Sunday Funday Farmstead Update

in #homesteading7 years ago

monday

Hmmm, let's see what I can scrounge up this week! It doesn't seem like a whole lot happened this week on the 'stead but, I'm sure something interesting has come about... OH right! Yes!


Chickens


So these three Welsummers have been making me lead them back to the coop daily. They somehow make it all the way around the fences, and near the front of the house. I often hear them bellowing and making tons of noise over "there". There's no water where they end up, so thankfully by mid morning, they've done their explorations and they're willing to follow me back to their coop.I actually get a little worried about them venturing that far from the coop but...

I did actually witness one of these ladies eat a mouse, whole. Slurp and gobbled it right up! I guess they can handle their own... I wish I caught that on video. Ha. At least there's something working on the rodent population around here! Haha.

That photo is of the trio following me around. I really love it when they do. I feel special. Ha. This act lets me know that they trust me. What I don't like is when they gather more ladies to follow them around, the other gals aren't as trusting and are very skeptical chickens, unless they're pecking at the seams of ny jeans... lol

roo

This guy, that small little black rooster, has made himself right at home. (Ahem, sorry for the not-so-great-pic!) Up on the top roost with everyone else. He's apparently either learned how to fend off the other roosters, or has learned how to run away. Haha. The one on the far left is a rooster also, Crossbeak, the Silver Laced Wyandotte. That one seems to be doing better. He got beat up pretty bad from little man here, and I noticed him limping earlier in the week, but much less so now. So good. The two ladies standing up, showing off their badonkadonks, the tan one is an Easter Egger and the black and white spotted one is a Cuckoo Marans.

Chicken Egg News

I didn't do a fantastic job recording egg counts this week... I really have to get better about that for... record purposes. In any case, I got around **26 Eggs** this week!

My last Easter Egger started laying today and one more of my Cuckoo Marans (I think), and today, I got SIX EGGS. WOOHOO. One of my Australorps finally started laying again! Thank goodness! Soon we wont have to supplement our farm eggs with store eggs. Haha. We eat a lot of eggs. I eat at least 2 large eggs a day, but with our chicken eggs, they're still so small that we can eat up to four each.


Quail

Nothing super exciting happening for the quail except the fact that they seem really happy. She is laying almost daily for me! Guess what!? Finally fried up a quail egg and tried it! DE-FREAKING-LICIOUS, Guys! SO GOOD. So much goodness in such a tiny package... Haha.

Quail Egg News

So, as you know, 8 Quail Eggs are in the 'Bator! They were put in on Monday night. So we still have quite a time before they start hatching. But, she has been laying almost every day and this week we got 4 or 5 eggs from her! I am excited now that I've tried them, to eat them while we are incubating the first 8. Haha.


Gucks

Nothing new on the Guck front. They seem to still be pretty happy with their space. I bought them a ball to play with, but they're still scared of it. I will let you know if they come around.


Nature Findings

Pygmy Short-Horned Lizard
A baby Pygmy Short-Horned Lizard! Is it not the cutest thing you've ever seen!? I have more pics, I will have to do a post on it! I was just watering the trees when I saw this little thing skitter across the dirt! I thought it was a grasshopper or something, but then figured out it was a little baby lizard! Eeeek. It made my day to find that this morning! I squealed with delight for a good part of the day!


Misc. News

here was a fire about 5 miles outside my nearest city, my friend sent me this image. She lives about 5 miles from where the fire started. The fire started on Tuesday afternoon, caused by man. According to our local Fire Information, it burned 10,529 acres and is now 60% contained. That makes for hmmmmm 4 fires within 20 miles of me, 3 of them within 5 miles, and 1 of those was within 1 mile of my home. Ugh. People need to be better! All but one of these were caused by humans.

This is what it looked like around here Tuesday afternoon from the fire. The fire was about 15-20 miles from here? But the wind was blowing my way! I was worried about the animals having a hard time with the smoke, but it seems that they faired it well.

This fire made me so nervous even though it was so far away and had been somewhat contained. But the prospects of grass fires out here are so high... We really need to figure out a system for if they come to our home. It kept me up the other night, worried. I woke to every slightest noise - just wondering what the hell we would do if it came to us.

We don't have strict plans or precautions in place but it is up there on the nee-to-happen list. We need to be prepared for something like this. I mostly worry about the birds.

clouds

The next day, there was a lighting storm, it didn't hit here - fortunately, and unfortunately. Fortunately because it caused 9 more fires about an hour away from here and unfortunately because we could use some rain, badly. In any case, it made a really interesting cloud formation. I just saw the image above but then I looked up and saw this:

clouds

Sorry for a sub par pic here, but the only way I could get the whole formation in the camera was with my fish eye lens. But really guys, it WAS a circle of clouds. It was freaking me out! I called out to my roommate, yeah, I probably woke him up, but he came out and was wide eyed also! I was sad to watch the rain pass us right on by.


That's all for this week! Nothing too terribly exciting. I think this is kind of a slow period for our homestead as it's just too hot to do anything too hard. Haha. Sitting inside with the AC has been something that's been done a lot. ;) haha.



Check out my most recent Steemit Posts.

Blog Series

  • Nature on the Farmstead - These posts will be educational and informative about the nature that happens on my farmstead. Look forward to posts about wild animals, birds, wildflowers and plants, insects, and more!

As always @farmstead here blogging from FarmsteadSmith!

verify

So, face is doing okay. Been taking 5mg prednisone twice a day since Friday. Skin is still very very dry and now I think just itchy cause it's dry. Pretty annoying. My left eye is much worse than my right. It's still puffy. Been trying to keep it moisturized as best I can. Still kind of annoying on and around my lips. I guess it's getting better. It feels like a really bad sunburn around my eyes. Ugh.

Photos by me using my iPhone 6s, unless stated otherwise!


daddykirbsallforthegood
Badges by @daddykirbs and @allforthegood!

Sort:  

Love the Pygmy Short-Horned Lizard. I guess he'd better keep out of sight of the chickens !

Ack! I hope he does!! I didn't even think of that! Haha thankfully he's on the OTHER SIDE of the fences.

wow some people can be quite careless during dry seasons :( you be safe out there :) Gucks I got to see pictures of these :D I'm thinking they are Ducks but still if I'm wrong lol :D hope everything heals quickly for you :) thanks for sharing

Yeah, the fires are pretty bad out here! Thankfully the response to them is quick!!

I call my geese and ducks "gucks" hahaha :)

Sub-par pic? Not-so-great pic? Are you kidding??? Your photos look amazing! In fact, the chicken picture looks almost like an album cover (type of music? something bluesy-folky with some hard slam-poetry) and that cloud one way psychedelic! And for a week when nothing much happened, this review seems quite interesting. Way to go!

Hahah thanks for boosting me on that. :D hahaha. I'll work on not saying those things in the future. I'm hard on myself cause they're not super in-focus - I'm pretty nit-picky about that stuff haha! :D

I was thinking the same thing when I got done with it. Haha, I guess we can always find a little something to share, right?! I love the little lizard I found today. I hope I see them again.

"Homes Teddy feat. Lil Black Cock & da Ladies" in their freshest maxi-single "Layin' Low".
Okay, after commenting, I went to take a shower, and the inevitable happened: an inspiration for a title! I was kinda thinking about hijacking your pic, but that would be crossing the line. But this name had to get outa there. Hope your chickens like the idea of being in a music group. ;-)

Hahahahahhaa. Good one! Really! I am cracking up!

Love those chickens and eggs... nothing like fresh eggs for breakfast in the morning. Now that is luxury!
egg.png

Thanks! They're pretty cool! I love having them. :D

That sub par pic is fantastic! you should certainly do more sub par photography in the future! epic. Good update too, one day I'll get me some chickens!

I hope you do get some chickens! They're really a joy. :D Hehe. The egg part is THE BEST. Like, they're cute as chicks, but, if you don't wanna wait 6 months, buy some laying hens.

Ha ha true, point of lay is much better for newbs!

Yeah man, that wait is RIDICULOUS. And pretty expensive!

I have so much to say that I don't know where to start. OK...from the beginning. One of your chickens ate a mouse...whole...and you call her a lady? YUCK! And Poor Crossbeak. I felt a special connection to him when I first knew about him. Happy to hear that he is doing better. I love the pic of all of the eggs together; they are so colorful. It's about time they started to earn their keep. You ate a quail egg? Why? Not enough room in the incubator? You had better enjoy that quail egg since it is no longer meat for you. LOL! So sorry to hear about all of those fires. What a shame! And that pic of the circle of clouds...what a work of art! Frame that sucker! :) Amazing! You need to put that in a seprate post for all of the sky and cloud lovers that are here on Steemit! Do it! I really enjoy your recap of the week; please keep doing it. :) Last but not least; I am so very happy to hear and see that your face is finally beginning to get better. I hope and pray that you continue to heal. Have a great week ahead! :)

Hahah okay. I will address each concern. Haha

  1. Yeah, she's still a lady. Do you eat meat from the bone? Pffffttt. Hahahah. O'course she's a lady! We all have our moments.
  2. Crossbeak, well. Yeah, I did feel bad for him. I am surprised he got beat up by an old man (that small rooster is TWO YEARS OLD) that is one third his size.
  3. I LOVE MY EGGS> Eeeee. They make me so happy!
  4. I ate it because I cannot add more. Because they would end up hatching at different rates. Want them all to hatch at the same time because 3 days before they should hatch, you have to switch some stuff around. IT WAS SO TASTY.
  5. The fires really are scary. :/
  6. Sky and cloud lovers!? That's a thing!?
  7. I am so glad you enjoy it. I love that you read and like to read my stuff. It makes me so happy.

Finally, NO MENTION ABOUT THE BITTY BABY LIZARD!?

Oh man!!! I did forget that teeny tiny lizard!!! How could I forget that? It was kinda cute but still kind of too creepy for me.

Sky and cloud lovers is a thing but only for about 4 people that I know. Maybe there are more out there in Steemit land that I don't know about. If you post it, you can say in your post that I dared you (if you are worried about people thinking you are crazy for posting it...LOL!)...OR...just post it and I will send my friends to you to look at it.

Man...I can't believe that I forgot about that lizard! I was so sure that I covered everything! :)

Creepy?! Hehe. HOW? I squealed all day long about it. Hahaha. I am still smiling over finding the tiny thing. Hehehe. Oop, there went another squeal. I hope I see one again!!

You squeal for happiness and I will squeal for help if you get it too close to me!

Awe hehehe I was a terrible child and would chase my mom with mice. Hahaha

This Post have been Manually Check...

When #whalepower Tag Applies , We will Curate your content...

#whalepower Project For Better Community

Whalepower Guidelines Usage - click here to Read

@paul-gillbanks - #whalepower Curator/ Moderator

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jul 31. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $10.71 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 31 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51