You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Time I Nearly Lost a Quail to the Grasslands [FUNNY]

in #homesteading7 years ago

Oh, I've been looking forward to this story ever since you announced it yesterday, and it was just as entertaining to read. Not out of the schadenfreude (I'm honestly happy that in the end no one was lost to the merciless grasslands) but to imagine you chasing after the bird. In my inner eye it's all in black&white, at a slightly rapid pace, like in old films. Best of all, you managed to relate the who incidence with the same excitement that you must have gone through. Awesome job! Oh, and don't worry about the cussing. That's all part of it and makes the story more genuine.

Just one question: what's up with all those roosters? You have the white one, cross beak, and now this new guy? Sounds like a bit of trouble is brewing. Are you planing on keeping them separated, or letting them sort it out among themselves?

Sort:  

I hope you laughed! Because I am still reeling over the whole situation. Haha. I am surprised I caught him.

The roosters. No one is separated except for the new guy (so that the chickens can get used to him before I release him into the flock). The two I have were raised together (they weren't supposed to be roosters haha). They have scuffles but no real aggression at all.

The thing about roosters is there's a nice balance to have. I have enough hens that they should be... "satisfied" (for lack of a better term), and I also free range. So they have plenty of space to get away from each other. The chickens are basically zombies at night time, so I don't worry about them then.

There's no room for mean animals on my homestead, and I think they feel that. I think they feel our energy and behave accordingly.

A friend of mine has many more roosters and less hens, and hers get on fine. :D I think free ranging has a big part to do with the balance.

Oh I did laugh! (I'm still laughing, actually). No room for mean animals, I love that!
Good to know that roosters won't necessarily attack each other if the ladies keep them calm. Unfortunately, what I've seen a lot is the other end of the spectrum: in the absence of a rooster hens can be just horrible to each other! Sure, they are noisy and don't lay eggs, but roosters do play an important role.

It's interesting, I think our personal owner energies might play a real part in their behavior. Some people, actually most people, who have chickens just get a handful of hens and things seem to go well. But their pecking order can definitely be brutal. I get people all the time asking around if they need to get rid of one of their chickens cause it's "attacking" others. But, to me, nothing to worry about unless there's blood and injury.

I really like your attitude. And yes, I agree, the owner's behavior, attitude, energies as you say, has a huge effect on animals. That's how you can have surprisingly well behaved critters. By the way, I believe this is true not only for animals but for people.

Thank you! :) It's been 30 years in the making. ;) hahaha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50