The Time I Nearly Lost a Quail to the Grasslands [FUNNY]

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

TODAY we added 4 more little lives to Farmstead Smith!
And.. I almost lost one of them!

TWICE.



my quail

So, this morning I woke up excited. I was getting 4 new birds to add to the Farmstead! One rooster, a bantam Blue Langshan and three quail (one female, two males). My friend dropped them off today while I was out with the dogs to the vet. When I got home I was so excited to get them fixed up in their new digs!

All four were in this small transport cage. If quail are going to be in a cage, it is best to have a short one because they are able to fly so hard straight up that they can break their necks! So, naturally, I wanted to get them out of there and get them in their temporary cage until we get their run sorted. Just need to add some chicken wire and we should be golden there (hopefully this weekend!).

I was trying to figure out how I was going to go about getting these birds out of this container without anyone escaping. I had thought to myself that I should do it inside in the bathroom or something, I shrugged it off. So there I am sticking my hand in the cage. I thought that it would be best to try and take out the quail first. Smaller opening so that the rooster didn't escape.



One quail in the cage, check. Second quail in new cage, check - Hey this is... SHIT.

SHIT. Shit shit.

The rooster escaped. Shit.

Thankfully I had a tote beside me, I flipped that right over him without much problem. I turned around AND THERE'S A LITTLE F****** QUAIL JUST STRUTTING AWAY LIKE IT OWNED THE JOINT.

I DID NOT SHUT THE F****** DOOR TO EITHER CAGE.

*Note: I hadn't even paid for these yet. Omg. What do I do? *

I ran inside and grabbed another tote as fast as I could.
Thank goodness this little shit was not going fast. Just strutting around like it was meant to do that or something. I roll my eyes.

*For those that don't know... Quails aren't just like "friendly" they're wild little birds that have to be contained at all times or they will go off and do wild bird things. Yeah. So. Now you understand my predicament. *

So here I am trying to find this damned escapee quail. Tote in hand. FOUND IT. So what now, will it be fast? I chase it around a minute and it stops at a fence. WHEW. I throw the tote on top. I notice that maybe I might have smashed it's little shit head. No, good. It's fine.

*I wipe the sweat from my brow. *

Now. The f*** do I do now? They're the squirmiest little things.
Right, well, I will bring the cage over here and put it in the cage, simple. Cool. K. Got it.

...

I lift the tote slightly try and grab it.

AND IT F****** ESCAPES AGAIN!

Again, people!

There I am against this fence, thinking that I might have it outsmarted when it freaking squeezes right through the fence. OH MY GOLLY.

This guy is lost to the damn Grasslands now. I am screwed. Thankfully it was one of the males and not the only female. Von Voyage, brother.

I run inside to wake my roommate (he works night shift, so he's sleeping during the day). CY, I'm so sorry to wake you but I need your help right now. I RUN BACK OUTSIDE.

Find the little turd quail in my back yard he's about 15 feet from Grassland freedom! I knew if I didn't get him at this very instant he would be gone forever. I run around to the side, trying to get him not to bolt forward into the grassland abyss. SLAM the tote down on top of him and hold it down with all my force. not that he can like, move it or anything.

I wait for Cy to emerge from the house.

"Oh, you got him." He says.

"Yes, but he will escape, I don't know what to do."

Thankfully Cy's brain was clearer. He grabbed a tote lid and we totally used it like you would use a piece of paper under a cup for a spider. GOT HIM.

Now what. We gotta put him in the cage. Cy tries grabbing it and feathers are flying. I don't even know where this AMOUNT of feathers would come from on this small of an animal. But they were flying.

I got both of my hands in the tote and grabbed him securely and put him in the cage.

I started dripping sweat. The Quail was set in its new cage with its female and other male. Finally.

What about the rooster. WELL. I finally could get to him. I felt bad cause he'd been under this tote for however long. (probably really only 5-10 mins, but, still - stupid quail).

Grabbed the rooster and got him into his new temporary home so that my chickens and he can gradually get used to each other. In a week or two, I will stick him into the coop at night when everyone's roosting. Here is this gorgeous specimen. He is a bantam, meaning a mini sized chicken. I didn't know that when I accepted to get him (free). I made sure that the old breeder thought he would do fine with my chickens and he said yes. So there we have it. We have an accidental bantam. I plant to breed him with my full sized Blue Langshan Pullets next year - make some cutie chicks! Hehe.

So apparently this rooster is already a pain. He has huge spurs haha. He's two years old, and I feel like I am probably going to have my hands full with this little thing. I'll share more about him, and his crow, in another post!

This was the most stressful thing... Especially since I hadn't even paid for these little things yet! The heck! Haha. I am SO THANKFUL I was able to catch this little shit TWICE. That doesn't just happen. I wish I had someone videoing the whole thing or something. Cause I am sure that would have been funny. I also noticed today that... I cuss in my head and not out loud when alone. Haha

finale

Here is everyone in their temp housing. My chickens are checking everyone out!

Everyone is now shut up nice and tight until tomorrow! <3


As always @farmstead here blogging from FarmsteadSmith!

verify

Photos by me using my iPhone 6s, unless stated otherwise!


Check out my most recent Steemit Posts.

Blog Series

  • Nature on the Farmstead - These posts will be educational and informative about the nature that happens on my farmstead. Look forward to posts about wild animals, birds, wildflowers and plants, insects, and more!

daddykirbsallforthegood
Badges by @daddykirbs and @allforthegood!

Sort:  

Oh, I've been looking forward to this story ever since you announced it yesterday, and it was just as entertaining to read. Not out of the schadenfreude (I'm honestly happy that in the end no one was lost to the merciless grasslands) but to imagine you chasing after the bird. In my inner eye it's all in black&white, at a slightly rapid pace, like in old films. Best of all, you managed to relate the who incidence with the same excitement that you must have gone through. Awesome job! Oh, and don't worry about the cussing. That's all part of it and makes the story more genuine.

Just one question: what's up with all those roosters? You have the white one, cross beak, and now this new guy? Sounds like a bit of trouble is brewing. Are you planing on keeping them separated, or letting them sort it out among themselves?

I hope you laughed! Because I am still reeling over the whole situation. Haha. I am surprised I caught him.

The roosters. No one is separated except for the new guy (so that the chickens can get used to him before I release him into the flock). The two I have were raised together (they weren't supposed to be roosters haha). They have scuffles but no real aggression at all.

The thing about roosters is there's a nice balance to have. I have enough hens that they should be... "satisfied" (for lack of a better term), and I also free range. So they have plenty of space to get away from each other. The chickens are basically zombies at night time, so I don't worry about them then.

There's no room for mean animals on my homestead, and I think they feel that. I think they feel our energy and behave accordingly.

A friend of mine has many more roosters and less hens, and hers get on fine. :D I think free ranging has a big part to do with the balance.

Oh I did laugh! (I'm still laughing, actually). No room for mean animals, I love that!
Good to know that roosters won't necessarily attack each other if the ladies keep them calm. Unfortunately, what I've seen a lot is the other end of the spectrum: in the absence of a rooster hens can be just horrible to each other! Sure, they are noisy and don't lay eggs, but roosters do play an important role.

It's interesting, I think our personal owner energies might play a real part in their behavior. Some people, actually most people, who have chickens just get a handful of hens and things seem to go well. But their pecking order can definitely be brutal. I get people all the time asking around if they need to get rid of one of their chickens cause it's "attacking" others. But, to me, nothing to worry about unless there's blood and injury.

I really like your attitude. And yes, I agree, the owner's behavior, attitude, energies as you say, has a huge effect on animals. That's how you can have surprisingly well behaved critters. By the way, I believe this is true not only for animals but for people.

Thank you! :) It's been 30 years in the making. ;) hahaha.

I could only picture myself the scene in the backyard, but still that must have been priceless to watch!
Excuse me for laughing, but as long as everything went well, I guess it's just fine to have a laugh about it! ;)
The rooster looked so big until the last picture! Well written story!

Hahah please do laugh! I'm okay with that! I'm still astounded it happened twice! Hahaha

HAHA! What a day! Not sure I want squirmy quail on my homestead. I'd surely loose them. I hope you give him a good name after all that. And your rooster is so handsome!
Talk to you soon!

Haha oh I don't name my birds. And this is for good reason. Since I free range my chickens there's a high chance they'll become some predator's meal. And as for the quail I hope they become at some point, our first meat animal. Haha I do have a chicken that I call "Lady" cause she follows me around. Other than that, there's cross beak (Rooster who has a crossbeak), "the white Rooster", and that's it! Hahah just really "descriptive" names.

I get attached very easily. I'm pretty attached to my chickens as it comes to be, but I def. don't need to make it harder on myself. Funny enough, I also don't feel the urge to name them. Kinda cool.

All our chickens are named Barbara... or BBQ for short... haha

Bahahahaahah Our other dog likes to be called Barbara... Hahahahahhaha. His name is Dutch.

You need to get those quail a couple of girlfriends you have two males.

Yes, Yes, I am aware of that. These were just what was available. I do have one female. She's just too quick for a pic.

Wow, quite the adventure! Reading your posts, I would be interested in a homestead tour.. have you done one? If not, you should! :-)

I haven't yet done a full tour... Mostly cause I don't feel like I have a whole lot to show. Hah. Not that interesting yet. But I can make it up soon. Have been also mulling in my head how to go about it! Any suggestions?

Hey there! I just wanted to inform you that your article has been included and linked in the most recent issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter! Please check it out if you have the time! Thank you and have a great day!

Thank you for including not only ONE but TWO of my posts! WOW thank you!! <3

Those bantam roosters think they own the world. They'll go head to head with a full size rooster because they just don't know any better. He's a fine looking rooster! You're right about those spurs, you can see them in the picture. He's well equipped.

He is a handsome fellow, that's for certain! I kinda am in love with him. I love his crow (which I will share soonish). The dude I got him from said that he would be able to handle his own. Yay! If not, then I will separate, for sure.

I object to quails ratio of 2:1 males/female. 😂

lol it's not the best, but it's what was available! Hahaha

I hope you bring in another female quail to reduce the burden on the current one. 😜

Of course. This is just what was available.

Bhahahahahahaha I could just see you running all over and waken up ur mate, all calm like and sweet..haha..then running all over again...haha classic!!
Good post : o)

Hahahaha has yeah. I am sure it will be something I remember for the rest of my life! Believe me, dealing with them is not gonna be something I do outside of enclosed quarters again! Haha worst part is... I KNEW this was gonna happen! Hahahah

Still laughing and sympathizing. What an ordeal! So glad everyone came through it albeit a few feathers lighter. Looking forward to the continuing adventures...

;~D

It could have turned out so much worse. I can just seem me running all over the damned grasslands... Haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61533.72
ETH 3447.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51