Creative

To enter the contest we have to include at least one photo. My first idea was to post a photo of the fabric, but since we are travelling for two weeks, that wasn't an option. @greenacrehome also wanted a lot of details and for us to show how our project would make a lasting change. I tried to combine all three in the photo below (please excuse my spelling mistakes, this was made with a child on my lap).

IMG_4225.jpg

The remaining 1,5 SBD will (sadly) be spent on conversion fees.

Do you want to know how to make bee's wrap?

If I'm the lucky winner of this contest then you can expect a thorough explanation of how to make and use bee's wax within two weeks of the money clearing my bank account. If you simply can't wait, and who could blame you, then head over to this video by @raincountry, where Heidi does a wonderful job at explaining and showing you the process.

How would you spend 50 SBD?

There's still time to join @greenacrehome in the contest.


Please join me and a bunch of other helpful homesteaders at

bar.jpg

Sort:  

how resourceful you are, great piece

oh wow I see I have to do some catch up on @raincountries yt channel :O thanks for sharing but still even if you don't win I hope you share your process it sounds interesting and much larger then jar covers :) good luck in the contest :)

Thank you. I love their channel, they really do great work.
I hope I can, but it will require some budget magic :)

Wow, I really like this entry, @frugallady. I've never heard of making sheets out of bees wax, but now I'm thrilled to find out. I also loved reading about how thrifty and resourceful you are. Great job on entering the contest, and bet of luck to us all!

Thank you @stortebeker. Best of luck to you too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61740.86
ETH 3453.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51