It Was a Double Yolker!

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Sometimes chickens can be over achievers and develop eggs that hide a double yolk!

They say that the chances of getting a double yolk egg are 1 in 1000! What are the chances that the first egg of my first laying chicken was a double yolker?!

eggs
The white egg is a regular large store bought egg for comparison. The brown were the first two eggs that came from my chickens. The one in the middle was a double yolker and the first egg that chicken laid!

Yesterday we finally broke open our first four eggs that our chickens ever so graciously decided to start laying last Wednesday! (I'm EGGSTREMELY EGGCITED GUYS!)

We only waited for four whole days in order to have a breakfast with our newly laid eggs! It was a killer waiting for it! We're so lame though, we didn't do anything fancy. Just fried them up and stuck them in a tortilla. Ha.

So, the eggs that are on the top and bottom of the pic, are regular ol' large sized eggs we purchased from the grocery store. The other 5 yolks are my little chicken eggs! The one that has two yolks side by side was the double yolker. Usually double yolk eggs are fairly large, but this one was real small!

One of these days we're going to have way entirely too many eggs and we will have to start getting creative! So please, if you have any awesome egg recipes, link them to me in the comments! I'll stash 'em somewhere for future use!


As always @farmstead here blogging from FarmsteadSmith!

verify

Photos by me using my iPhone 6s, unless stated otherwise!


Check out my most recent Steemit Posts.

Blog Series

  • Nature on the Farmstead - These posts will be educational and informative about the nature that happens on my farmstead. Look forward to posts about wild animals, birds, wildflowers and plants, insects, and more!

daddykirbsallforthegood

Badges by @daddykirbs and @allforthegood!

Sort:  

NICE! Those odds must be exponential! Lol!

Congrats on the eggs! We have the lumber and tin to fix up an old lean-to to make into a chicken house. I am so ready to get my own chickens! The taste of farm fresh eggs is so much better and the richness of the yolks is unreal! You can see the difference in the colors of your store bought eggs compared to your farm fresh eggs.

One day in the next month or so we will get that project done. I'm ready!

:)

They've been a hoot too! They're also SO easy, in my opinion! Much easier to raise and care for than anticipated! That's for sure!

Can't wait to see your coop!

I am excited to be taking yet another step to being more self-reliant. (Of course God provides it all and blesses the fruit of our labor) There is just such an amazing feeling when you put in all of the work and are finally able to eat it.

Last year my tomatoes did not produce but one tomato and the bugs got to it before I could. This year, our tomatoes are producing and those tomatoes have tasted better than any I have had in a long time. Theytasted delicious because they were vine-ripened but also because of the knowledge of all of the hard work it took to get those tomatoes to my plate.

It is truly one of the best feelings.

Well I had better quit yacking and hit the hay. Good night and God bless!

Sincerely-Oily

That's pretty cool. I used to help collect my grandmother's hen's eggs. Never seen a double yolk ever.
Maybe maybe some quiche? (Spelling? ) you know those breakfast pies mostly made of eggs

I do plan on that! Those are great! Need more eggs tho! Haha they're not even producing enough for my husband and I to both have breakfast every day!

How many do you have?

Chickens or eggs?

I have 21 chickens, 2 are roosters. Only 5 hens are of laying age right now. Apparently only 2 are laying. Haha

I was asking about the hens lol. Need to be more clear i guess. We kept roosters. Like 3 of them one was a bantee and really cute. Since there were no hen's they got along. They ate a lot of pests. Even saw one "slurp" down a very small snake once like it was spaghetti. Chickens are pretty cool.

They can get along if there are hens as well. Mine get on fine. There are many factors that make or break roos getting on well. I guess a good number of chickens for each roo is like 8-10. I think space also helps. Mine free range. :D

Chickens are weird and interesting creatures for sure! I love havin' them!

Hm, i guess i never thought about that. Ours free ranged too and then roosted at night in their pen ...which was closed then reopened in the morning.
As you said so long as they have the space they won't act like hooligans.
What are your plans to keep them warm in the winter? Heated lamps or tarping?

They do have a coop, of course for protection. Since chickens are basically zombies at night, I'm not worried about Roo bullies really. Haha. Though I don't get out there until 7:30a most mornings. So far, so good!

Coops do not need to be heated. As long as they're well made, no drafts, and they do not get moist inside at all. The chickens do well even in -40! Can you believe it?! Especially if they've got lots of chicken friends to cuddle up to. I don't think, however, only 2 or 3 chickens would do well in that temp. But I can't say for sure!

Double the blessings in a tiny package :)) Egg recipes are still on my to-do list..most I can offer right now is: make some chicken curry, boil some eggs, and pop 'em in :))

I can't wait! Do you share German food recipes too?!

Not yet but good to kiv too..my list keeps getting longer and longer loll :)) I tried an egg recipe tonight with random ingredients I had on hand..first experiment down..bear with me! :)

Hahahah Awesome!~

I love these little surprises too!

Lovely evening to you⭐️

Hi love!! I hope your weekend was awesome!

It was really surprising! I didn't really realize that it was more common for younger chickens (upon research it is haha younger and old end of laying days chickens). It was just sooooo small!

Oh I guess my ladies are still young haha

Actually they haven't laid one of those in a while☺️ Thanks for the info I was unaware of this!

So many more eggies ahead of us! How old are your chickens?

They will all be 1 year in October :) I have Easter Eggers, Ameracaunas and Wyandottes.

So cool!! I wish we had chickens!

Get them if you can! They're actually so easy to raise and care for! Just the set up can be a little overwhelming.

Congratulations @farmstead! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I admire your restraint in waiting that long! Congrats on the double-yolker, too. I hope that's just the first of many!

I'm sure the chickens hate me... I can only think of a saying I just adapted "a watched hen never lays". HahahH

They'll get over it. ;~P

And you're probably right about watching. Would YOU lay if someone was watching YOU! Lol!

I didn't realize it was something they could control. ;) Hahahaha.

That lil' over achiever!

I just need some piggies!!

Pickling eggs is popular. I've yet to try them with ours, but my brother and his wife (homesteaders, too) @clarkfarmstead usually have a few jars going at a time. I'm pretty sure they'll do a post on their pickling recipe soon. I'll try to mention to them to do so. They just joined Steemit today, so they're fighting the learning curve. :-)

That's something I've never tried and have to say sounds awful. I think my husband likes them... Hahahaha.

Very nice! It's so great to have your own "homegrown" eggs. We use to have some big hardy Rhode Island Reds, and they'd quite often give double yolkers... but their eggs were usually huge... the grocery store equivalent of "Jumbo."

Ahhh how wonderful! I went with a more exotic eclectic collection of birds. Hahaha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52