Crying Over Cuteness...

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

I've been drawing a blank when thinking about @kiaraantonoviche's newest Homesteading Challenge... To tell you all about an embarrassing story... Because, well... So far anything I've done in the homesteading realm has not been embarrassing to me, at all. I mean, there was the time I almost lost the quail to the grasslands...? But, I am not embarrassed about that, shit happens, and it happens to me! Haha. I actually was really stressed out about that, but embarrassed? Not one bit.

Something SOMEONE should be embarrassed about is wondering whether or not their chicks were getting enough milk from mother hen... Yeah, I saw that asked around FB one time. Not QUITE positive if it was a serious question or not... haha.

Anyway, I was commenting back and forth with @minighomestead earlier today about my gucks on my Homestead Happiness post. And it actually got me to remember the day I picked up my baby ducks from my favorite local feed store!


So, I was so excited to find out that my favorite local small town feed store would accept orders for ducks in small quantities. I really wanted a specific kind, and I didn't want 15 of them. Just a few. Anyway, I have to brag about this feed store! They are SO NICE. And SO HELPFUL. They've helped me with so many things and never treated me like a was this dumb girl or anything. The owner is fantastic, and their prices are absolutely the best around. Okay, back to it.

So I had these ducks on order, 4 baby girl Swedish Ducks. I am part Swedish so, there's just something about the name that really drew me to them. I didn't get them for any particular reason other than that. Haha. I like their white spot on their chests?

I had to wait a WHOLE month for my order to come in from the hatchery! It was torture. I could have got them faster, but I was happy with supporting a local business (and again, I could just get 4, and not 15...). I FINALLY got the call, they told me my ducks were in and to come on down and get them!

I was happy to see when I walked in, they had them all set up in their brooders. They had already fed and watered them. I felt like they took good care of them for those few hours. I was so happy. I had brought with me a small animal carrier, it had some pine shavings and a water container in there. The people at the feed store were impressed. Or at least that's what I told myself.

They allowed me to help wrangle up my 4 babies, and watching them all hunched down in the very back of the carrier...

I STARTED CRYING. Yeah, I started crying. Wtf? Not like, bawling type of crying, just, a smile plastered over my dumb face and tears running down my cheeks.

The young man kind of looked at me like, "omg, are you alright bat-shit-crazy-lady?", he didn't actually say anything. But I just looked at him with tears of happiness in my eyes, and...

I finally blurted out...

They're SO CUTE!! squeal

Yup, that's it, I caught myself crying IN PUBLIC about how cute this group of baby ducks were. They were so little, their bills so small, their feet so tiny... Everything about them just cute-d me all out. I about died. Haha.

I am not exactly embarrassed about that happening, however, but, I am rather surprised it happened. Haha. Me crying over cuteness. That hadn't ever happened before!


Then I found out there are such a thing as bantam (mini) ducks (call ducks).... Oh man.



Check out my most recent Steemit Posts.

Blog Series

  • Nature on the Farmstead - These posts will be educational and informative about the nature that happens on my farmstead. Look forward to posts about wild animals, birds, wildflowers and plants, insects, and more!

As always @farmstead here blogging from FarmsteadSmith!

verify

Face is... okay? Doesn't hurt. Itches less. Still is pretty red.


Had to go pants shopping, I was pretty proud of myself. I was in and out of town in like 30 minutes! Including trying on pants AND buying chicken feed, and dog food! Booyah!


Photos by me using my iPhone 6s, unless stated otherwise!


daddykirbsallforthegood
Badges by @daddykirbs and @allforthegood!

Sort:  

This Post have been Manually Check...

When #whalepower Tag Applies , We will Curate your content...

#whalepower Project For Better Community

@bullionstackers - #whalepower Curator/ Moderator
Whale Power Help-Desk direct contact line
Steemit.Chat @bullionstackers

so very very cute lil duckies! They grow up so fast! Have a great day!

I can't believe they're so big and only 11 weeks old. But I still have to wait like 12 more weeks for eggs. SO LONG. Ugh.

Aw, the ducks were so cute as babies. :) Just goes to show what a big heart you have! You should be proud of the big happy ducks they have become. Sounds like the people at the feed store are awesome.

So happy that your face is doing better! :)

Aren't they the cuuuutest as babies?! See, the mini ducks I was talking about... Maybe I will have to go with them, because they stay CUTE FOREVEr.

I did see the mini ducks that you were talking about but I didn't know they were real...even existed. I would definitely have to get them if they stayed small and cute. :)

Yessss. Dan wants more ducks, I don't really... But, maybe if they were the mini ones!

Haha, I love this story. I could see myself doing the same thing. I don't get embarrassed very easily, though it appears I embarrass others routinely without the slightest bit of effort.

Hahah poor other people. Thank you for reading and stopping by! Your lucky not to get embarrassed very easily! I get embarrassed over certain things, but not really homesteading things.

I've certainly started crying in front of people before because I thought something was so beautiful and got some weird looks. I'm gonna have to get me some baby ducks (:

Look into CALL DUCKS.

whispers You wont regret it. Omg. Tell me when you do. Haha.

Awwwww, how could you not cry over such cute little ducklings! Were your goslings as cute when they were little? And now that they're grown up... well, I guess since you raised them they will never stop being cute, right?

Definitely not AS cute as the ducks! Haha but cuter than they are now! Hahah

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51