Homestead Happiness is...

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I was on my back deck just watching the gucks and chickens, like I usually do, when suddenly there was quite the ruckus going on in the guck pools. Funnily enough, the geese were just swimming laps like crazy. Splashing about, getting out, and running in circles with their wings spread wide and yelling. Not sure why they were doing it, but it seemed like they were happy.

Homestead happiness for me is caring for my animals.

What's been making me smile hard or giggle lately are my geese. They like to yell at me and come running to me every time I come outside, near their space.

I had to do some research and found their yelling is how they greet. They really like it when you yell back, so you can often find me kneeling down and yelling with them. A big ol' smile on my face. The whole thing is silly. I hold my hands out and one will often nibble on my fingers. Sometimes a bit too hard, but it seems out of love, not meanness.

Sometimes when I try and get them to bed, I will run toward their house, and they'll come running after me. It's the little things. The geese are so funny. The ducks, however, seem to not really care. Kind of standoffish and aloof even. Ah well, at least the geese are entertaining.

There's just something about these chickens, geese, ducks, and quail that make my heart swell with love and happiness. I love to go out to the chicken area and sit there. The young Faverolles will often swarm around, start chatting with me and peck at the seams on my jeans. Haha. I kind of just find any sort of interaction with the birds a positive one. I never thought that they would care for me the way that they do (okay, I will admit that it's probably just cause I feed them...).

The feeling I get when I am out there just hanging out with the animals is indescribable. I hope everyone has something that makes them feel the way I do when I am just caring for and being around my animals.


I am sooooo tired tonight. Almost really put off blogging tonight. BUT, I really wanted to get this out for @pennsif's contest! Check it out, there's still time! What is your homestead happiness?



Check out my most recent Steemit Posts.

Blog Series

  • Nature on the Farmstead - These posts will be educational and informative about the nature that happens on my farmstead. Look forward to posts about wild animals, birds, wildflowers and plants, insects, and more!

As always @farmstead here blogging from FarmsteadSmith!

verify

Face is doing well. I had to go out and about today and I felt so uncomfortable without my make up on... I know, people say I "don't need make up". Maybe I don't but, I sure feel like I left the house without pants on or something. shudders Just wasn't how I like to be seen. Haha.

I met @teeteresaflory in person today! We had lunch! That was a good time! It was really cool to meet someone from Steemit in person. :D We had lunch, talked a lot, but I had to run errands and cut it short! I invited her over for a visit, so I hope she does come sometime to hang out with my birds, at least! haha


Photos by me using my iPhone 6s, unless stated otherwise!


daddykirbsallforthegood
Badges by @daddykirbs and @allforthegood!

Sort:  

Congratulations @farmstead on winning a Special Award in the Homestead Happiness contest with this great post. Those geese are great!

Thanks so much!! :)

I met @teeteresaflory in person today!

So cool! I have been hanging out with @vcelier all weekend!

(Also, Gucks in the first paragraph instead of ducks!)

Thanks for trying to catch a typo! But it was on purpose. I call my ducks and geese collectively "gucks". :) you did happen to miss my real typo of case instead of cause. ;) haha

It is always cool to meet like-minded people! Hard to meet people when you're rural. Haha thank goodness for internet!

Thanks for stopping by! I appreciate it!

Those geese are probably about as close as you'll ever get to a duck bill dinosaur... :-)

Their bills are pretty intimidating, that's for sure! Haha

That was a very cool post. Very cool to catch a glimpse of your day today. UpVote and Resteem from me, thl!

Thanks!! :) much appreciated!

I've always liked geese. They have a lot of personality. I haven't seen goose eggs at any market that I have been to, what do you raise them for?
P.S. Be sure to keep any down that you find, you can use or sell it later.

I got them out of curiousity mostly, haha, and for eggs. :) might try selling babies or something. I am supposed to have one male and two females. Haha

You know it is bad when you find more peace with your animals than you do are around other people. Have a great day!

I definitely prefer to stick with animals, that's for sure! Haha thanks for stopping by!

interesting are these the type of geese some folks use as guard dogs ? thanks for sharing

I don't know what breed mine are, they're a mix. But I think any geese could be guard geese. Haha :)

The geese are huge and so cute! They almost didn't look real. I love the noise they make for you. I would be yelling back at them all day long! Or at least until I lost my voice. :)

I do! Hahahah I yell with them/at them all the time. I try to mimic them. Haha. They think I'm weird, I'm sure!!

I bet they love it when you try to be one of them. :)

Such a nice post @farmstead! It always fill me with a feeling of awwwwe to see someone interact with animals (or even plants, or bugs) in a way that they appreciate it. What's even more, is to see them enjoy it the same way.
Reading these challenge posts is probably the best thing for a gloomy morning. They just brighten your day, even if the sun is hidden. Thank you for sharing! :-)

Wow, you have no idea how happy that makes me to hear something like this! Wow! I am so glad!

Yes, I will will be visiting you! I am really excited to spend more time with you! You are beautiful both inside and out!❤

Awe, thank you! Your donation will actually be going to chicken feed! Haha

Cool! I am good with that😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97